Customer Reviews for

The Great Reindeer Rebellion

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Very cute book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    sweet and funny

    my grandaughter loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2010

    Very funny, cute book!

    My son loved this book. Very cute story, animated & funny! If you're not sure about the book I would highly recommend it...my son is 5 & loved it & wants me to read it to him over & over. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Great Reindeer Rebellion

    Trumbauer, L. (2009). The Great Reindeer Rebellion. New York: Sterling.

    9781402744624

    Appetizer: When Santa's reindeer go on strike, he looks for replacement sleigh pullers. But it seems reindeer may be the best animals for the job.

    The Great Reindeer Rebellion follows the form of The Night Before Christmas to share the story. It's illustrations are colorful and child-friendly, featuring a lot of animals with cute expressions.

    When I first picked up The Great Reindeer Rebellion, I assumed by its size and the thickness of the pages that it was a pop-up book. So, I was kinda disappointed when I discovered that it wasn't. The pages are textured, with characters raised against the page. So, young readers may want to trace the animals on each page.


    Dinner Conversation:

    "'Twas the week before Christmas,
    and somewhere up North,
    dear Santa was frantic-
    he paced back and forth.

    He had just heard some news
    that he sure didn't like:
    It seemed that the reindeer
    were going on strike."


    "So Santa decided,
    "That's fine! Be that way!
    I'm sure I'll find others
    who will pull my sleigh."


    "Flamingos!" he summoned,
    "It's your turn, let's go!"
    And I must say your pink
    looks divine in the snow."


    To Go with the Meal:

    The Click Clack Moo: Cows that type of the Christmas season, The Great Reindeer Rebellion is a fun read aloud for a teacher to share with students.

    For activities, a teacher could have students draw want-ads for new sleigh pullers. Student could also vote for their favorite sleigh puller of the animals that answer the ads in the book. A teacher could encourage young kids to call out and names the animals pictured on each page, before reading the text.

    If a teacher wanted to get a lesson out of the book, a teacher could discuss treating friends (or group members) fairly and trying to talk-out problems.


    Tasty Rating: !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    Horrible Message

    I read this book at a BN store and was stunned that it would published for children. The story sends a horrible message. Instead of using Santa and his helpers to illustrate a story highlighting a strong work ethic, it tells kids to refuse to work if you are not being "spoiled" by your employer and not to come back until you are given "luxuries" like a sauna and hot tub! Some may think I'm being too sensitive but I can't find one positive message in the story.
    Other than that, the illustrations are cute!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2