Customer Reviews for

Greater Love (Tides of Truth Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A satisfying conclusion to Whitlow's Tides of Truth trilogy

    I found "Greater Love" to be an intriguing story that focused on one young woman's struggle with living in the world as we know it today, and struggling to keep to her strong religious beliefs that she was brought up with. I was impressed with the character Tami's convictions to hold herself accountable to her faith, and appreciated that Whitlow portrayed this young woman realistically as she found herself having to make hard choices when it came to right and wrong.

    The secondary story of young Jessie Whitewater gave the story the suspense and adventure that it needed to keep readers interested.

    I was frustrated with a few of the secondary characters that featured prominently in Tami's life, such as the smart-mouthed Julie, and the brassy daughter of sweet Mrs. Fairmont. They just irritated me. But in the end, readers could see the growth both of these women made by just knowing and being around Tami, so I understand they were there for a purpose.

    Robert Whitlow wraps up his "Tides of Truth" series with "Greater Love," and gives fans of this series a satisfying conclusion to his characters. I would recommend reading the first two novels in this series, "Deeper Water" and "Higher Hope" in order to get to know the full story of Tami Taylor.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Great book!

    This is a very good book. Would recommend this to anyone who likes reading legal themed books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Fast paced action to open, and concludes with a tug at the heart strings. A young lawyer struggles with her heart in the areas of phileo love, and agape love. A good family based novel, that will touch the deepest pools of a compassionate heart.

    Robert Whitlow did himself a favor by starting out of the gate with a very nice pace. He also closes his novel "Greater Love" with room to expand, and makes way for the possibility of yet another chapter in the lives of his novels characters. I appreciate the legalese of a good John Grisham novel, and Mr. Whitlow didn't quite take me that far in this writing, but the capability of continuing in the adventure of the young lawyer, and her surrounding cast make the intrigue all the more great! Kobe Bryant is not Michael Jordan or Magic Johnson, and Robert Whitlow is not John Grisham, but since the comparison was manifested on the books cover, I am going to have to say this... I didn't get the same spine tingling feel that I do in the setting of a Grisham courtroom thriller, however, I could certainly feel Mr. Whitlow's embrace for Southern hospitality, and family compassion. I could envision Mrs. Fairmonts house, and the atomosphere of family, and home, but didn't feel the same way about the office, and courthouse. This has classic chick flick potential, and I believe that Mr. Whitlow is on to something good!


    To conclude, if you like novels that could lead to chick flick material, then this mid Georgia Christian law novel will be a fine read for you. I gave it 4 stars out of a possible 5.


    The imperfect Christian received a complimentary copy of this book via the Thomas Nelson Publishing Company. The imperfect Christian received no funds for expressing his thoughts at will in his blog.
    <http://preachainheelin/blogspot.com>

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great read

    Robert Whitlow did a great job on this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Amazing Book!!

    What an amazing finish to this trilogy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2010

    Surprisingly wonderful

    Title: Greater Love
    Author: Robert Whitlow
    Publisher: Thomas Nelson
    ISBN: 978-1-59554-450-6
    387 pgs. US $14.97

    Disclaimer: This book was provided to me by Booksneeze.com. No compensation was asked for nor accepted in exchange for this review.

    Synopsis:
    "As the storm clouds gather, Tami does her best to weather the growing turbulence in every area of her life.

    She's just accepted a job with a law firm but now wonders if she made the right decision. She has two strong men vying for her heart - and is about to lose them both if she can't determine which one is right for her.

    And Tami's new case is anything but simple. When she first meets her prospective client, she immediately knows the rough young teen is lying, guilty . and utterly terrified of something beyond the charges she's facing. What she doesn't realize is just how far reaching the effects of the case will go. Or how close to home the deadly results will hit. For by the time the storm breaks, someone close to Tami will have paid the ultimate price.

    Through it all, Tami will experience greater sacrifice, greater friendship, and greater love than she's ever known."

    My thoughts:
    I got this novel through Booksneeze.com and it wasn't until I'd received and started reading it that I realized it was book three of a series. Can you imagine how lost that made me?

    Nevertheless, I was genuinely touched by the trials young Tami faced and the courage in which she showed by pushing through. Her unwavering faith and strength were an inspiration.

    It's like a breath of fresh air when you actually see others face trials and tribulations that you, yourself have gone through. You know you're not alone and confirmation that everyone makes mistakes seems to make the everyday load more bearable.

    It's been a long time since I've read a spiritual novel, and I wasn't let down with Mr. Whitlow's wonderful writing. He combines the suspenseful with the spiritual and together they make an unforgettable story.

    I enjoyed Greater Love so much, that I am now on the search for the two previous books in this series, Deep Water and Higher Hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Good Book

    Greater Love is the third book in the Tides of Truth series of Robert Whitlow. It is about a young lawyer named Tami and her passionate pursuit of truth in matters of life and the law.

    A legal novel, love story and a book about faith rolled into one. If you don't mind reading a novel on a first person's point of view, you'll find this novel as a good read. I suggest that you read the first two books though because there are times when you feel that you missed something - probably, a character's background earlier mentioned in the first two books.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2