Customer Reviews for

The Great Wide Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read

This book was fantastic. full of thrilling storms, Heart break and family. This book kept me up all night reading! i just couldnt put it down. this book was a fantastic read and i would recommend anybody to read this book...Whether or not they were 12 or 90. it was a gr...
This book was fantastic. full of thrilling storms, Heart break and family. This book kept me up all night reading! i just couldnt put it down. this book was a fantastic read and i would recommend anybody to read this book...Whether or not they were 12 or 90. it was a great read

posted by Bookworm8765MC on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sample was ok

I read the sample ready to buy it but somethinng didnt click does anybody think i should buy this book?

posted by 5935691 on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    Fantastic Read

    This book was fantastic. full of thrilling storms, Heart break and family. This book kept me up all night reading! i just couldnt put it down. this book was a fantastic read and i would recommend anybody to read this book...Whether or not they were 12 or 90. it was a great read

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Book worm reader

    I love how these kids go through tough times with their father. Read it on my nook and could not put it down! Read this book and rate it stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Entertaining and facinating

    This book was great and should be made into a movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Absolutely awesome!!

    I read this from tne real book but then came back to read it on my Nook. Its really a page-turner. Love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    awsome

    best book ever!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    Amazing!!

    this book was amazing i would definutly recomend it to anyone it could never put this book down it was truly amzing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    good

    this book was amazing!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    best book ever!!!

    Thiss book is a page-turner! The way the author uses details is AMAZING!!! This book is MUST-READ!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    awesome

    this book is so intresting it shows courage and valenty...in a few words its just incredible

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Excellent Read!

    The Great Wide Sea was a great book to read. I thought the way that the story was told through the eyes of the older brother Ben was excellent. This book dealt with issues that young children face everyday. It is a story of how to grieve and how to survive when life throws you curve balls. Ben and his brothers are put to the ultimate test when they have to deal with the death of their mother and then when their dad decides to uproot them and take them on a boat and turns up missing. Seeing how the boys come together to deal with the hand that life has dealt them is amazing. It would motivate any person no matter what age to pick themselves up and live life no matter what the circumstances. It was a great book! I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Sample was ok

    I read the sample ready to buy it but somethinng didnt click does anybody think i should buy this book?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    Wonderful Read!

    This book is like a diamond in rough. I was enthralled by the character development and story. The relationship between these brothers is very tender and believable. The survival element is also fantastic. Absolutely terrific read...couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    Written with thoughtful insight into the relationships between these three brothers, their father and their lost mother. This is also an exciting story of sailing and survival with lots of plot twists along the way. Just an all around great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2008

    BOOK OF BOOKS

    An awe inspiring emotional roller coaster. I am moved at every turn. M.H. Herlong is going to be a legend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    SPOILER ALERT--I loved this book. I'd rank it up there with some

    SPOILER ALERT--I loved this book. I'd rank it up there with some of the great YA books of survival and adventure, like The Island of the Blue Dolphins, that I loved as a kid. And as an adult and a parent, I appreciated it even more than I would have then. There were a few places where I questioned the credibility of some of the details (taking an illegal speargun to the Bahamas, the fact that the dad didn't look harder for his kids, the geographical likelihood that they would have been found, etc.), but I can overlook all of these details because it was such a good story about strength, coming of age, family and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2013

    M.H. Herlong wrote The Great Wide Sea, which sounded like a ph


    M.H. Herlong wrote The Great Wide Sea, which sounded like a phenomenal book.
    The novel was well-written, but was boring in some parts. Much of the book was written in a way that would keep a reader on the edge of their seat.
     Overall,  Herlong wrote a very well rounded book with a relatable message.

         Ben, Gerry, Dylan, and their father have set out on a sailing trip-- a permanent sailing trip.
    Jim, the father, loses his wife to a car accident and decides to sell everything and live on the water.
    The children are devastated, but they don't realize what horrors the water will bring.
    Ben wakes up to find his father gone, a horrible storm hits, and their boat crashes.
     Life doesn't sound so bad for the kids who are parent-less on an island left to do whatever they want.
     That isn't true. Dylan comes face to face with a "death sentence" and Ben has to decide what to do to save his younger brother's life. 
    The way Herlong writes makes the reader connect with the characters and understand their lives better.
     She also writes the novel in a humorous manner that keeps the reader reading, as this dialogue illustrates:
         “What’s up?” I said.
          “Nothing.”
          “I mean what’s wrong?”
         “My leg is broken.”
         “Yeah, I noticed.”
    The excerpt is humorous because it states the obvious.
     Ben obviously knows that Dylan has a broken leg, but he asks what is wrong with Dylan anyway.
     The book has many sad parts as well, mostly referring to the children's mother. 
           “Gerry breathed loudly and slowly. “Dylan,” he said accusingly, “that was a sad story.”
          “Not it’s not. It’s a happy story. It’s about a mom who loved her baby very much.”
          “But she’s gone,” Gerry said in a very little voice.
          “That doesn't mean she loves you any less,” Dylan said.” 

    Ben and his father are in conflict throughout most of the book.
     When their father disappears, Ben thinks he committed suicide because he lost his wife.
     The conflicts are all external, some are character versus character and some are character versus nature.
     When a horrible storm hits, the boys know that they are in a lot of trouble.
     After crashing on the island, Ben and Dylan realize that they don't have enough food to last.
     The boys struggle with nature just to find food and safety from shelter. 

    The novel The Great Wide Sea is overall a very enjoyable book.
     Although some parts of the book were boring, the book would be age appropriate for anyone in the seventh grade or older.
     Some parts in the plot could have been written in a more descriptive manner, but the book was very interesting.
    M.H. Herlong wrote The Great Wide Sea in a manner in which the reader could relate to what was happening.
     Anyone can lose their mother and anyone could live in a boat on the water.
    The fact that the plot and message is relatable made the book that much better. 





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    Momo

    To the person that wanted to know if you should buy it i think u should bc it is really good trust me i am reading it right now so yes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    :)

    This is a very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Im hungry ?

    Im hungry for something funky is anybody else hungry?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Great!

    I recommend this book to anyone and everyone! I really enjoyed it and some parts are really touching. This book has the potential to become a classic, all it needs is a bit more attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3