Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 768 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(374)

4 Star

(189)

3 Star

(86)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A Masterpiece

There are very few authors who were as generous as Charles Dickens. From eeire graveyard encounters and a creaky old mansion haunted by the spectral Ms. Havisham to the comedy of a chaotic production of Hamlet to the cold stones of Newgate prison, this is a book that co...
There are very few authors who were as generous as Charles Dickens. From eeire graveyard encounters and a creaky old mansion haunted by the spectral Ms. Havisham to the comedy of a chaotic production of Hamlet to the cold stones of Newgate prison, this is a book that covers a wide range of human emotions and experiences, all with Dicken's typical insights into human nature and loveable crew of characters.

I will not waste time recounting the plot, but I will recommend this book based on the fact that you WILL relate to Pip if you have ever been ashamed of yourself for reasons you could not define, if you have ever felt that you wanted, nay deserved, more than the life you know, if you have ever deeply loved someone who didn't give a damn about you, or if you have ever been profoundly uncertain about what the future holds for you. In short, you will relate to Pip's journey if you are in the midst of growing up.

It would be equally wasteful to praise the novel's expert craft and pacing. My one criticism would be that the ending is a bit of an anti-climax. However, upon further reflection (and I don't think this is giving too much away) I realized that is more or less the point of the book.

Enjoy.

posted by Jesop on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

WOW!! BAD TYPOS

Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual b...
Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual book will have the right words and I will understand it!! Really someone needs to corrrect all the mistakes in the Nook version!!

posted by 9294402 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 4, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    My Expectations

    This book was forced upon me as summer reading. I struggled throught it. I had to reference to spark notes and the movie (something I NEVER do). But after I could get throught the writing style and look back on the story and the characters I sort of fell in love with it. So for a free read NO. But as for something analitical an absolute yes!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    Read the simple version

    I read the simplified version and it was okay. It seemed a little boring and i eally hated estella cae she was suc a brat because she (being an orphan) was taught by her grandma i think she was to hate all men. It does have a kittle twist when it comes to his benefacter though. Over all i probably wouldnt pay the money i would just rent it from the libray.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2015

    Obsidian

    Okay..)) massages her back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Cyrus

    "Aye." He nods, looking at his watch. "I have to go do a bio. I'll be back."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2014

    Cyrus*

    I don't know where Bruce came from. My bad.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Mason

    XD hops on Nightflare and flys off to Camp Athens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    o.o

    Bravo.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    DeadlyStar

    What about FrozenSoul or DarkHeart?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Aww

    Cost to much. No im not broke its just my parents dint let mw buy books. O bad it doesnt come with the nook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Amazing

    I loved how all the characters came together. Things were so hard for the main character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    Terror to Mordaedel

    May I suggest a role play we could attack?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2013

    100%

    Speaking of which, Kalxar, Nox and I will be gone until Saturday.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Terror

    We could advertise more, Mordaedel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Nox Descius

    Hisses through clenched teeth. "Code WHITE!!!"

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Nerezza

    "Shaaaaaaadow."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Reading is odd

    I know books maybe boring in the beginning but you must read on! I have not read this book yet but most bokks get better as you read on, okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Not bad but not great

    While not a bad story overall, this is my least favorite work by dickens and seems to span out much longer than it really needs to. I'm glad i read it but it will most likely not get a reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My review of THE GREAT EXPECTATIONS by Charles Dickens.

    In my eyes the book is a decent book. It is not the best but it is not the worst either. The charcaters in the book kept me entertained you never know what is going to happen. It has like a mysterious type thing like you read a chapter and it leaves you guessing and you just have to read more to figure it out. The overall plot in the story was good. It is not the easiest thing to read but once you get the hang of it you will understand how to read it.It is very original.It has dramatic and touching parts in the story.It is a good book to read when you have nothing else to do except read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Charles Dickens is One of a Kind

    This isn't my favorite Charles Dickens novel, but I do love reading him. His satire is intellectually hilarious and he brings his characters to life as no modern writer I know of does. You can picture the era just through the gestures he describes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    Satisfying story, wonderfully written

    I had to read Great Expectations when I was 14 (a year ago) for my 9th grade honors class. I never kept up with the current reading and failed all the quizzes...but then I figured there was no other way out than actually reading it, so one rainy saturday I sat down and just read and read. I finished it in a week and even though it was hard and I will never read it again...I loved it. It's not that I loved it as a book...but when I finished it I was sad that it was over! It's hard to explain, but trust me, I enjoyed it! I feel like the story itself is great, but I'm not that much of a fan of the oldish tough writing. But it was good. I would never read it on my own, but because I was forced to read it I really liked it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5