Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations: Your All-In-One Resource for Pregnancy & Childbirth

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

2nd time around

I bought this the first time I got pregnant and loved it!! I had What to Expect also but this was much better. It gives you the week-by-week breakdown, instead of just month-to-month and lots of extra info no one else every told you about pregnancy and childbirth. It wa...
I bought this the first time I got pregnant and loved it!! I had What to Expect also but this was much better. It gives you the week-by-week breakdown, instead of just month-to-month and lots of extra info no one else every told you about pregnancy and childbirth. It was so good I'm buying it again since I gave my first copy away!

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

2004 copywrite

It says 2010 so I am glad I got the sample pages before buying. It is actually 10 years old. I have two pregnancy books that are older. I was looking for an updated, current book. I will keep shopping.

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    2nd time around

    I bought this the first time I got pregnant and loved it!! I had What to Expect also but this was much better. It gives you the week-by-week breakdown, instead of just month-to-month and lots of extra info no one else every told you about pregnancy and childbirth. It was so good I'm buying it again since I gave my first copy away!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Modern, comprehensive, insightful, comforting, realistic, and al

    Modern, comprehensive, insightful, comforting, realistic, and all-encompassing of the various choices you can made with your pregnancy and delivery. For a (hopefully!) soon to be mom, this book as been an excellent resource that I look forward to putting into practice. It is not condescending in any way and seems to be written by people who actually care about how women expereince their pregnancies, rather than trying to make a buck while promoting antiquated ideas ("what to expect" I'm talking about you). Great Expectations is fabulous and empowering, it won't let you down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful resource for 1st-time moms.

    I am an ob / gyn. I give it to my new moms. Great gift for daughter, grand daughter, and daughter-in-law.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2009

    The best of both worlds

    "What to Expect" is ok, but I really don't like the Q&A format. This one is great!! It combines all the great info that's in "What to Expect", with "Your Pregnancy Week by Week" Trust me. I work at B&N, and I've looked at them ALL.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    2004 copywrite

    It says 2010 so I am glad I got the sample pages before buying. It is actually 10 years old. I have two pregnancy books that are older. I was looking for an updated, current book. I will keep shopping.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    Fulfilled Expectations

    Great book! Gives a comprehensive week by week view of pregnancy along with explanations of what happens during and after childbirth. It's extremely informative and is a good supplement for everyday questions that may arise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2009

    Very thorough and complete

    This is an excellent book for the first time mom-to-be. It was very well organized and complete but still an enjoyable, easy read. I particularly appreciated the elaboration on facts and suggestions with their rationale as well as the citations of studies scattered throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Very well organized information for those "what's happening, what's next,am I O.K? questions first time pregnant women have.

    Wonderful resource, very informative, clear explanations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    Great Book

    This book have been very helpful and right on target when it came to the diffrent things going on in my pregnacy. I would recommend this book to any one who is expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great expectations!

    I think what drew me to this book was the title, cause that's what we're all dealing with--expectation. And yet, it was a really good read for pregnancy and not at all scrary or condescending. Like it a lot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    Great Expectations for Pregnancy is a fabulous book.

    This book is the most helpful book I have read on pregnancy. Week by week information that is accurate and informative plus the information that is available by category. Just about any question is answered in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    this book is amazing

    this book is wonderfull. pretty much every question i had about my pregnancy was answered in this book. if you like an informative, un-sugar coated, realistic insight into pregnancy i would recomend this book. it has a week by week section about your growing fetus and has endless information on anything you could imagine. its accurate and to the point. i was very pleased!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    This is my FAVORITE book for pregnancy.

    This book answered ALL of my questions. There is a little information on everything and LOTS of suggestions on where to find more information if you feel you need it. From what to expect while you are pregnant to labor and delivery to after the baby is born. Every little thing is addressed in this book. You won't need any more books. It is worth EVERY penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    better then the others...

    I love this book!! I have 'what to expect..' and 'Your pregnancy week by week' but this book is much better. It doesn't scare you about all of the horrible things that could be wrong with your baby but it does give you info. on any problems there could be. Every week it is so much fun to see how big the baby is and get info on what your baby needs (like eating more 'good fats') for the developing brain. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    This is a okay book!

    I am not so much satisfied by this book.It covers week-by-week guide(Great in no way since it is only 1.5 pages each),nutrition guide as well as unwanted advices like forgiving parents,etc.This book is special in NO WAY.There are other good pregnancy books than this one.SInce it also covers a baby gear guide I think this book was written as a source for buying things out like advertising certain things'since the author is a journalist'.In my opinion this book was not written keeping pregnancy women in mind moreover ways to sell this book keeping attractive headings.No useful Info too,just plain ones we hear day by day.I dont recommend this book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Love it

    I simply love this book. The week-by-week guide is great, and I'm really enjoying the pros and cons listed for everything related to baby gear. You will not regret buying this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2006

    Great Book !!!!

    I love this book. It is so much better than the other pregnancy books on the market. This is my second pregnancy and I still had questions. Great Expectations helped alive a lot of my worries. Week by week I check to see where my baby is and get thoughts on how I may be feeling through out the pregnancy. I recommended this book to all of my pregnant girl-friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2006

    best pregnancy book on the market

    I actually read several pregnancy books before I got pregnant, and they weren't very informative. But this one I bought couple of weeks before I found out I was pregnant. My pregnancy was just like the book had said a pregnancy would be like. The book made sense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2006

    Great book!

    It is always good to have as much information as possible when you are pregnant for the first time. Refresher info is always good too! This book is good in that it is a week by week guide, keeping you coming back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2006

    Detailed and Specific Information!

    I bought this book when my husband and I were trying to get pregnant. It is so helpful and explains everything in detail in an easy to read week by week guide. I love it so far - and I just found out I'm pregnant, so I look forward to referring to this book throughout my pregnancy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3