Customer Reviews for

The Greatest Generation: With DVD

Average Rating 4
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

As an 18-year-old, I finally understand.

I first started reading this book as an assignment for my Senior English Class in a small town in Minnesota. As I began reading, I realized that I no longer cared about the class, or my grade, but that I NEEDED to read this book for me. I do not think our generation u...
I first started reading this book as an assignment for my Senior English Class in a small town in Minnesota. As I began reading, I realized that I no longer cared about the class, or my grade, but that I NEEDED to read this book for me. I do not think our generation understands. The men and women who lived during WWII and the Depression have so many untold stories. The men that fought for so many things are heroes, not only to me, but to so many people. I truly wish my generation could feel what I feel when I read this book and maybe we wouldn't take so many things for granted. One would think after Sept. 11th, our strong patriotism would have lasted for more than a year... now I'm starting to wonder what it would be like if the WWII generation hadn't been so consumed with the love of their country. Where would we be?

posted by Anonymous on April 27, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Decent writing, faulty conclusions

This was a fairly well written, easy to read book. I have to disagree with the conclusion that there could even be a 'Greatest' generation. Yes, these people accomplished a lot. They paved the way for many economic and social advances in the future. But, it seems a ...
This was a fairly well written, easy to read book. I have to disagree with the conclusion that there could even be a 'Greatest' generation. Yes, these people accomplished a lot. They paved the way for many economic and social advances in the future. But, it seems a little silly taking credit for what amounts to being born at that time. I cannot believe that any generation can actually be objectively determined to be greater than any other. This generation could well be remembered for giving us Japanese internment camps, Strom Thurmond, continued rampant segregation and discrimination(a gift from all past generations), the cold war, as well as nuclear paranoia. But, is it fair to pin the blame on a generation for these problems? No more so than to credit them for living when they did. Each generation can merely react to situations in which they find themselves. I refuse to believe that the exploits of this generation could be considered anything but equal with those of our founding fathers. My generation would be unable to carry on without the contributions of the baby boomers(both good and bad) and likewise they owe a debt to those who came before them. That is the natural progression of things. Perhaps in some idyllic Utopian future there will be world peace, no poverty, and true equality for all. Would that be the updated 'greatest' generation? Each genration can only be the product of its predecessors and nothing else. We do not exactly turn into our parents, only updated versions of them. We must realize that each generation gets one chance, and each generation tries to make the best of it. We get to reap the benefit of recorded history, and write our own as well. Inevitable development in technology, medicine and other sciences, as well as accrued life experiences leave us constantly adhering to an old maxim. Every generation considers itself smarter than the one that came before it, and wiser than the one that follows.

posted by Anonymous on April 9, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2004

    As an 18-year-old, I finally understand.

    I first started reading this book as an assignment for my Senior English Class in a small town in Minnesota. As I began reading, I realized that I no longer cared about the class, or my grade, but that I NEEDED to read this book for me. I do not think our generation understands. The men and women who lived during WWII and the Depression have so many untold stories. The men that fought for so many things are heroes, not only to me, but to so many people. I truly wish my generation could feel what I feel when I read this book and maybe we wouldn't take so many things for granted. One would think after Sept. 11th, our strong patriotism would have lasted for more than a year... now I'm starting to wonder what it would be like if the WWII generation hadn't been so consumed with the love of their country. Where would we be?

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    The Greatest Generation that doesn't want the acknowledgement...

    This is a novel about a group of people who fought for their country and are now called the Greatest Generation. They are the Greatest Generation and they are humble about it. I am very interested in World War II. About the culture, the war itself, and the people. If you want to understand the people that fought for us in WW II this is the book to read. I highly recommend it. Thank you to the Greatest Generation. In our world today we draw from the strength that you showed in our Country's time of need. It is time for my generation to stand up and do what you did then.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2004

    Decent writing, faulty conclusions

    This was a fairly well written, easy to read book. I have to disagree with the conclusion that there could even be a 'Greatest' generation. Yes, these people accomplished a lot. They paved the way for many economic and social advances in the future. But, it seems a little silly taking credit for what amounts to being born at that time. I cannot believe that any generation can actually be objectively determined to be greater than any other. This generation could well be remembered for giving us Japanese internment camps, Strom Thurmond, continued rampant segregation and discrimination(a gift from all past generations), the cold war, as well as nuclear paranoia. But, is it fair to pin the blame on a generation for these problems? No more so than to credit them for living when they did. Each generation can merely react to situations in which they find themselves. I refuse to believe that the exploits of this generation could be considered anything but equal with those of our founding fathers. My generation would be unable to carry on without the contributions of the baby boomers(both good and bad) and likewise they owe a debt to those who came before them. That is the natural progression of things. Perhaps in some idyllic Utopian future there will be world peace, no poverty, and true equality for all. Would that be the updated 'greatest' generation? Each genration can only be the product of its predecessors and nothing else. We do not exactly turn into our parents, only updated versions of them. We must realize that each generation gets one chance, and each generation tries to make the best of it. We get to reap the benefit of recorded history, and write our own as well. Inevitable development in technology, medicine and other sciences, as well as accrued life experiences leave us constantly adhering to an old maxim. Every generation considers itself smarter than the one that came before it, and wiser than the one that follows.

