Customer Reviews for

The Great Gatsby

Average Rating 4
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

This is a wonderful book. It will keep you entertained for hours

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Boo!

Would like to read it except it didn't download the whole book! Guess that's what you get for .99 cents!

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    A decent read

    I was supposed to read this book in high school, but i didn't. With all the hype from the new movie and all, I decided to give it another try. I finished it, and honestly, found it to be quite forgettable. Not bad, just... meh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Trainer

    Mmm so many hungry girls to plz. Alana go to the secound result. Dee third. Maddie. Fourth. And arianna u stay here okie?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Sorry

    Same person with the most recent review. I meant there is no point buying the book when you can borrow it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    great

    Great

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great read!

    I wanted to go back in time and re-discover The Great Gatsby and I was not disapointed. Not a bad book for the price.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Great gatsby

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2007

    Not your great American novel

    This book was written about a certain social class in a certain place in a certain time. Fitzgerald writes well, the book is interesting and readable, but it is far from being a great novel. The fact that it is often used in high school English classes indicates that it is fairly simple in style and content. Fitzgerald was overrated during his early years and has not worn well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    The Great Gatsby?

    F. Scott Fitzgerald¿s The Great Gatsby revolves greatly around the age of the roaring twenties. It examines and illustrates the issues that come to mind when thinking of that time period, such as jazz, liquor, and money. According to the times, everyone was happy; however, Fitzgerald¿s fiction novel questions the truth of this statement. Nick Carraway, the narrator of this story of unrequited love, resides in West Egg, a wealthy neighborhood in New York. He soon becomes intertwined in the history and affair of his neighbor, Jay Gatsby, and second cousin, Daisy Buchanan. Fitzgerald takes hold of his readers in thrill and suspense, leading them to a shocking twist and revelation that no one will see coming. Fitzgerald gives a gripping history behind the lovers, a chance beginning and a bittersweet end. The beautiful and wealthy Daisy Buchanan would not settle for a poor man such as Gatsby, but he would not let their relationship come to an end. Jay Gatsby led a mysterious criminal life in order to achieve the status necessary to woo his one true love. His aspiration to be with Daisy drove him into obsession to become the wealthy man that she wants to marry. Five years after their partition, Gatsby discovers that Daisy is now married to an old classmate of Nick¿s, Tom Buchanan. Overtaken by his obsession, Gatsby decides to use Nick to meddle in the affairs of the Buchanan family, which has already been corrupted by deception and lies. Personally, I believe that this novel is one of a kind. It has a unique way of starting off with a modest man and his life, delivering a suspenseful story, and ending once more with modesty. Although, Fitzgerald¿s excessive and incessant descriptions sometimes are unnecessary, he is still able to deliver a variety of vivid imagery and emotion. The greatest asset to this book is it¿s ability to deliver suspense amidst the mundane life it¿s characters lead. The Great Gatsby, although not memorable, is very interesting and easy to get into. The characters each deliver a different flavor to the storyline, and each mysterious in their own way. Characters, such as the flamboyant and arrogant Myrtle Wilson, add their own side story and history. Each one adding a different suspense to the evolving climax. I enjoyed reading Fitzgerald¿s greatest work He did a great job at pulling all of it¿s aspects together and molding it into a great American classic. I recommend it highly to anyone looking for an okay book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2004

    ben's review

    The Great Gatsby is story written about a few peoples lives in the ¿Roaring Twenties.¿ The main character is man named Jay Gatsby who was a very wealthy New Yorker. Although how he acquired his riches is unknown, it is speculated that he might be involved in illegal bootlegging or other illegal activities. Jay Gatsby was very well known for the extravagant parties he would throw at his mansion. Nick Carraway, the narrator, was Jay Gatsby¿s neighbor in West Egg. Nick was a young man from the Midwest, who moved to New York to start in the bond business. After arriving in New York, Nick goes and visits with his cousin Daisy Buchanan and her husband Tom. While visiting at the Buchanan¿s, Nick meets a woman Jordan Baker, who he later becomes involved with. Jordan later tells Nick that his cousin Daisy¿s husband Tom is having an affair with a woman who lives in the valley of ashes, Myrtle Wilson. The next day Tom takes Nick into New York, and they stop at a garage on the way that is owned by George Wilson who is Myrtle¿s husband. Tom asks Myrtle to meet him later in the city. In the city, Tom keeps an apartment in Morningside Heights for his affair, this is where he had Myrtle come. Tom, Nick, Myrtle, and some of Myrtle¿s friends all get drunk at the apartment. As Myrtle becomes more intoxicated she keeps bugging Tom about Daisy so he breaks her nose. Needless to say, the party was now over. Later in the story, Nick gets invited over to Gatsby¿s for lunch, where he is introduced to Gatsby¿s business partner, Meyer Wolfsheim. Wolfsheim is known for being a criminal, and it was believed that he was responsible for fixing the 1919 World Series. Jay Gatsby seemed to avoid the Buchanan¿s, and that was because he was in love with Daisy Buchanan since they had first met in Louisville before the war. Gatsby was still in love with her. So because of this love, Gatsby talks Nick into arranging a meeting with Daisy. When they met, Gatsby gave Daisy a full tour of his mansion trying to show off his wealth. He did awake her old love for him, and they began to have an affair. Nick realizes that Gatsby is obsessed with Daisy and probably wishes she would leave Tom for him. This is a problem for Gatsby, he doesn¿t realize she is so shallow. He thinks he can fix things, but it is her shallowness that first caused their separation. After getting back together with Daisy, Gatsby quit throwing parties altogether. He only threw them to impress her, and now that he had found her they were no longer necessary. Gatsby, Nick, and Jordan are all invited to the Buchanan¿s for lunch where Daisy tries to make Tom jealous by flirting with Gatsby. Even though Tom is having an affair, he is enraged that Daisy is as well. Tom makes everyone there go back to the city with him, to the Plaza hotel where the two men get into a confrontation. Tom reveals to Daisy that Gatsby did acquire all of his cash through illegal activities. Going back to East Egg, Gatsby lets Daisy drive to relax, and when swerving to miss a car she hit and killed Myrtle! After George Wilson finds out about his wife Myrtle, he is obviously mad and wants to find her killer. Wilson is told by Tom that Gatsby killed Myrtle, so he goes and kills Gatsby and then himself. Frustrated with life in New York after all of the drama, he heads back to the Midwest. Nick Carraway the narrator, thought that Gatsby, because of his ambition to see his dreams become reality, was a truly great man. The Great Gatsby started out the most boring book I had ever read. After completing the story, I would recommend this book to anyone looking for a book to read. Although it was kind of hard to follow, it began to have more and more connections to the world I live in. Struggles to make women happy, adultery, and the fight for status and wealth, are all factors in an interesting story. It was a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2004

