Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations

Average Rating 3.5
( 360 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(141)

4 Star

(81)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(71)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

very satisfying...

Great Expectations was a satisfying read. It had depth and a lot of humor that I wasn't expecting.

The story follows Pip through much of his life starting in childhood. I enjoyed the first part of the book the most....it was very funny. Pip helps an escaped convict w...
Great Expectations was a satisfying read. It had depth and a lot of humor that I wasn't expecting.

The story follows Pip through much of his life starting in childhood. I enjoyed the first part of the book the most....it was very funny. Pip helps an escaped convict which will have repercussions throughout the rest of his life. He is given a fortune from an anonymous benefactor and moves to London with 'great expectations' of becoming a gentleman and furthering himself in life. All does not go according to his expectations though and many lessons are learned.

The first part of Great Expectations was excellent. It was surprisingly funny and very thrilling and fast paced. Comparatively, the last half dragged a bit. That's not to say it was boring though. The characters kept it interesting. Great Expectations contains some wonderful characters...one's you don't want to miss! This is definitely a book to be read by anyone who enjoys literature and I'm certainly glad I did.

posted by songcatchers on January 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Horrible OCR - Look elsewhere. However if you download get all 3 Vol.

There are three volumes. That is not clear from the description of the book. B&N should add volume number to the title.

The three volumes are scanned and converted to text with OCR. Nobody bothered to correct the errors in the OCR output. It is unconscionable tha...
There are three volumes. That is not clear from the description of the book. B&N should add volume number to the title.

The three volumes are scanned and converted to text with OCR. Nobody bothered to correct the errors in the OCR output. It is unconscionable that a renowned literary work would be made available to a mass market in this form. The Google introduction sates how proud Google is to present this work to the Public. I think Google should be ashamed to put such garbage on the Internet, especially since they put their name on the product. I guess Google is playing the numbers game, get as many books as possible to claim they have X millions, quality be dammed.

Barnes and Noble and Google should delete all this garbage from their sites!

posted by TerryVA on January 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Hard to read

    The pages were badly scanned

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Please help! Is this

    Is thid the real, original addition? Please answer to HELP? thank you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    100%

    Nox just said it all...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Terror*

    *Terror

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Good book!

    Having read several other Dickens novels, I could not wait to read this one. Unfortunately, I guess maybe my expectations were too great. The story is wonderful but I felt that the book was very slowly paced and did not have to be as long as it was. Having said that I still enjoyed the book and would re ommend it to anyone. I can definitely see why the character of Pip has gone down in history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Well....

    It was difficult to read at times. It seemed as though everything would be going great and then would suddenly drop to a snail's pace. Overall, I would say that it was okay! Sad to say, I'm glad it's finally over!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Ok

    Okay but wasnt as great as my expectations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Boring but some parts do get interesting

    The way that he described some of the settings and ppeople were hard to understand and there were long and not helpul at all. And some of the words i had to look up because i did not understand them because they are using the old english language and some of its very difficult to comprehend. But i have to say though that the theme and story behind the book were good and a couple sections the beginning and the end kept you reading. But i think besides that the book kind of dragged on and made it a little hard to stay awake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    Awe- so well written but ...

    Awesome tale! I think reading the classics is like having a taste for fine wine. Hard to get through at times but Charles' voice is worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2003

    Eh...

    I remember reading the abridged version when I was a 12-year old middle schooler. That's why I started reading this book. And yes I fell asleep many times because of it. It wasn't that interesting. Overall good story, but it wasn't exactly page-turning narration like the cover said.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    Great Expectations

    I thought that the book was ok. At the begining of the book it really didn't intrest me as much as i thought it would. After the first of the book i started getting more interested. Pip is the main character that does not have his parents in his life because they have died. He has gone thourough some hard times, but at the end of the book everything works out for Pip. this was an ok book, but it starts out slow and ends up better than it started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2002

    Great Expectations

    I thought this book was ok. The beginning didn't really interest me, but towards the middle I started to gain more interest. This book describes a boy's life from childhood to adulthood. He goes through some really hard times but ends up succeeding in the end. I would recommend this book to read. I did enjoy it. I think it shows how anyone can turn their life from bad times to good. Sometimes you don't get what you expect. Over all I rate it to be good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    It's true...

    ...it does make you fall asleep. Really. I couldn't finish reading because I was sleepy. But due to other reviews and what I've read (not that much), it's very interesting and ironic. It's not a bad book but you need to read it and be willing to understand it. It can be complex sometimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2001

    My Review

    I thought this story the 'Great Expectation' was a really great book. I loved this book because it had many information about history in the mid Europe. Many of my friend and teacher told me that Charles Dickens wrote a great book so I chose one from the school library and read it in 2 week. It was a very good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2000

    Great Expectations is a nicely written book but...

    I think it's kind of boring. My 9th grade HA English class is reading it so I have to read it. One thing I really like about it is that the words are very vivid. One character I think is very funny is Ms. Havisham because she is so weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    Average book , Read Tale of Two Cities

    This book was an average book for Dickens. I had Great Expectations for it and it just didn't move me at all. I mean it doesn't suck but compared to David Copperfield and Tale of Two Cities it is an average book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    the book great expectations

    I had to read the book for school and personally i didn't like it. some parts blew my mind, and others left me hangging. it had so many twists and turns that i couldn't keep up. it was o.k. but a Christmas Carol was much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3