Customer Reviews for

A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle Trilogy #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(853)

4 Star

(257)

3 Star

(85)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Truly original

Really, I don't say this very often (actually, like once in a blue moon), but this book s truly a masterpiece. Completely original, and haunts you long after the last pages. Excellent for avid readers beyond their age, and even more so for those hopeless romantics and f...
Really, I don't say this very often (actually, like once in a blue moon), but this book s truly a masterpiece. Completely original, and haunts you long after the last pages. Excellent for avid readers beyond their age, and even more so for those hopeless romantics and fantasy-meets-reality lovers.

posted by C4M30.l0k1 on November 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

PG-13

I'm not going to lie to you: I loved this book. You can see it like a movie. It was amazing! Well written. But I put it down when sex started happening. I don't want to read about that! It's disgusting! And in full detail! For those of you who don't mind that, I recomen...
I'm not going to lie to you: I loved this book. You can see it like a movie. It was amazing! Well written. But I put it down when sex started happening. I don't want to read about that! It's disgusting! And in full detail! For those of you who don't mind that, I recomend that, but I really want to warn those who do. Chose the Right.

posted by Anonymous on March 3, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Disappointing

    I couldn't wait for the book to end. Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointing..

    I have to say that it took me a really really long time to finish this book. I read a lot and I should have finished this in 2 days or so. I had to pick it up read something else and then go back to it. I wasn't impressed with it much at all. I would have liked it if it would have been a better read. The characters were easily followed it just was a slow book over all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2010

    letdown..

    my friend suggested this book to me and i was looking forward to reading it. after finishing the book i felt that it was a letdown; the writing was not very good and Libba Bray could've done so much more with the plot. the part where gemma tells ann to stop cutting her wrists was not developed well; it seems like the author just wanted that scene out of her way. but hey, if you want to read it, then be my guest.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2010

    Disappointing

    I read the reviews on this series and was excited to read them. I read a Great and Terrible Beauty and was highly disappointed. I thought the opening was a good start but then it went down hill from there. It was too slow and boring for my taste. When a book is really good, I will read it in a day or two. This was a labor to read and much longer to get through. Nothing in the first book made me want to continue reading the rest of the series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Did Not Get Into It

    Just could not get into this book. It is odd because generally I eat this stuff up. I could not get into the story and I kept thinking I was going to get to the good part and that the end would make up for beginning. But it just never did it for me.

    I have friends who love it though so don't discount it on my word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was entertaining, but not the first book on To Reread list.

    This book served as something to occupy my time. It wasn't very deep or intriguing, but it was to fill time with. I would not every reread this book and I don't think I will read the rest of the series. I was unable to connect with the characters at all.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gothic but not great

    I love books from this era, and I enjoyed the characters. But throughout the book I felt like I was chasing a plot. I might just be used to other books when a character finds out it has certain powers there is usually someone or something to explain or guide you through it. And even though Gemma did get answers, at the end of the book I never really felt like she understood what was going on. I'm hoping there will be more answers in the next book but I'm not in a huge rush to start it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2008

    not what I was hoping for

    This book lacked a few things that I think a good book needs. First there was little explainiation of the magical things. It was hard to understand what in the world was going on or why things happened. It seemed vague, like I should already just know things about the 'realms' or that I should just accept whatever random facts were given about it. The other thing I didn't like was lack of strong characters. Some of the behavior of the girls in the story was questionable. They don't really seem like good role models, any of them, even Gemma, the heroine. There seem to be few remeeming qualities in them. They are selfish, cruel, they lie, steal, drink alchohol and other undesirable things, without any consequences. One review I read somewhere said 'if you like Harry Potter, you'll love this'. Not true!! This and Harry Potter aren't even in the same race. Sorry, but I didn't like this book at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2007

    Ummmm???

    maybe I'm just a party pooper but i thought that the book was not all that good. Gemma was extremely shallow as were her friends I mean why did they even like each other? There wasn't even one really endearing quality to Gemma and her friends like substance, loyalty, or compassion toward each other. The only person I liked was the boy he had a personality. Call me crazy but I tend to like heroes who have oh i dunno some good qualities. I know, I know I'm kookoo for cocoa puffs, and the bad thing is now the 'curiosity killed the cat' senario has taken over and i have to finish the series.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    not that great

    to be quite honest, it all seems quite unrealistic and stupid. my sister conviced me to read it, and I found it so unlikely to ever happen. maybe I lack imagination, but this book was definately not for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2006

    ehh

    i read so many raving reviews, i was so sure that this book would be great.. i was sadly disappointed... it seems to jump from one idea to another, which makes it hard to follow along, and the ending is like a sucker punch--it's sudden and it leaves you unhappy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2