Customer Reviews for

The Greatest Salesman In The World

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

the greatest salesman

The novel ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a story about a wealthy business man (Hafid) and the secret behind his success. As he shares this long-kept secret to his trusted wealth keeper (Erasmus), he travels back to his childhood as a camel boy of a very success...
The novel ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a story about a wealthy business man (Hafid) and the secret behind his success. As he shares this long-kept secret to his trusted wealth keeper (Erasmus), he travels back to his childhood as a camel boy of a very successful salesman (Pathros), eager to be just like him. His master sees the passion in his eyes and gives him the chance to sell a silk robe in the poorest city in the country, Jerusalem. As he travels to Jerusalem filled with confidence and enthusiasm, he goes through an event in his life that will lead to his success. Although he failed to sell the robe, his master gives him the scrolls that contain the virtues and principles that will change his life forever. Og Mandino presents his main character Hafid, as a man of principles, humble and down to earth. Despite of his riches, he lives life without greed and without pleasure to the earthly materials. He lives a priceless life because of his values and principles. Hafid is a representation of Og Mandino¿s beliefs on how to live a worthy life. ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a compilation of different virtues that will lead the readers to betterment. Almost half of the book talks about the scrolls and what are in it. All the messages in the scrolls lead to one theme statement: Making one¿s life better starts with making one¿s self better. Every scroll discusses one value that opens a path to a better life. It talks about reaching one¿s highest dreams, taking risks and facing life¿s challenges, self- discipline, maintaining a positive attitude towards life, understanding one¿s strengths and weaknesses, embracing self- identity and taking initiative. All these messages inspire the readers to have a better self image and that leads to a better life. Og Mandino¿s writing style is very clear, simple and has appositive perception about life. His religion and beliefs have a major effect in his writing style. He uses them as the foundation of the novel. For example the setting of the novel is the time prior to Christianity. ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a novel filled with spirituality and a much needed moral that inspires self-promotion. He uses profound words, phrase and sentences especially in the part where he discusses the scrolls, which made life¿s principles very clear and inspiring to the readers. He also uses different figure of speech such as personification and rhetorical question that contributes to the novel¿s effectiveness. Some examples are: ¿Time teaches all things to he who lives forever but I have not the luxury of eternity¿ and ¿And how will this be accomplished?¿ Behavior modification to improve the quality of life is the main point of this book. Mandino tells the readers to identify the actions that will lead to the desired results. Putting the right thoughts to one¿s mind leads to proper action. This book takes you on a journey to the heart and soul of the creative force underlying each of our lives. It will give you a greater understanding and appreciation of the nature of human existence. The principles outlined in this book will help you become your most authentic self. This book transformed the way I look at the world and myself. It has given me a new appreciation for how amazing life can be if you have the courage to change your bad habits and improve the good ones. This should not be a read and forget book, but it should be taken seriously because it can teach you life long lessons about values that will make you someone that everyone likes. I highly recommend this book to anyone seeking a person within themselves and a life worth living.

posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

collection of truisms disguised as a fable

I read this book after hearing again and again how awesome it was. I was disappointed, I guess, because I expected more than a collection of truisms disguised as a fable. The message of the book may be summed up thusly: form good habits, have a positive mental attitud...
I read this book after hearing again and again how awesome it was. I was disappointed, I guess, because I expected more than a collection of truisms disguised as a fable. The message of the book may be summed up thusly: form good habits, have a positive mental attitude, work hard, capitalize on your uniqueness, and pray for guidance. I just don't think a collection of common sense is really worth going out of your way to read. Maybe I can write a best selling business book, 'A Penny Saved Is A Penny Earned....'

