Customer Reviews for

The Great Unraveling: Losing Our Way in the New Century

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2004

    EGOCENTRIC HACK TEACHES HATE

    The mighty Enron consultant tells us who to blame. Instead of being part of the solution, he encourages us to hate. Yes, he promoted his employer Enron in a Fortune magazine article, favorably comparing it to Goldman Sachs. Mr. Krugman knows where his bread is buttered. The book is a poorly written rehash of op-eds from the elitest newspaper that gave Jayson Blair free reign. Paul Krugman is a sly and dangerous demagogue.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    A SORE WINNER HE IS NOT

    This book of articles is a painful reminder of why it was a mistake to continue four more years of the 2000 kidnapping of our great nation by the power hungry, extreme right. We need more watch dogs such as Mr. K if we are to survive the next three and a half years. Turn off the TV and A.M. radio, and educate yourselves!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2005

    Packed with Knowledge

    This powerful indictment of President George W. Bush¿s administration comes from a prize-winning economist and journalist. Even if author Paul Krugman¿s stiffest critics would not argue with the facts in his New York Times columns, they would argue mightily about his interpretations. Since the administration¿s story is still unfolding, the net effect of Bush¿s economic, political and managerial decisions have not been felt fully. When they are, Krugman contends in columns published from January 2000 to January 2003, the U.S. will face dramatically higher inflation and a host of economic woes. He blames Bush for creating the moral climate that enabled the recent corporate scandals. Krugman asks passionately why Bush has lied consistently to the public about the budget, the war and even the real goal of his administration, and gotten away with it. He itemizes a list of administration lies and misuse of information. He contends that Bush¿s real aim is to unravel the welfare state, reduce taxes and help the wealthy. While some columns are dated, most seem remarkably fresh, so fresh that it is too soon for a final conclusion about many of these predictions. We think this is required reading for anyone interested in politics or the U.S. economy, whether Krugman¿s take on Bush will please you or infuriate you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Excellent !!

    I've admired Krugman for years and this collection of his essays reminds me why, at the same time it scares the living daylights out of me. What will it take for average Americans to get the message that politics is a function of culture and that if the culture goes off the rails (as ours is today without question) it's only a matter of time till the political system must adjust to the reality of that culture? Cultural chaos is not consistent with traditional American liberties. We're heading for an accounting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    Truly brilliant economist & political commentator

    Paul Krugman brilliantly analyzes the many ways the Bush administration has sold this country down the river. A must-read for anyone interested in economics, politics or merely the survival of America as a nation of the middle class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Current affairs scholarship from an economist's perspective.

    Many people argued that Ross Perot should have become President because America is essentially a business, so who better to run it than an enormously successful businessman. That adage carries over to Paul Krugman, The New York Times's celebrated economist and columnist, whose economic perspective on the startling decline in this country's financial and political stability both before and during the current administration is raw, intelligent, informed, non-partisan, and compulsively readable. His prose is accessible, and he makes more difficult economic theories and construct understandable to the non-mathematically or -economically inclined reader (like myself).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2003

    Concise Krugman

    His insights are wonderful and should be a must- read for economics majors and concerned citizens alike. My only objection is that his apparent political stance may turn off conservatives to the point where they won¿t read this book. A true shame considering the potential value of his insights to our nation¿

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    Excellent, Timely Read

    Krugman's analysis is astute, timely, and even more powerful for being collected into one book. Convincingly presents a view of the current US administration that is sobering if not frightening; and mobilizes an argument toward how we, as voting and economically informed citizens, can reverse the destruction (surely this book proves the 'Right' are the ones who are 'anti-American'?) now underway. A must-read for people of both (or all) political sides; one wonders if the Left truly understands the policies now being implemented, and, with equal urgency, one wonders if the Right truly knows what we've put into power. An articulate and well-timed book. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2003

    Outstanding commentary on the recent events.

    Krugman will include some of his New York Times columns and new material, organized by themes. My rating is based on the quality of the columns in which he combines logic, hard look at our economy and politics, and courage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1