Customer Reviews for

Greatest Knight: The Unsung Story of the Queen's Champion

Average Rating 4
( 1074 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(419)

4 Star

(330)

3 Star

(159)

2 Star

(81)

1 Star

(85)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

The Greatest Knight

This is an extremely well written book by an amazing author. It fills us in on the first 40~ years of Williams life. The second half, and a stand alone novel in its own, is the Scarlet lion.
It may have some small historic inaccuracies as previously notes, but it is a...
This is an extremely well written book by an amazing author. It fills us in on the first 40~ years of Williams life. The second half, and a stand alone novel in its own, is the Scarlet lion.
It may have some small historic inaccuracies as previously notes, but it is an absolute page turner, no effort required!

posted by Ayriana on August 8, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

83 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

Fairy tales aren't history

If you like fairy tales this is the book for you. If you are looking for good historical fiction, pass this by. Ms. Chadwick, I realize is writing fiction, but she has failed to research her facts about the man, and the times. For instance, William's father's name wa...
If you like fairy tales this is the book for you. If you are looking for good historical fiction, pass this by. Ms. Chadwick, I realize is writing fiction, but she has failed to research her facts about the man, and the times. For instance, William's father's name was not Marshal. Marshal was a title, his father's name was John Fitz Gilbert. The name Marshal was not granted to William as a sir name until later in his life and was never given to his father.

Ms. Chadwwick tells of Elanor of Aquitain riding side saddle. The side saddle was not invented until several centuries later. Perhaps that is a minor issue, however, I believe if you are writing historical fiction, you should be sure of your history.

posted by RebeccaWrede on September 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Oops

    Sorry but the review that states the author was wrong about the father and son titles is not true. The Title Marshal was recieved while his father was working for king stephen and passes onto the eldest son. So i guess you shouldnt accuse others of not researching well enough

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Chivalry at it's best!

    This was my first Elizabeth Chadwick read and it will not be my last. I immensely enjoyed this book. The story of William Marshal was a page turner. Chivalry at it's best!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Loved it

    Great book if you enjoy this time period. Looking forward to readind Chadwicks newest book

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Good Historical Fiction

    I typically read about queens and kings, this was refreshing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Well worth reading.

    Interesting and does a good job helping the reader feel a part of the story. Occasionally gets stuck in somewhat slow detail, but overall very enjoyable.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    Great read is you want to escape to a long lost age when some knights were bold and others vilains

    If you're looking for a few evenings of escape from the "real" world into an age when Kings fought for their kingdoms and there were good bold knights who struggled against tremendous odds and won, then by all means, this is a great read.
    You will get a different view of Richard the Lion Hearted and his brother who inspired the Magna Carta. You may want to check out Lion in Winter after your done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Absolutely Chivalrous

    In an age of social media and complex instant communication, it's easy to forget just how much sway a person's words could hold. Excellent snapshot of the politics of the day with some adventure thrown in.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    True Telling of an Unsung Hero

    I absolutely loved this book. Based on a historical person and carefully researched, this telling of a true hero's tale captivated me from the first chapter. Beautifully written, this is one of the few I'd be delighted to read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good historical read!

    I read "To Defy A King" before I got to this one and even though I read them out of sequence it was still a great read.

    The historical feel is almost overwheming at times - you really get a sense of "being there" and experiencing the small things from the smell of cooking food to the feel of the bedstraw.

    The violence happens for the most part off-screen and you're not inundated for page after page of battle scenes - but you do get enough to give you a sense of this dangerous time where alliances could be made and broken within hours and being politically adept was as necessary a skill as being good with a sword.

    Looking forward to working my way through the rest of Ms Chadwick's books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    Fun Read!

    This book was a fun read. The characters are likable and the story is well told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Great book

    I am really not into these kind of books, it was free, and i downloaded it. I am so glad i did. Was very good, i couldn't put it down. Recommend it highly. Is long very full of detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Goostory Good Story

    Well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Well done

    This book was a wonderful read! I loved the characters and the pace kept my interest. Can't wait to read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    I¿ve heard so many good things about Elizabeth Chadwick, and I w

    I’ve heard so many good things about Elizabeth Chadwick, and I was thrilled when I saw a Nook promotion offering this book for 99 cents. This is the story of William Marshal, referred to by many of this book’s reviewers as “the greatest hero you’ve never heard of,” and his life as a knight in the service of the Plantagenet kings from 1167-1194.

    The story begins when William is a child, sent as a hostage to King Stephen for his father’s treachery. From these humble beginnings, William trains as a knight and experiences a swift rise in the royal court. Eleanor of Aquitaine takes a liking to him, and appoints him as a tutor for her son, Henry. William serves the Plantagenet family with unshakable allegiance, sometimes against his better judgment and at the expense of his own interests. He learns that a man can make enemies without intending it, and he is not above accusations of treason even with a lifetime of loyal service to speak for him. There is a lot of ground to cover here in the disputes between King Henry and his sons, and this story could have been laborious or repetitive in less capable hands, but Chadwick’s writing was crisp, and the pace was excellent.

    One of my favorite aspects of the book was Chadwick’s treatment of the relationship between William and his brother, John. There has been tension between the two for their whole lives, and it only grows as they pledge their support for different princes. I found their relationship deep, strained, and incredibly believable. It’s obvious that Chadwick really knows the medieval period. I enjoyed the fact that all the details about clothes, food, music, and day-to-day life were present, and I never felt like Chadwick was trying to beat me over the head with all her research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Bookworm

    Very exciting. It felt like I was right there with William (anyone who has read this knows why I didn't day Wiil) the who time. I love how much he respected women and his idea. I said it was a four star book because there was not enough Olde English in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Another excellent read

    I enjoy the way the author pulls you into the story of the characters. This is the second one of her books I've read and I'm lookiing forward to another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2012

    Awesome story! Great for history lovers and romantics.

    This is an awesome story, well written and full of intrigue. If you want to know how the romantic and storied chivalrous knight was born and bred, the story of William Marshall is the DNA. I loved the historical presentation and the underlying love of truth and honor presented by the life lived by Marshall. His actions, right and wrong, made him solid and believable.
    My Grandmother has worked on our genealogy for decades. I loved seeing some of my own history before America was even a notion referenced occasionally in these pages.
    Again AWESOME STORY - THE GREATEST KNIGHT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Light reading, very interesting about the history/myth of king Richard's court, the time of Nottingham. Great read, very enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good read

    A little slow to start but worth hanging in there. It is a different look at the life of a knight. I do recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    Would highly recommend!

    It was a good book all about a knight who served under many Kings and one Queen. He always seemed to put the needs of others before his own. Even his happiness was put aside for the happiness of those he served.

    This is a fascinating book for anyone who enjoys historical novels. It has something for everyone: romance, drama, and plenty of royalty. It reminded me of the movie "Robin Hood" with Errol Flynn, because some of the characters in this book also appear in the movie. This was the second book in the series, but it isn't necessary to read the first book to understand this one. I started to read this one, and didn't realize until I was already into this book, that there was another one before it.

    I would recommend this author to anyone looking for a historical novel that would appeal to a broad audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 330 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 17