Customer Reviews for

The Great Gatsby

Average Rating 4
( 474 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(117)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Read

This is a wonderful book. It will keep you entertained for hours

posted by theReader278 on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Boo!

Would like to read it except it didn't download the whole book! Guess that's what you get for .99 cents!

posted by Anonymous on May 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent Read

    This is a wonderful book. It will keep you entertained for hours

    33 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to

    What a great read! really enjoyed it. It was very easy for me to connect to the characters

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Great Gatsby

    The Great Gatsby does symbolize much more than what the anonymous man said. It symbolizes not only one of the major flaws of human beings, but the greatest test for us as well; honesty. Jay gatsby lived a lie and in the end died a lie as well. The book tells a lot about society and is very educational. It is overall a great book if you analyze it the wat Fitzgerald would want u to.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    My FAVORITE Fitzgerald book!

    if you like books from this era then the great gatsby is a no brainer. While i have all the works of F Scott Fitzgerald this is by far my favorite. And when i saw the NookBook for only 99 cents it was undeniable!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    never ever...

    ...listen to anonymous comments like that one, obviously the writings of a pathetic nobody who desperately knows nothing of fine literature. great read.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Timeless

    It is just timeless. Think of Out of Africa, Dr. Zhivago, stories that capture the human condition. Drawn to it by Midnight in Paris. Thanks Woody. No good reason why I hadn't read before, despite the many I could advance. Hardcover all the way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2006

    The Great American Novel

    The Great Gatsby is by far the best novel ever written by an American. The themes of the Death of the American Dream, and how wealth corrupts, epitomize the 20s completely. Every person who said the book was shallow clearly lacked the literary vision to see Fitzgerald's incredible use of symbolism. Every color, every object, every setting and mood is symbolic of something. Fitzgerald doesn't write things w/o meaning. The GG is one of the greatest works ever completed by a human being.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 1999

    Best of the Century

    This novel easily holds its own as the best the 20th Century produced. The use of the first person narrator ensures that we actually have to think for ourselves as readers -- is the entire story biased by Nick's perceptions? Also succeeds in exploring the dark side of the American dream -- how we can reach for success and come so close and then lose everything (or gain it all but be morally bankrupt). This edition is good for anyone doing a textual study of the novel since it includes extensive notes that indicate emendations to the text Fitzgerald and his editor made. If you have not encountered this novel before now, you must experience it. Don't let the language trip you up -- remember when this was written. If you expect it to read like the latest Grisham or King, you will be let down. Relax, it isn't Shakespeare either. This is reading that takes some effort. You could use the exercise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Love this story!

    Real life. People are just like this story weather rich or poor. People want want want. Love and life. Human nature and its our nature to judge. Will never win. Do as you wish and hope for the best....love away!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    UH CONFUSED

    THIS PATICULAR BOOK MADE IT TO THE MOVIE THEATHERS LIKE EVERY OTHER BOOK DID BIG HIT INDEED

    ANONYMOUS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Now I see why this book is considered a true American classic, a

    Now I see why this book is considered a true American classic, and I completely agree with that. The book is an amazing novel that captures the early 1900s with amazing accuracy of the period of time. If you enjoy American literature & history it’s definitely a must read. The writing of F. Scott Fitzgerald was exquisite and the higher class of America is excellently portrayed. Fitzgerald's characters will make you question yourself, way of thinking and ethics as they become enthralled in the drama that surrounds them all. This novel is amazing for discussions and will have to become a permanent fixture in your life after reading it once. I have to admit that this realistic story will make you think more before you analyze the theme & the whole tale. It is a true classic that everyone should read. Who is an adult or coming of age to adult way of thinking.
    I remember long ago that I try to read the book in my early preteen and I didn’t quite understand until now in my adulthood.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Mercades

    I like this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    To i am so lonely

    I will have a nice suddle sex with you

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    From Im so loanly

    That sounds nice call this number
    801-532-6243

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    This is a great book exponentially amazing. Dont mind the bad re

    This is a great book exponentially amazing. Dont mind the bad reviews they were created by most likely middle and high schooled children who havent quite grasped the beauty of history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    There's so many symbols hidden in this book & many have diff

    There's so many symbols hidden in this book & many have difficulty finding them. The American Dream has disintegrated because of the greed & want for money & parties & status. I had to read this for 11AP English & my teacher made it an enjoyable book. It doesn't seem like so at first, but when you find all of the symbols Fitzgerald tries to portray, it's really something different. Think about it first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    A fantastic read. Something to lose yourself in and enjoy the ti

    A fantastic read. Something to lose yourself in and enjoy the time period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Anna

    "Hey, wanna get a book? Do you roleplay?"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Dee

    Yea!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Daddy r u on?

    Arianna

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12