Customer Reviews for

The Great Gatsby

Average Rating 4
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(229)

4 Star

(115)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

This is a wonderful book. It will keep you entertained for hours

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Boo!

Would like to read it except it didn't download the whole book! Guess that's what you get for .99 cents!

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 474 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This is a wonderful book. It will keep you entertained for hours

    33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    Boo!

    Would like to read it except it didn't download the whole book! Guess that's what you get for .99 cents!

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Poor quality publication. Hard to read because text does not fit nook format.

    Doesn't work well on nook. Some words run together; others are split between lines without hyphens or regsrd to syllables.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Great Gatsby

    The Great Gatsby does symbolize much more than what the anonymous man said. It symbolizes not only one of the major flaws of human beings, but the greatest test for us as well; honesty. Jay gatsby lived a lie and in the end died a lie as well. The book tells a lot about society and is very educational. It is overall a great book if you analyze it the wat Fitzgerald would want u to.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Cheaper isnt better

    Bought this for school couldnt even get through the first chapter. Bad capitalization and horrible spacing between words.

    4 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    My FAVORITE Fitzgerald book!

    if you like books from this era then the great gatsby is a no brainer. While i have all the works of F Scott Fitzgerald this is by far my favorite. And when i saw the NookBook for only 99 cents it was undeniable!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    never ever...

    ...listen to anonymous comments like that one, obviously the writings of a pathetic nobody who desperately knows nothing of fine literature. great read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    Never Ever read this book.

    Worst book ever written. Ever. People say it is full of symbolism and mystery but really it's just the desperate pathetic writing of a desperate pathetic man.

    3 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Disappointed

    I had heard this was a great book. One friend told me it was her favorite book ever so maybe my expectations were too high heading into reading it. However, I didn't enjoy it at all. It was a very well written book but the story was just not very interesting and entertaining. The story is told through Nick Carroway but the main character is really Jay Gatsby. It's an interesting way to write a story but I thought Nick Carroway was boring with very little personality. He was just a shell of a character to tell the story through. While Gatsby had a mysterious quality to him, you could never really grasp his mysteriousness fully because fitzgerald didn't fill in the details about his life. Some people may find it intersting others may not. I didn't because it was hard to visualize Jay Gatsby. As a result, I was left with a bland character telling a story which centered around a mysterious individual that I couldn't even really picture in my head. That coupled with the story which to me was as boring as Nick Carroway (probably partly because it's told through his perspective) left me with an average book that I did not find entertaining. The only interesting part to me was Gatsby's mysteriousness but in the end that story never fully develops. But of course it all comes down to opinion. If your looking to read an entertaining story with an intricate and dynamic plot, this probably isn't the best book to read in my opinion of course. If your looking for a well written book that flows as good as it was written then you would probably enjoy this book. Fitzgerald did a great job of writing the book, to me the story itself just wasn't worth the read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Choppy

    Don't get this version it's really chopped up and hard to follow. Huge dissapointment.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Timeless

    It is just timeless. Think of Out of Africa, Dr. Zhivago, stories that capture the human condition. Drawn to it by Midnight in Paris. Thanks Woody. No good reason why I hadn't read before, despite the many I could advance. Hardcover all the way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    A decent read

    I was supposed to read this book in high school, but i didn't. With all the hype from the new movie and all, I decided to give it another try. I finished it, and honestly, found it to be quite forgettable. Not bad, just... meh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Dont buy

    I bought this book for 1.99 thought i was getting a great deal for a classic but line spacing is all jacked up making it hard to read without geting a headache. B&N u need make books affordable and fix all the errors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    The Great American Novel

    The Great Gatsby is by far the best novel ever written by an American. The themes of the Death of the American Dream, and how wealth corrupts, epitomize the 20s completely. Every person who said the book was shallow clearly lacked the literary vision to see Fitzgerald's incredible use of symbolism. Every color, every object, every setting and mood is symbolic of something. Fitzgerald doesn't write things w/o meaning. The GG is one of the greatest works ever completed by a human being.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    Best of the Century

    This novel easily holds its own as the best the 20th Century produced. The use of the first person narrator ensures that we actually have to think for ourselves as readers -- is the entire story biased by Nick's perceptions? Also succeeds in exploring the dark side of the American dream -- how we can reach for success and come so close and then lose everything (or gain it all but be morally bankrupt). This edition is good for anyone doing a textual study of the novel since it includes extensive notes that indicate emendations to the text Fitzgerald and his editor made. If you have not encountered this novel before now, you must experience it. Don't let the language trip you up -- remember when this was written. If you expect it to read like the latest Grisham or King, you will be let down. Relax, it isn't Shakespeare either. This is reading that takes some effort. You could use the exercise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2014

    Peppa

    Cat hat sat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Love this story!

    Real life. People are just like this story weather rich or poor. People want want want. Love and life. Human nature and its our nature to judge. Will never win. Do as you wish and hope for the best....love away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    UH CONFUSED

    THIS PATICULAR BOOK MADE IT TO THE MOVIE THEATHERS LIKE EVERY OTHER BOOK DID BIG HIT INDEED

    ANONYMOUS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Nook buyer beware!

    I purchased this book for a book club selection. Unfortunately it was a copy that was not formatted correctly. It did cost very little, but I thought that was because it was an old book. Not so! Be sure you check the publisher, publishing date, and try to compare that to the paper versions. Not all inexpensive books are a bargain, but some are. You must learn how to tell the difference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 474 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24