Customer Reviews for

The Great War: Walk in Hell (Great War Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

5 Stars for this GREAT book!

2nd book of this Alternate world of choas which started in How Few Remain. if you are interested in this book make sure that you read How Few Remain first it leads into the Great War series which leads into the American Empire series which leads to the yet to be release...
2nd book of this Alternate world of choas which started in How Few Remain. if you are interested in this book make sure that you read How Few Remain first it leads into the Great War series which leads into the American Empire series which leads to the yet to be released Settling Accounts series.

posted by Anonymous on September 27, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good book but badly transcribed

Either the publisher should have given the E-book transcription a good error check or they should have hired someone literate to perform the transcription! Many errors that are not in the print version. Otherwise it is a good book.

posted by 9878638 on September 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    5 Stars for this GREAT book!

    2nd book of this Alternate world of choas which started in How Few Remain. if you are interested in this book make sure that you read How Few Remain first it leads into the Great War series which leads into the American Empire series which leads to the yet to be released Settling Accounts series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    Awsome book

    A must read as good as the rest of the seiries

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Awesome

    Awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Loved it

    Another great one in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Great series

    I bought them all and want to read them again. If only I could trade for ebook versions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    End the stalemate

    And breakthrough to the end of the war. Great book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Get Hooked

    I got Hooked on the whole series after reading this book; I bought all 11!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very interesting

    Has a very interesting mini-conclusion. The war is over! Read American Empire!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Second in a great series

    Read it! Love it! Get hooked! Great story, very interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2007

    GREAT

    I have read a lot of books looking for a good what if book. Now I have found a great what if timeline i was realy pleased with this book and i recomened it to anyone who loves history

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2007

    Excellent history

    I think it was well written, it gives and shows reasons of how World War One starts in this alternate history life. It also has World War One references.I really reccomend it.It has great descriptions of the different settings. The only bad thing is it's pretty long.also it has a cool map.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2003

    Just buy it

    If you are into civil war or science fiction this is a great combination which makes a great story, plot and overall is one of the best books ive ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    War is Hell...

    ... and this book proves it. It is an awesome book describing war, and the affects it has on not only the soldiers, and the political leaders, but also civilians. It's action packed, and very hard to put down. A definite read for those who love war stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    good start!

    a very good start to a good book. Harry always comes thru with a good novel-I hope he continues & puts out a new book in the near future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    A Different Kind Of Great War

    I was intrigued, and a little skeptical, when I picked up 'The Great War: American Front'. Until then the only good 'what if?' novel I had read was 'Fatherland' by Robert Harris. While Mr. Turtledove's book is on a different level, it exceeded all of my expectations. The author seems to have put a great deal of thought into the plot and the characters. Almost all of the scenes in the book come across with a feeling of authenticity. Mr. Turtledove has succeeded in making this idea of the USA fighting the Confederacy during the Great war very credible. Rarely does the book fall into the 'wishful thinking' that ruins so many other alternate history books. From the fighting in the trenches, the uprising in Utah to the Marxist rebellion in the South, the book takes the reader on a ride through the unknown what could have been.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2000

    Turtledove is the best there is at alternate history!

    This serries is so enthralling that you will not be able to put the book down. I know this is said about many books but I really could not put it down. I finished it in three days and wanted more! I love the way he works fictional characters in with real historical figures and events.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2000

    Turtledove does it again!

    In The Great War: Breakthroughs Turtledove has written one of his best books ever and possibly set the stage for more books about WWII. In this book the U.S. gets it revenge against the Confederates, Canada and Great Britan. I've waited for this book for three years to see the U.S. come out on top. It was worth the wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2000

    This is another great book by Harry Turtledove.

    This book continues the Great War series. It is very believeable and very entertaining. If you like history or science fiction this is a book for you. It is also good for action lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    Best Alternate History Book I've Ever Read

    This by far the best. Don't even bother reading the reviews, if you like WWI and the American Civil War then you'll love this book. The one thing I kept saying to myself was 'this could have happened'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2000

    Can't say enough good things about it!

    I love depth and lots of description- Harry Turtledove's alternate history and Tom Clancy's first two books are like that. I am also a huge military history buff, and this book met all my wishes. Coming from Georgia, the 'Dixie Heartland,' and some Civil War ancestry (on the Southern side), but no racial feelings, I was eager to see what might have happened if the South had won. Well thought out and well-written, this book gets the highest rating and if possible, more. Every American should read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4