Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 733 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(351)

4 Star

(182)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A Masterpiece

There are very few authors who were as generous as Charles Dickens. From eeire graveyard encounters and a creaky old mansion haunted by the spectral Ms. Havisham to the comedy of a chaotic production of Hamlet to the cold stones of Newgate prison, this is a book that co...
There are very few authors who were as generous as Charles Dickens. From eeire graveyard encounters and a creaky old mansion haunted by the spectral Ms. Havisham to the comedy of a chaotic production of Hamlet to the cold stones of Newgate prison, this is a book that covers a wide range of human emotions and experiences, all with Dicken's typical insights into human nature and loveable crew of characters.

I will not waste time recounting the plot, but I will recommend this book based on the fact that you WILL relate to Pip if you have ever been ashamed of yourself for reasons you could not define, if you have ever felt that you wanted, nay deserved, more than the life you know, if you have ever deeply loved someone who didn't give a damn about you, or if you have ever been profoundly uncertain about what the future holds for you. In short, you will relate to Pip's journey if you are in the midst of growing up.

It would be equally wasteful to praise the novel's expert craft and pacing. My one criticism would be that the ending is a bit of an anti-climax. However, upon further reflection (and I don't think this is giving too much away) I realized that is more or less the point of the book.

Enjoy.

posted by Jesop on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

WOW!! BAD TYPOS

Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual b...
Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual book will have the right words and I will understand it!! Really someone needs to corrrect all the mistakes in the Nook version!!

posted by 9294402 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    WOW!! BAD TYPOS

    Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual book will have the right words and I will understand it!! Really someone needs to corrrect all the mistakes in the Nook version!!

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2003

    boring....

    just slams down , victorian society in your face , i had to read it for english class , i loved when it all finished , i really dont recomend this , the film is just as bad! sorry i have to say

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Please stop

    Sorry to burst your bubble, but some people here would like to read reviews on this freaking book. Please move your roleplaying or whatever it is you're doing to another place such as an online chat or forum so I can figure out how good this book is and therefore how grueling my summer homework will be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    People, this is NOT Old English! Do some research.

    Have people no idea what the differebces are between Old, Middle and Modern English. The original Beowulf and Canterbury Tales were Old English. To modern Americans Old English is indecipherable. Check out Beowulf as Chaucer wrote it. Then you will experience Old Eng. It is not found in Dickens nor in Shakespeare for that matter. What are they teaching?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2011

    Horrible for casual reading.

    It was fine as far as the app goes,but the book itself was awful!unless you have to read for school or something.....dont!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Kenny - All

    Ignore Thorne for interfering with a quest.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Kayla

    *Kayla apears behind a rock, watching.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Kayla

    *Kayla's eyes flew closed as she appears in a different location by the third statue, breathing heavily but quietly.*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Kenny - White

    A Quest is going on, out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Isa

    Gs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    Click here.

    Why are over half of these reviews not even reviews? I'm mean seriously people, I know it might seem crazy to you, but the point of the rate and review system is so people can rate and review the book. You're not suppose to rate and review about you stupid personal life and things that no one else cares about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    The four matting iS Rally a l f fuulll. Eyes WSSWWSsish I could

    The four matting iS Rally a l f fuulll. Eyes WSSWWSsish I could REAd some NOOKIIKIIOOOK book with out som mmany typoes

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Steel to below

    "Um...I need a name...StormShadow?" She smiles. Theb turns into a cat. "Can't rp Jaguarshade, she is not evil anymore..." <p> Gtg. Bbt.)) <p> ~ Steeil

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    IMPORTANT!!!!!! PLEASE READ!!!! IMPORTANT!!!!!!!!!

    Fooled Ya!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    So glad it's over!

    Most painful reading experience ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Hate this book!

    The plot makes no sense and the dialogue seems so wrong and makes me question myselg to whether I could use that same vocabulary and grammar and not sound like a fool. Totally boring!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Death Adder

    She yawns.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Hunter

    I am Hunter...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 75 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4