Customer Reviews for

The Greatest Knight

Average Rating 4
( 1076 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(421)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(159)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

THE GREATEST KNIGHT Elizabeth Chadwick

This is a wonderful story of William Marshall, a Knight with King Richard.
I did not know much about this period of English history and this book was
very informative. William Marshall was definitely a MAN OF HONOR. He kept his word to whomever it was given. He was a ...
This is a wonderful story of William Marshall, a Knight with King Richard.
I did not know much about this period of English history and this book was
very informative. William Marshall was definitely a MAN OF HONOR. He kept his word to whomever it was given. He was a personal friend of Eleanor of Aquataine. He is later accused of having an affair with the Princess/wife of the young king. Later in life he marries Isabella, a duchess, mainly for her lands. But he falls in love with her and they have a most unusual relationship for this period of time. The follow-up book is THE SCARLET LION. I will be reading it very soon.

posted by crimekitty763 on April 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

83 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Fairy tales aren't history

If you like fairy tales this is the book for you. If you are looking for good historical fiction, pass this by. Ms. Chadwick, I realize is writing fiction, but she has failed to research her facts about the man, and the times. For instance, William's father's name wa...
If you like fairy tales this is the book for you. If you are looking for good historical fiction, pass this by. Ms. Chadwick, I realize is writing fiction, but she has failed to research her facts about the man, and the times. For instance, William's father's name was not Marshal. Marshal was a title, his father's name was John Fitz Gilbert. The name Marshal was not granted to William as a sir name until later in his life and was never given to his father.

Ms. Chadwwick tells of Elanor of Aquitain riding side saddle. The side saddle was not invented until several centuries later. Perhaps that is a minor issue, however, I believe if you are writing historical fiction, you should be sure of your history.

posted by RebeccaWrede on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1081 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55
  • Posted September 7, 2010

    Fairy tales aren't history

    If you like fairy tales this is the book for you. If you are looking for good historical fiction, pass this by. Ms. Chadwick, I realize is writing fiction, but she has failed to research her facts about the man, and the times. For instance, William's father's name was not Marshal. Marshal was a title, his father's name was John Fitz Gilbert. The name Marshal was not granted to William as a sir name until later in his life and was never given to his father.

    Ms. Chadwwick tells of Elanor of Aquitain riding side saddle. The side saddle was not invented until several centuries later. Perhaps that is a minor issue, however, I believe if you are writing historical fiction, you should be sure of your history.

    83 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    The Greatest Knight

    This is an extremely well written book by an amazing author. It fills us in on the first 40~ years of Williams life. The second half, and a stand alone novel in its own, is the Scarlet lion.
    It may have some small historic inaccuracies as previously notes, but it is an absolute page turner, no effort required!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    THE GREATEST KNIGHT Elizabeth Chadwick

    This is a wonderful story of William Marshall, a Knight with King Richard.
    I did not know much about this period of English history and this book was
    very informative. William Marshall was definitely a MAN OF HONOR. He kept his word to whomever it was given. He was a personal friend of Eleanor of Aquataine. He is later accused of having an affair with the Princess/wife of the young king. Later in life he marries Isabella, a duchess, mainly for her lands. But he falls in love with her and they have a most unusual relationship for this period of time. The follow-up book is THE SCARLET LION. I will be reading it very soon.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Oops

    Sorry but the review that states the author was wrong about the father and son titles is not true. The Title Marshal was recieved while his father was working for king stephen and passes onto the eldest son. So i guess you shouldnt accuse others of not researching well enough

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Chivalry at it's best!

    This was my first Elizabeth Chadwick read and it will not be my last. I immensely enjoyed this book. The story of William Marshal was a page turner. Chivalry at it's best!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    LOVED his book!

    I'm a big fan of medieval history and historical fiction, and I've come across references to William Marshal in many books. It was wonderful to read his story. Well-written, and so interesting that I started reading "The Scarlet Lion", the end of Marshal's story, as soon as I finished this book. That was terrific, too!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    William Marshal

    A very exciting, fast paced read. Could'nt put the book down.
    Was sorry it had to end, but wait a minute, this is first in a series yea!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it

    Great book if you enjoy this time period. Looking forward to readind Chadwicks newest book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Historical fiction readers must read

    Elizabeth Chadwick developes this characteer so well that I didn't want the book to end. I am currently reading the sequel Scarlet Lion.
    It is set in the late 1100 through early 1200's in England, Ireland, and France; portraying the wars and court intrigue of the brother Kings Henry, Richard, and John as they fight for power and land maniipulating The Greatest Knight each in their turn.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Good Historical Fiction

    I typically read about queens and kings, this was refreshing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    Wonderful book! Go for it!

    Elizabeth Chadwick puts the reader right in medieval England with her eye for historical detail and and believable historical characters. She is a great story teller who brings to vivid life a turbulent period in English history. Her book is a must read for anyone who likes historical fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Good book

    I enjoyed this book. I am a diverse reader and enjoy period novels, but I felt like this book took me along time to read. I loved the character development, but I felt like the middle got muddeled with non important characters... I will read the second book, but I wont have the expectations of a "can't put it down" book. All in all was a good book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Well worth reading.

    Interesting and does a good job helping the reader feel a part of the story. Occasionally gets stuck in somewhat slow detail, but overall very enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    A Little Boring

    This book was promising at the start but I ended uprapidlyscanning the last 1/3 of the book because I was ready for it to be over.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This was a free book and not sure what I was getting.
    Turns out I got a great book. A well told story about The Greatest Knight. After finishing reading this book I googled the Knight and was fascinated with how aligned the book I had just read was with history.
    I don't normally read this type of book but am glad I did and recommend it to others.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great historical biography

    I wasn't real sure I would like this book when I downloaded. It was fantastic reading with adventure that keeps one on thier seat. Hard to put down book. I love history and I love biographies. This is combined in this book. I have read some about William Marshall and most was dry reading. Elizabthe Chadwick makes it fun reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great read is you want to escape to a long lost age when some knights were bold and others vilains

    If you're looking for a few evenings of escape from the "real" world into an age when Kings fought for their kingdoms and there were good bold knights who struggled against tremendous odds and won, then by all means, this is a great read.
    You will get a different view of Richard the Lion Hearted and his brother who inspired the Magna Carta. You may want to check out Lion in Winter after your done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    440 pages

    440 Pages of awesomeness. Loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    Interesting

    Good story giving one a feel for the Middle Ages and the history of France and England during the Norman period. (I had some problems with the Nook Color showing some pages and I had to go forward and then page back to get the right pages. Maybe this is due to the book's formatting or my Nook going on the blink?) I especially like the characterizations.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1081 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 55