Customer Reviews for

The Great Hunt (Wheel of Time Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 894 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(680)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Leaves you wanting more

Although I'm sure this book stands alone as a good read, I can only recommend starting from the first, The Eye of the World, and continuing onward. This is a great series; the characters are awesome and you will want to be one of them. The women rock, and are in no way ...
Although I'm sure this book stands alone as a good read, I can only recommend starting from the first, The Eye of the World, and continuing onward. This is a great series; the characters are awesome and you will want to be one of them. The women rock, and are in no way to be confused with drippy, moony, boring, shrieky, ditzy dipsticks with heaving bosoms so common in much of the genre. These gals will kick your sorry bum! Though a fantasy world, the books traffic in the collision of cultures from martial to natural, fundamentalist to liberal and everything in between. It's a really neat way of considering any kind of cultural conflict, in addition to a rip-roaring good story. Pick these books up and dig in to this world!

posted by HouseOfReads on April 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Realy people?!

U guys r weird! U dont even know eachother! :(

posted by Anonymous on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    Could use some editing

    Loved this book, but like The Eye of The World, I thought that Jordan gets so verbose in the first couple of chapters, that its hard to get too deeply into his world soon enough to continue on. The sequence in which Rand is seeking to escape Dal Fara goes on forever and I thought at times that the entire book would be just that. If he entered one more room and described it down to cracks in the floor, I was going to put the book down forever. Comparitively, the final battle at Falme, what I thought was some great suspense writing, takes 3 pages at best. I'm certainly going to continue with the series, but hope that it doesn't bog down again.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2000

    Excellent Sequel

    After finishing The Eye of the World I felt a bit let down by the hyped series, however The Great Hunt really made me an enthusiastic WoT fan. The Great Hunt was an excellent book with an exciting plot and the characters became very well developed, and the world became a rich and developed world.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    recommend for fantasy fans

    Moves much faster than the first book in the series (Eye of the World), primarily because there is less set-up. I'm continuing on with the Wheel of Time series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2012

    The great hunt

    I enjoyed it a lot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    I've reported this activity.

    Writing this stuff in a public forum is disgusting. If it isn't illegal and actionable, it should be. There are appropriate sites and forums for your stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great book, long read!

    The plot is very interesting and the characters are unique. The fantasy world that Robert Jordan has created is very interesting. He has put a lot of depth into the setting, history and politics his characters are surrounded by. Lots of fun, but hand in there; the plot takes an eternity to unfold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Captivating series

    I have read the entire series twice. Am glad to have it on my Nook because my books are falling apart. Some of the books can get a bit repetitive, but they are worth working your way through. Great fable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Story Continues!

    The Great Hunt picks up exactly where Eye of hte World left off. Though some of the major players are left out by way of a little story line, the book further deeps the reader's intimacy with the original players and introduces some new ones. And the plot... thickens. Enjoy this must read book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2008

    A beginning and an end to space and time!

    Now really, to the person who says there has to be a beginning and an end to space and time. I don't think so!!!!! This book is just great. However I do think that this story line and Terry Goodkind's story line in the Sword of Truth is very similar. How come?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    great

    this was a really good book with a bunch of fun however the series is rather lenthy and it is not for people who dont have alot of free time however i recomend this book to people who can stay with a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2005

    Interesting but too long.

    I enjoyed the second book in the Wheel Of Time Series. It was interesting, it answered some questions and raised some new ones. There was one big surprise for me that I won't reveal here for fear of giving away the plot. I find it difficult to get into a book that is predictable. This one was anything but predictable. The only reason that I give it four stars instead of five is because of the length of the story. I felt like there was some filler in this one. It probably could have been at least 100 pages shorter. I do intend to finish the series although I realize that it will be a long term project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2005

    One of the best in the series....

    Many intriguing elements come into play in this second volume, though (unfortunately) many of them were not developed enough for my liking in future books (a perfect example are the traveling stones). A lot of focus is put on Perrin, my favorite character, but you'll probably be disappointed to realize that it's all leading to almost the exact climax as in Book One.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2004

    Wow!

    This book, by far is my favorite book. Nynaeve and Egwene are in the White Tower training to be Aes Sedai. The romance between Nynaeve and Lan gets even more obvious. Rand is told hes the Dragon Reborn and he can channel, but in order to leave that behind he joins Mat and Perrin to hunt for the stolen horn and the dagger that Mat needs to save his life. Meanwhile, Egwene and Nynaeve, and their new friend Elayne, are tricked by Liandrin a black Ajah darkfriend, and are tossed into the Seanchan. Egwene is captured, but Nynaeve and Elayne eventually rescue her. Rand is finally proclaimed the dragon reborn, and now their world is changed forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2004

    The tension's mounting...

    A definate page turner, even more so than the first book, and far more tense and edgy. At times I found I needed to stop and catch my nerves, but I just couldn't put it down when I tried! It drove me nuts - and I loved it! I had to pick the third book up immediately. The pressure is surely building...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2004

    As good as lord of the rings,but not better

    very good,kept me happy after i finished the lord of the rings.But i am only on the second book.Still,it was very good.L like how the characters are steadyly changing into there destineys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2001

    A great sequel!

    I really enjoyed reading the second book in The Wheel of Time series. I was in Europe on vacation, and I read it every chance I got, and couldn't wait to get the next one! The characters are unforgettable and you feel as if you knew them and are there as they undergo the adventure. Jordan makes them come to life, and his plot always makes you want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2001

    A Well Established Sequal

    The second book in Jordan's series does not dissapoint. The first few descriptive chapters that deal with Sheinar are wonderful. The story line is classic: chase the villain in hopes of regaining some stolen object. Compared to Eye of the World this book is lower quality, but it is needed to establish a deep plot. The chase scenes are rather leangthy, but the segment that deals with the game of houses more than makes up for it. Nonetheless this is a solid addition to the WoT and a beautiful setup for the next few novels, which are possibly the best in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2001

    IN THE NAME OF THE LIGHT!!!!!!

    IT IS THE BEST!!!!!!! I dunno what is with you if you don't like it! There must be a serious problem somewhere...of course, you would have to like fantasy/adventure/horror/romance/sci fi/THE BEST BOOKS AVAILBLE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2000

    Goose bumps and smiles!!

    Well i must say i also am not the type of guy who looks at a novel this size with any kind of enthusiam, but after the first one i couldn't wait to get my hands on it. I must give Robert Jordan props, he has me thinking, dreaming and reading 'The Wheel of Time' I have already began to read 'The Dragon Reborn.' My hat is off to the man, Robert Jordan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 155 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8