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    the greatest salesman

    The novel ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a story about a wealthy business man (Hafid) and the secret behind his success. As he shares this long-kept secret to his trusted wealth keeper (Erasmus), he travels back to his childhood as a camel boy of a very successful salesman (Pathros), eager to be just like him. His master sees the passion in his eyes and gives him the chance to sell a silk robe in the poorest city in the country, Jerusalem. As he travels to Jerusalem filled with confidence and enthusiasm, he goes through an event in his life that will lead to his success. Although he failed to sell the robe, his master gives him the scrolls that contain the virtues and principles that will change his life forever. Og Mandino presents his main character Hafid, as a man of principles, humble and down to earth. Despite of his riches, he lives life without greed and without pleasure to the earthly materials. He lives a priceless life because of his values and principles. Hafid is a representation of Og Mandino¿s beliefs on how to live a worthy life. ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a compilation of different virtues that will lead the readers to betterment. Almost half of the book talks about the scrolls and what are in it. All the messages in the scrolls lead to one theme statement: Making one¿s life better starts with making one¿s self better. Every scroll discusses one value that opens a path to a better life. It talks about reaching one¿s highest dreams, taking risks and facing life¿s challenges, self- discipline, maintaining a positive attitude towards life, understanding one¿s strengths and weaknesses, embracing self- identity and taking initiative. All these messages inspire the readers to have a better self image and that leads to a better life. Og Mandino¿s writing style is very clear, simple and has appositive perception about life. His religion and beliefs have a major effect in his writing style. He uses them as the foundation of the novel. For example the setting of the novel is the time prior to Christianity. ¿The Greatest Salesman in the World¿ is a novel filled with spirituality and a much needed moral that inspires self-promotion. He uses profound words, phrase and sentences especially in the part where he discusses the scrolls, which made life¿s principles very clear and inspiring to the readers. He also uses different figure of speech such as personification and rhetorical question that contributes to the novel¿s effectiveness. Some examples are: ¿Time teaches all things to he who lives forever but I have not the luxury of eternity¿ and ¿And how will this be accomplished?¿ Behavior modification to improve the quality of life is the main point of this book. Mandino tells the readers to identify the actions that will lead to the desired results. Putting the right thoughts to one¿s mind leads to proper action. This book takes you on a journey to the heart and soul of the creative force underlying each of our lives. It will give you a greater understanding and appreciation of the nature of human existence. The principles outlined in this book will help you become your most authentic self. This book transformed the way I look at the world and myself. It has given me a new appreciation for how amazing life can be if you have the courage to change your bad habits and improve the good ones. This should not be a read and forget book, but it should be taken seriously because it can teach you life long lessons about values that will make you someone that everyone likes. I highly recommend this book to anyone seeking a person within themselves and a life worth living.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    A MUST READ FOR ALL AGES & WALKS OF LIFE!

    The Greatest Salesman in the World was recommended to me by a friend. I purchased the book's' both PT. I & II on Friday and by Monday I had completed Pt. I, had passed it on to a loved one and was half way through with Pt.II. This is a Excellent Duo WONDERFULY written about the principals of life and if you allow yourself the opportunity it just may change your life for the better! Highly recommended for all readers and all walks of life. Five Stars!!!!! This Book is Priceless!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Changed my life

    The book is written in an amazing way. The story is great and the flow and teaching are superb. The scrolls truly hold the keys to massive success in all walks of life. The one that hit me was 'Without love for others, you will never be anything more than a peddler in the marketplace' I had a vision of a cheezy, slick salesman type, peddling garbage to tourists, and each sale is a notch in his belt, he could care less about you, he wants the sale. Really helped me to change my heart and look to love others and that has added to my success in business, beyond, the 'Create a win win situation' This book is deep and powerful. God Bless

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2005

    You won't regret reading The Greatest Salesman in the World

    This book covers a wide range of questions people need to have answered. It also gives priceless advice on how to live your life. I wouldn't give the words back for anything. This is a book that everyone should read. Your life won't be the same after you read it. It will ultimately make you a better person.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    Wonderful!

