Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 743 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(360)

4 Star

(183)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(40)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

A Masterpiece

There are very few authors who were as generous as Charles Dickens. From eeire graveyard encounters and a creaky old mansion haunted by the spectral Ms. Havisham to the comedy of a chaotic production of Hamlet to the cold stones of Newgate prison, this is a book that co...
There are very few authors who were as generous as Charles Dickens. From eeire graveyard encounters and a creaky old mansion haunted by the spectral Ms. Havisham to the comedy of a chaotic production of Hamlet to the cold stones of Newgate prison, this is a book that covers a wide range of human emotions and experiences, all with Dicken's typical insights into human nature and loveable crew of characters.

I will not waste time recounting the plot, but I will recommend this book based on the fact that you WILL relate to Pip if you have ever been ashamed of yourself for reasons you could not define, if you have ever felt that you wanted, nay deserved, more than the life you know, if you have ever deeply loved someone who didn't give a damn about you, or if you have ever been profoundly uncertain about what the future holds for you. In short, you will relate to Pip's journey if you are in the midst of growing up.

It would be equally wasteful to praise the novel's expert craft and pacing. My one criticism would be that the ending is a bit of an anti-climax. However, upon further reflection (and I don't think this is giving too much away) I realized that is more or less the point of the book.

Enjoy.

posted by Jesop on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

WOW!! BAD TYPOS

Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual b...
Reading this book for the first time, I cant believe all the misspelled words and words that really did not make sense! I tried really hard to read this book, but after a short while, I just decided to buy the book instead of reading it on my NOOK. At least the actual book will have the right words and I will understand it!! Really someone needs to corrrect all the mistakes in the Nook version!!

posted by 9294402 on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stimulatingly Brilliant

    This beautifully written novel absolutely deserves its place as one of the crown jewels of Dickens' many works. It is very smoothly written however is somewhat dense and is therefore required to be read rather slowly to be digested properly. I would only recommend this book to those whom I know have the intellectual capability and the stamina to keep up with this rigorous work. Overall stupendous.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    Good, If you have time.

    To enter Honors English, i was required to read Great Expectations. My first thought, and the thought of many other teens, was oh great, a lengthy book using old English vocabulary But i was surprised, i actually enjoyed it. It does get weak in some parts, but its a great piece of Literature.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    Amazing

    I found this book really well written. I personally recommend the unabridged version. After you get to understand the was he writes and the old english you will really enjoy it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2009

    And I thought the Bible was difficult to read...

    I am only aobut half way through this book at this point. I am following the story but the language sometimes makes the story difficult to follow. I did appreciate the definitions at the bottom of the pages for words we do not use any more. I guess I would recommend reading it, it is a classic.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    A story well told.

    I'm currently a senior, and while I was not required to read this book, I had enjoyed Tale of Two cities by Charles Dickens, and had heard good things about Great Expectations from my father and a good friend. Many classics, while great books, don't always hook me and draw me in. This book did. Many are of the opinion that this book is very dark and brooding. It is a story with many dark and gritty elements to it, but when I read it, I didn't get the sense that the mood was dark and sober just for the sake of it. Rather I think Dickens was portraying just how harsh the world can be, and the corruption and selfishness that many people possess in pursuit of riches, property and status. In many ways, the journey of Pip reflects a story almost the same as that of the prodigal son. It's about a young man who feels restless and discontent with how life is, and feels that the pursuit of a greater life, status and riches are needed in order to gain happiness, and the woman he loves. Yet in the end, after all his expectations vanish into thin air and he's left worse than he was before, it's the family that he left in the pursuit of his expectations that pay his debts, and receive him with the same love they had for him before. Another side to this story that gripped me was his relationship with Miss Havisham and Estella. Miss Havisham is the living result of just how deeply a human heart can be hurt and broken by the cruelty of someone who they thought loved them, and how when we hold on to that hurt and brokenness, never forgetting or forgiving it ends up destroying us, and even more tragic cause us to hurt others in the same way. Which is what Miss Havisham does to Estella by raising her and teaching her to be a heartless woman who does not even comprehend love, and what Estella does to Pip by rejecting him and using him. Yet what amazed me most is even when Pip had every reason to rage and be consumed by anger and bitterness against Estella, he never stopped loving her, and resolved to remember her well even though she had thrown away his love. And even though Miss Havisham is responsible for Estella's heartlessness and now in a way his own heart being broken, he chooses to forgive her. Just the raw strength of this story left me amazed. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    very good book. i recoment you read it

    Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens, was a very wonderful book to read. I have to admit that it was difficult to get into it at first, but once the story started getting good, I couldn¿t put it down. There were so many twists and surprises that kept me completely compelled. I especially liked how the character, Pip, grew and changed throughout the novel. He didn¿t seem like just a character in a story, he seemed like a real live person in my life. His emotions and actions were so realistic that I felt his pain, his joy, his fear. Another aspect of the novel that I loved was the whole theme and basic moral. It harped upon the idea that loyalty to loved ones is way more important than wealth or social status could ever be. Among other things, these are the reasons why Great Expectations is a truly exceptional novel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2007

    A Good Book

    After a couple of chapters, you might begin to feel disappointed and want to quit reading it. Don't! You will be amazed at the suspense you feel and how interested you are in the characters. I also thought it was so clever how Dickens tied everything together, in little ways that you'd never have thought of. When I finished reading, I felt satisfied. I recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Thorne

    Oh. Wait. *facepalm.* Idiot. I thought . . . You could just . . . Ehh. Well then. o.o *dies.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    Est

    She kissed back deeply

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Quotes - Don't read, if you're going to judge.

    Sometimes I don't tell people what's wrong because most of the time they're just curious. Not because they care. <p> Don't be mad because I don't care anymore. Be mad because I once did, and you were to blind to see. <p> Suicidal people are just angels who want to go home. <p> Your demons will comfort you when no one else will, that's why it's so hard to get rid of them. <p> Silence is the most powerful scream. <p> It's sad really..that the only reason I haven't killed myself is because I don't want to hurt anyone..yet the reason I'm suicidal in the first place is because people hurt me. <p> In truth, you like the pain. You like it because you believe you deserve it. <p> I'm fine. I'm starving myself. I'm ripping my skin open. I'm crying myself to sleep at night. I'm glaring when I see myself in a mirror. But, I'm fine. <p> Scars on my hips. Scars on my thighs. Eyes full of hurt and a mouth full of lies. <p> But when you're suicidal you see everything as your fault. Even when you end your life, you leave by saying sorry. <p> My thoughs have destroyed me more than my blades ever could. <p> There are 7 billion people in the world..it wouldn't matter if I wasn't one of them anymore. <p> Bleeding wrist, cut thighs, tied ropes, and hopes to die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    Xx

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Vix

    She nodded, going back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    H

    H

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Great Expectations was not only a great book, it's also a great

    Great Expectations was not only a great book, it's also a great life lesson. Pip, in the beginning, was confronted by a convict and was threatened death if he didn't help the convict escape. Pip moved to London and married the love of his life Estella. They grew to have a great life and a great family. For Pip to grow up in such an overgrown place and as an orphan, he has been taught some great morals in my opinion. From reaching out to his friend to help him meet his goals and also by owning a business. The characters came to life with vivid word usage and imagination at play. The story is like no other that I have read. It was different and worth reading. I defiantly recommend this book to anyone from 8th grade and up. It's very proper in the English language and can make you inspired. 
    Pip had no idea that he was going to marry who he did but none of us really do. He was not sure what his future held for him because of the way he lived life. He was a very special character to the book because he set the plot. He was the one who was there through it all and made everything happen. He was by far the most important character in the book. If you read this book and you find to not be interested, read it again. And if you still don't like it then either 1. You didn't understand it or 2. It's just not your forte. It's okay everyone has their own opinion. And my opinion is that this book is a Great one! 4 out of 5 stars given from me. Hope you have an awesome experience reading this, I know you will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    With some embarrassment, I must admit that Great Expectations is

    With some embarrassment, I must admit that Great Expectations is the first book by Charles Dickens that I have read. I enjoyed it very much. As a lover of history, this type of story is very compelling to me. This is the story of a very poor and uneducated boy being raised by his harsh sister and her kind husband. The boy known as Pip comes to the attention of some people with power and money, and unexpectedly begins to climb to a higher station in the world, having a number of adventures along the way. The author managed to surprise with a few twists in the plot. Not easily done, as I am an avid reader and connoisseur of stories. I recommend this book very much, and look forward to reading others of his classic works.
    Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Great Read

    Even better if you read it in a Cockney accent :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Voss

    Ehh..... I wouldn't be so sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Xavier*

    *@Nxon. Not Voss the first time. xD awkwarddd...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Xavier

    If you would like, Voss, go to Three Sisters where we can again share a book. xD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Voss

    You guys are still awake?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10