Customer Reviews for

The Great Wide Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Read

This book was fantastic. full of thrilling storms, Heart break and family. This book kept me up all night reading! i just couldnt put it down. this book was a fantastic read and i would recommend anybody to read this book...Whether or not they were 12 or 90. it was a gr...
This book was fantastic. full of thrilling storms, Heart break and family. This book kept me up all night reading! i just couldnt put it down. this book was a fantastic read and i would recommend anybody to read this book...Whether or not they were 12 or 90. it was a great read

posted by Bookworm8765MC on June 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sample was ok

I read the sample ready to buy it but somethinng didnt click does anybody think i should buy this book?

posted by 5935691 on August 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Entertaining and facinating

    This book was great and should be made into a movie.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    good

    this book was amazing!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    best book ever!!!

    Thiss book is a page-turner! The way the author uses details is AMAZING!!! This book is MUST-READ!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    awesome

    this book is so intresting it shows courage and valenty...in a few words its just incredible

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Excellent Read!

    The Great Wide Sea was a great book to read. I thought the way that the story was told through the eyes of the older brother Ben was excellent. This book dealt with issues that young children face everyday. It is a story of how to grieve and how to survive when life throws you curve balls. Ben and his brothers are put to the ultimate test when they have to deal with the death of their mother and then when their dad decides to uproot them and take them on a boat and turns up missing. Seeing how the boys come together to deal with the hand that life has dealt them is amazing. It would motivate any person no matter what age to pick themselves up and live life no matter what the circumstances. It was a great book! I loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Im hungry ?

    Im hungry for something funky is anybody else hungry?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    Soon after their mother¿s death, 15 year old Ben and his two

    Soon after their mother’s death, 15 year old Ben and his two younger brothers, Dylan and Gerry, are shocked when their father sells their house and uses the money to buy a 30 foot sailboat. Their father drags them away from everything they know to take them on a one year cruise in the Bahamas. Aside from the high tension between Ben and his father, everything goes smoothly until their father decides to sail to the Bermuda Triangle and mysteriously disappears overboard. Lost at sea with a broken GPS and radio and a terrible storm awaiting them, Ben manages to land on an island. With little food and water, the boys must learn how to survive.
    This book was very well written. It had a fast moving plot to keep the readers engaged. Also, the relationship between the father and Ben and the life-or-death situations made this book interesting for any teen reader. However, the book got off to a slow start because I felt the story dragged because the author spent a lot of time describing each place they stopped at on their journey and there wasn’t a lot of action or suspense. At times I became frustrated with the father because of the selfish decisions he made. First he sold the family’s home and bought a boat. Then he decided that the family would cruise the Bahamas for one year without consulting his sons about any of this or considering their feelings. Lastly, their father was very selfish when he didn’t fix the radio or GPS before sailing into the Bermuda.
    However, the second part of the book when the father disappears overboard was exciting, especially when Ben, Dylan and Gerry are sailing through the storm and crash on an island. The life-or-death situations and the brothers’ struggle for survival on a deserted island without their father made the book hard to put down. I particularly admire Ben for the courage he showed by leaving the island to get help for his dying brother Dylan.
    Overall, I think this is a good book and would recommend it to teenagers who like adventure books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Good

    It was a good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    :)

    I havent finished it yet but its realy good so far! Check it out! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1