    I read this book over 15 years ago. And today I'm writing this review. The contents of this book affected me so much that it has stayed with me ever since. To this day I refer people to it. How important is this book? Well., do you remember what you read 15 years ago?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2006

    A remarkable book

    I first found this book while being a substitute teacher in a school library in Houston ten years ago. After a short review I requested this book from the librarian. I read it and started to practice principles taught in the book. It was my first motivational book. Since, I had read many good writers but no other writer had the impact and impression left by the Greatest Salesman in the world. I have also embarked on a journey of success and am completing my doctoral degree in few months.I work as a top administrator in institution of higher learning. The fond memories of OG made me a fan of him forever. I was saddned by the news of him passing over. I would certainly like to visit his memorial in New york and pay a tribute to the hero of classical work one day. I think all those who are waiting for the success MUST read 'The Greatest Salesman in the World'. I thank you Og for bringing to life the works of the ancients for guidance. M. Qasim Ph.D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2005

    One of the Classic Business Parables

    For those who enjoy classic business parables like the 'The Richest Man in Babylon' by George Clayson, 'The Baron Son' by Vicky Therese Davis, and 'The Alchemist' by Paolo Coelo, they will certainly find interest in 'The Greatest Salesman in World.' Like the other works, it has been translated around the world and brought joy to the hearts of many. 'The Greatest Salesman in the World' is the first, and by far the best, in Og Mandino's trilogy including 'The Greatest Secret in the World' and 'The Greatest Miracle in the World.' As the title would imply, it is the ancient story of the world's greatest salesperson whose passes on his secrets of success by bequeathing ten scrolls to his protégé. The Scroll Marked I, Today I begin a new life - Form good habits and become their slaves. The Scroll Marked II, I will greet this day with love in my heart - Show love and compassion to the world and you shall find it returned. The Scroll Marked III, I will persist until I succeed - Persistence will bring you success. The Scroll Marked IV, I am nature's greatest miracle - Love yourself. The Scroll Marked V, I will live this day as if it is my last - Seize the day. The Scroll Marked VI, I will be the master of my emotions - Live courageously and do not fall victim to fear and disappointment. The Scroll Marked VII, I will laugh at the world - Appreciate each situation and do not life too seriously. The Scroll Marked VIII, Today I will multiply my value hundred fold - Find ways to create value for others in your exchanges. The Scroll Marked IX, I will act now - Act decisive to achieve success. The Scroll Marked X, I will pray for guidance - Renew yourself through a connection with God. In summary, it is an inspirational story that is wonderfully told in a spiritual and principled tone that you will be sure to enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2003

    A must read for any Christian in Business

    Books have in the past changed the way I thought, but NEVER had a book changed the way I acted -- until I read Og Mandino. This book should be on every Christian's bookshelf!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Great Business Lessons

    Classic

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    !

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    This is a LIFE book, not only for sales

    If you want to Give yourself a breath of fresh air and really refresh yourself and remind yourself about your values, this book will help you do all of the above.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    Best read!

    Great book! Og Mandino's best. Buy it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Follow the book

    Step by step, and your world will be changed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    HIGH Recommendation

    Uplifting and life changing - if you let it. Simple rules to follow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    The greatest salesman

    Awesome empowering must read and incorporate the passages in your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    I would consider this a must read for anyone working with people and wishing to find the secret to success! A great read, a must to own.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    Must Read!

    Not only did the book teach me life lessons it also got me into reading. I will forever be greatful for this book. I have purchased this book 20 times, and to this day I don't have a copy for myself. I look forward to reading it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2003

    The Greatest Story in the World

    I couldn't put it down! Super! I never have an old copy of this book in my house because I am constantly giving my copies to friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2000

    The overall best sales/life training manual

    I have trained hundreds of salespersons in years past and I just recently finished this book. Having read hundreds of sales/self help books I from this point on will recommend Og's book as the #1 first read for any new sales agent in the future regardless of religious background. I have never read a book that summarizes the basics more accurately and clearly than this book. What more can I say! GREAT WORK!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2000

    THE BEST BOOK IN THE WORLD!

    I was at a low point in my life when a blessed friend gave this to me as a 'farewell' gift. Once I started to read it, I could not put it down. The words contained within the book inspired more than one could ever have imagined. I will read it through again this weekend and many to come. You cannot read this book without being able to say, about anything, I CAN GET THROUGH THIS WITH MY OWN HELP. A MUST HAVE & A MUST READ. If only every adolescent in the US could have a copy of this book and really read it now while they have so many years ahead of them. Guns and violence may not ever have to come into play into their lives or schools.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3