Customer Reviews for

Great Expectations: Your All-In-One Resource for Pregnancy & Childbirth

Average Rating 4.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

2nd time around

I bought this the first time I got pregnant and loved it!! I had What to Expect also but this was much better. It gives you the week-by-week breakdown, instead of just month-to-month and lots of extra info no one else every told you about pregnancy and childbirth. It wa...
I bought this the first time I got pregnant and loved it!! I had What to Expect also but this was much better. It gives you the week-by-week breakdown, instead of just month-to-month and lots of extra info no one else every told you about pregnancy and childbirth. It was so good I'm buying it again since I gave my first copy away!

posted by Anonymous on October 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

2004 copywrite

It says 2010 so I am glad I got the sample pages before buying. It is actually 10 years old. I have two pregnancy books that are older. I was looking for an updated, current book. I will keep shopping.

posted by Anonymous on April 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    Forget about 'What to expect ...' and have 'Great Expectations'

    This pregnancy book was the best. It was so informative, and covered topics that most pregnancy books wouldn't. For example the author's actually address the issue of being a single parent.I had not been pregnant in over nine years, so there were tests I was not familiar with but 'Great Expactations' gave me all the info I needed. This book is a good read, far from boring. You will find yourself wanting to draw reference to it for almost everything during your pregnancy and actually find answers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    The best pregnancy book

    This is by far the most comprehensive pregnancy book I've seen. It has been so helpful the past nine months. It presents a very well rounded approach to pregnancy. It is very supportive of natural child birth. I would highly recommend this book to any expecting mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2005

    The Ultimate Pregnancy Book

    This book covers all the topics you want to know about from baby developement and mother physical changes to what you should be doing to prepare for baby and what to expect at your doctors visit. The week by week organization of the book gave me all the informaton I needed to know on a need to know basis. This was great because it helped me stay knowledgable about my pregnancy and what I should be doing at each stage of the game. Reading the book once a week also gives you time to actually read the entire book. The set up of the book also allows you to tailor your reading more on topics you are more interested in or have concerns about. As a pharmacist, I found the medical advise accurate and useful. 'What To Expect When You're Expecting' was a good reference too but I found 'Great Expectations' to be a better resource and a more enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2005

    Best all-in-one pregnancy book!

    This book is a must have for new mothers and expecting mothers. Everything I ever wanted to know was in this book, and then some. I love the week to week guide of pregnancy, as well as information about what products are best to buy for your baby. This book is an easy read but also goes into great detail, unlike other books I've read that just skim over topics. Overall, you are getting a great resource for a small price. Love it, love it, love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    more then i expected

    when i first found out i was pregnant i went out to the book store to find a book. i picked up quite a few different books and flipped through them, but it was this one i kept coming back to. i first chose it because not only did it have information on pregnancy like week by week and what to expect. it also included the birthing process and a buying guide and all kinds of information you wouldnt think of. i recomend this book for any new mom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2005

    Great Book, Except....

    I love this book. I'm pregnant with my first child, and found the book to be completely informative on all aspects of pregnancy, childbirth, and the first year of a child's life. However, there is one mistake in the book. The weekly calendar shows that your third trimester starts in the 25th week. I asked my doctor about this, and he told me that is incorrect. It should read that it starts on the 27th week. Except for that, I would definitely purchase this book. It's very easy to read and understand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    ITS A GREAT BOOK

    If this is your first pregnancy, this is the only book you need, it provides you with every thing you need to know about pregnancy, and it's so orgainized and detailed oreinted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2005

    I will recommend to everyone

    I Highly recommend this book over all the other 'popular' pregnancy books. This has everything you need in one resource. They break it up so you get the week by week that most people are looking for and everything else you could ever think of and so much more. I will by it for all my friends when they become pregnant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Great Pregnancy Book

    I have two other pregnancy books, 'What to Expect when Expecting' which I rarely open, and 'Your Guide to Pregnancy: Week by Week' which I have found informative. However, I just purchased this book, 'Great Expectations' and was very impressed. I appreciate the detail it goes into on the birthing process, newborn care, and the reviews on necessary baby products, plus other useful information on pregnancy and what to expect once your baby arrives. I like the fact that it is written by a mother and daughter who consult with an OBGYN and a Midwife.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Gift for friend

    I gave this book to a friend who is expecting her first child. She was thrilled with the book. She is always calling with the latest great fact she found.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2004

    Best Pregnancy Book out there!

    My husband just bought me this book and it was so well written and concise. I have written a bunch of baby books since I got pregnant but this was by far the best one! Now I am going to make my husband read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    wonderful book

    This is the most up to date and comprehensive guide to pregnancy and childbirth available today. I especially liked the great organization and the clear writing. It really was a wonderful gift!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2004

    Great New Resource for Pregnancy/Childbirth

    As a childbirth educator/doula and trainer for both, I will be referring this spectacular book to my trainees and to all of the expectant families with which I work. Clear and concise, current and objective, this book is the first to contain such complete information! (RN, LCCE, CD ~ www.birthsource.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 37 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 2