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    A 'Must-Read' for Generation X

    This is a great book to bridge the gap and fill in the behind-the-scenes of why our Moms and Dads, and Grandfathers and Grandmothers, should be respected. As Caesar said when crossing the Rubicon, 'alea jacta est' (the die is cast), which can also serve as a guide that persons are sometimes thrust into situations not of their choosing, but they have to see the situation to its end. That was the situation with our forebears in WW2. We are proud of their response, and this book shows a close-in analysis of why we won the war. Because of a united home front of ordinary dads and moms. Thanks, Tom Brokaw. PS...my dad flew with the 8th Air Force (30 combat missions) over Nazi Germany from 43-44. He did not like to talk about it very much, but I am sure he would have liked your book very much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    The greatest book on 'The Greatest Generation'

    A tremendous commentary. Born in 1954 I am an offspring of this generation. This book helped me understand the firm rules my parents had for me and four other siblings. Sad to say we are losing these values today. It renewed my committment to raise my own two children as I was raised. I wish I could have read this while my veteran father was still alive. I appreciate his honor and hard work for us all the more. Thank you Tom Brokaw for paying a well deserved tribute.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2001

    THANKS MR. BROKAW

    Thanks Mr. Brokaw. You have really made my late father's stories about his generation come alive again in my heart. God Bless You

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2000

    ***** Five Stars All The Way *****

    I wholeheartedly agree with Mr Brokaw that this was THE GREATEST GENERATION America has ever produced! I was moved to tears on many occasions while reading this fine piece of literature! Both my parents though now deceased were part of Mr Brokaw's GREASTEST GENERATION, and this piece of work has brought me to yet a deeper love and understanding of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Could of been five stars

    Five stars for those who are featured in the book, who actually came thru the great depression, and fought the war. Too much political bias by Tom Brokaw, which should'nt of belong in this type of book. There were some story's of people that did'nt belong with those who actually struggled and then fought. Some of those people shared the same political beliefs as Brokaw, so they were feature. Could of been a much more uplifting book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Really an interesting and thoughtful review

    Got it for my husband who has been a guardian on the Villages Honor Flight. He has loved every minute of the read. The history is wonderful and having lost an uncle in WWII it is even more of a story for him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Greatest Generation

    A terrific look at the lives of people during and immediately after WWII. This should be mandatory reading for every student today in an effort to teach them how the people of this country used to take pride in self-reliance and making a better life for themselves and their families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Heartwarming-Worth Reading

    Tom Brokaw's "folksy" personna is the perfect vehicle for the telling the stories of the Greatest Generation. Heartwarming, harrowing and tragic...each story is a tribute to the bravery of the generation who fought for freedom and those who stayed home and saw the lives that they once knew disappear in a sea of change. I finished the book wondering if a new generation faced these challenges what the outcome would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Great and Easy Read for those ages 14 and up!

    The Greatest Generation Speaks is a collection of memories from those that served in World War II. There are sections that look back at times of victory as well as times of grief. Also included are sections that reflect on the roles of women and those different ethnicities during this period of turmoin and growth in America.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Great rrad

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Great history lesson

    I am of the generation that Mr. Brokaw wrote about. Even though we had two world wars, it was still better than today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Good tribute

    I love this book! A gear and much needed tribute to the greatest generation. Would recommend many times over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2010

    A Much Needed Tribute

    I enjoyed this book a great deal and have purchased it as a gift for others. It's a touching and realistic look at the men and women who served our country without a second thought and became heroes to me. The pains of war are lifelong and it gave me such a great appreciation for those of the Greatest Generation. They truly were and are just that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I very much enjoyed...

    Tom Brokaws book "The Greatest Generation". As a Granddaughter to a WWII vetran I never heard my Grandfather speak much of his time in the war. From what I read in this book that was common amongst those who served at that time. After his passing I began to learn things from old photos papers and web sites. This book was a look into that time, and the people the war affected. I found the short stories interesting and I would seriously reccomend it!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Tedious, Misses the Mark Badly

    I began this book with real anticipation and grew increasingly disappointed as I realized Brokaw missed a golden opportunity. While his preface is eloquent and his postscript touching, the chapters in between are little more than a collection of superficial profiles reminiscent of small-town newspaper features. Insight is lacking--the author stays safely in the shallow end of the pool at all times--and the book is so politically correct as to bring yawns to any reader. It's unfortunate. A big name guarantees publication, and Brokaw does a bit better than most celebrities--but he sorely missed a chance to do something great with the greatest generation. Given the resources available to the author, it's hard to believe he didn't.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    A History Buff's Must-Read

    As the grandson of a WWII veteran, I have read this book cover to cover a half dozen times & each time convices me even more that Brokaw nailed the historical accuracy of this book. My congratulations go out to Brokaw for setting the record straight.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2004

    Required Reading

    Should be required reading for all middle school or high school students' history class!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3