Customer Reviews for

The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 900 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(685)

4 Star

(156)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Leaves you wanting more

Although I'm sure this book stands alone as a good read, I can only recommend starting from the first, The Eye of the World, and continuing onward. This is a great series; the characters are awesome and you will want to be one of them. The women rock, and are in no way ...
Although I'm sure this book stands alone as a good read, I can only recommend starting from the first, The Eye of the World, and continuing onward. This is a great series; the characters are awesome and you will want to be one of them. The women rock, and are in no way to be confused with drippy, moony, boring, shrieky, ditzy dipsticks with heaving bosoms so common in much of the genre. These gals will kick your sorry bum! Though a fantasy world, the books traffic in the collision of cultures from martial to natural, fundamentalist to liberal and everything in between. It's a really neat way of considering any kind of cultural conflict, in addition to a rip-roaring good story. Pick these books up and dig in to this world!

posted by HouseOfReads on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Realy people?!

U guys r weird! U dont even know eachother! :(

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I say it is worth the read!

    This is the second of the series & I find it very enjoyable and intriguing!
    I cannot wait to get into the next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    How many pages???

    I read the first book and it was over 2000 pages. Are all the other ones that long? Please answer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A unique world with more detail than some can handle

    This is the second book in the series. The first book was a pleasure. It compares to Dune or the Hobbit in that you can immerse yourself in this fantasy world without being jerked back to reality by silly contradictions or over-the-top weirdness. Robert Jordan developed his characters to a point where every reader will find him or herself empathic to a favoite character, (or two).
    Oh... that's right, I am supposed to review the 2nd book. The Great Hunt picks up where The Eye of the World left off. Therein lies part of the problem. It is a series, and while I do not mind the author recalling descriptions of people or events from the Eye of the World, he does a disservice by rehashing every last detail. I KNOW who is tall and who is short. I KNOW that this city is the largest one in this fantasy world. Please do NOT describe it all again... and again... and again. If the story was not so closely woven, book to book, I'd suggest you skip this one. (I am on book 3, and though the author commits the sin yet again, there are events and surprises to warrant the read).
    If you are a patient reader, have at it. I scan the repetitive descriptions to jump three pages to the next significant event.
    The storyline IS a great one. Robert Jordan's unique treatment of the male - female relationship is enjoyable and at times comical, though always thoughful and consistent. Action in the Great Hunt is often more a threat than a promise. As Fantasy, the story excels. While various characters have supernatural powers, the treatment is crafty and measured so you don't have to take an incredulous pause. The author is creative and thoughful in weaving this fantasy.
    Make the Great Hunt a quick read, so you can get to a more fulfilling The Dragon Reborn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    Is a good series.

    This is not a bad series. It does haveits dragging parts but still good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2005

    Good but not best

    Robert Jordan has some really good plots and I love his characters. My only problem with his books are that sometimes they seem too long (even for this fanatic bookworm!) Usually, though, when I start getting bored, it's not long before something exciting happens. I'm glad I read it, but I wasn't thrilled or anything. It was just pretty good. I did really love the last hundred pages or so. They were the most exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    A good read

    Robert Jordan is a talented writer. After reading the first 2 books in the series I have only been disappointed with the one thing that seems to be the same in most books of this type, the lead charachter is so easily deceived. The women in this series is different in that they are the strength of society.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2