    i'd give it 3 1/2

    This book was very well written, but a little short. I felt you didn't get to know much about the charachters. Everything else was done very nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2004

    Breath Taking

    I liked the book because it made me want to read ahead and see what happened next. I din't like the book because at different points in the story it was boring. Readers should read this book because at different places in the book you can't figure out what is going to happen next. Readers shouldn't read the book because at different intervals it is too boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2004

    The Great Gatsby

    I'm not really sure if I would say that I liked The Great Gatsby, but it wasn't terrible either. It was very well written; I loved the way the author described things and made every little piece fit together perfectly. The characters are very well developed both through their own actions and the various things that Fitzgerald says or hints at about them. The use of sybmolism is awesome and adds a lot to the book if you take the time to think about it. There is are several themes and motifs that are easy to relate to in our lives today. However, the morals of the characters in the book definitely go against the morals I have been brought up with and have come to believe in. I guess that's what makes up most of the negative side of this book. There is a lot of infidelity, drinking, and just a general lack of morality among all of the characters in the novel. Since this goes against everything that I've lived with my whole life, I guess it just leaves a bad taste in my mouth. On the other hand I must think about the fact that it takes place in a world completely different than the one that I live in. This may not justify immorality, but it does explain part of the reason that it occurs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2004

    An OK book

    The book was confusing. I had to go to spark notes to understand what they were talking about. I understood what the book was trying to teach and bring out, but it could have done it in a less boring way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2004

    Rae ~ avid reader

    Though it had it's purpose and gave me a glimse at the 20's this great american novel left me rather cold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Thoughts

    The novel was pretty interesting, but never fully grabed my attention until the end of the book. However, Fitzgerald did a great job on provoking my thoughts about the important things in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2001

    Good author, boring book

    I thought that this book was very boring. I wasn't in to it at all. But what I did like about the book was that it was very descriptive. I loved how everything he wrote, I could see it, or hear or touch it. I just didn't think that the book had much of a point, and I thought that it was very slow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    Great Gatsby: The Authorized Text

    I usually do not enjoy reading but this book caught my attention a lot. In my opinion ¿The Great Gatsby¿ is not an outstanding novel but it is quite good. I would recommend this book for teenagers from 15 to 23 years old. ¿The Great Gatsby¿ is one of the best love stories I have ever read and it is also a suspense story. On the one hand we are encountered with the love between Gatsby and Daisy, which grows bigger as the story develops, and on the other hand we have Gatsby´s secret; nobody really knows Gatsby but everybody enjoys his big parties. Once we find out why he organised them and why he surrounded himself with glitter, we admire him for his total dedication to his dream and for his endless search of love. Gatsby is a character with which we can easily identify because he is the embodiment of the American dream. in my opinion, the book shows how this dream will never came true because of careless and cruel people such as Tom Daisy and Jordan, who are materialistic. I would rate it with three stars because although the story is interesting the book is written in a very complex way. The only thing I would criticise about it is that the action does not start until the fourth chapter, which encouraged my reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2000

    An 'american novel', but not a great one.

    'It seems as though F. Scott Fitzgerald has never been outside.' was how someone I know summed up his experience with this book, and after reading it myself, I have to agree. It was not a boring book, nor a unenjoyable read, but I felt that it did lack substance. For a novel considered by most to be the 'Great American Novel', I had figured that it might delve into the mind of Gatsby or present some incredible depth ALONG WITH and interesting story. Nevertheless, it was quick, easy and flowing. While I don't think that it comes close to it's hype, I do think that everyone should read it at some time or another. If not for enjoyment, then at least for the study of different writing styles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2000

    The Great Gatsby was a bootlegger, is that great?

    this was a decent book, but not great! this book is about an obcession that Jay Gatsby has with Daisy Buchanan. It is similar to Don Quixote in that way, but Quixote is alot better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4