BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Green: The Beginning and the End (Circle Series #0)

Average Rating 4.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thomas of Hunter lives on!

I totally geeked out when I received this book in the mail.

Not because I had read any of Ted Dekker's book previously in the past or due to even a marginal interest in Christian Fiction books.

No, I geeked out because earlier in the year a friend of mine told me ...
I totally geeked out when I received this book in the mail.

Not because I had read any of Ted Dekker's book previously in the past or due to even a marginal interest in Christian Fiction books.

No, I geeked out because earlier in the year a friend of mine told me about the Circle Series books. He said that "the books twist you and turn you and flip you and by the end you are not completely sure what happened except that you're loving Jesus more." His word is an authority for me when it comes to literature.

So needless to say, I geeked out.

I found the book available and asked my literature guru friend whether I should start or end with Green. His answer was a definitive "End with it, dude."

So I ordered the rest of the books, read them and then moved onto this book.

The series is truly phenomenal and Green was a great read.

Quick Summary: Green is a story of love, betrayal, and sweeping reversals set within the apocalypse.

I believe that the series could not have ended any better or any more seamlessly then it did with Green.

I would recommend this book to anyone who had read the previous books in the series or wanted a good read that would "twist you and turn you and flip you and by the end you are not completely sure what happened except that you're loving Jesus more."

posted by FaithfulBP on September 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Book for Newcomers/Average for Vets

The first book I ever read by Ted Dekker was Black - the first book in his circle trilogy and, even more so, the beginning of a unique universe where the future mingles with the past and where evil and goodness meet.

When I discovered that Dekker would be writing a f...
The first book I ever read by Ted Dekker was Black - the first book in his circle trilogy and, even more so, the beginning of a unique universe where the future mingles with the past and where evil and goodness meet.

When I discovered that Dekker would be writing a fourth book directly related to the Circle Trilogy, I was anxious for its release. The ending to White (the last in the trilogy) was a satisfying conclusion, but at the same time I was left wanting more. Along the way, Deker dropped hints in his other books suggesting that life went on for Thomas Hunter, the book's protagonist. Green did not totally disappoint.

The story starts off slow in my opinion. However, Dekker states that all of his books can be read in any order. When one considers that this may be the first book one reads of Thomas Hunter, then I suppose the start does a nice job of presenting characters and back story. For those already immersed in the history, it may not get off to the quick start you're hoping for.

The story is full of the actions sequences and world (or is it time) hopping that were staples in the previous novels. Dekker also does a nice job of answering questions that we left hanging at the conclusion of White. What became of both the worlds? Did Justin ever return? What became of the Forest Guard and their battle against the Horde? In which world did Thomas really belong?

I know many people who were on the fence about this book and I can understand why. While this book is well written and full of that Dekker-esque mystery, it just lacked something. As I mentioned, I've found that those who have already been through the trilogy as well as the other related books (Showdown, House, Skin, The Lost Books, Sinner, Saint, etc) did not enjoy this book as much as the others. The ending, while great and something I definitely didn't see coming, left something to be desired. Especially when compared to White's conclusion - there were questions yes...but it really stemmed from a desire of wanting the story to continue. I believe if I had read Green before any of the other books, I would have felt differently.

I'd rate this book 3/5 for returning Circle fans and 4/5 for newcomers.

posted by 1560183 on September 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2010

    Great Book for Newcomers/Average for Vets

    The first book I ever read by Ted Dekker was Black - the first book in his circle trilogy and, even more so, the beginning of a unique universe where the future mingles with the past and where evil and goodness meet.

    When I discovered that Dekker would be writing a fourth book directly related to the Circle Trilogy, I was anxious for its release. The ending to White (the last in the trilogy) was a satisfying conclusion, but at the same time I was left wanting more. Along the way, Deker dropped hints in his other books suggesting that life went on for Thomas Hunter, the book's protagonist. Green did not totally disappoint.

    The story starts off slow in my opinion. However, Dekker states that all of his books can be read in any order. When one considers that this may be the first book one reads of Thomas Hunter, then I suppose the start does a nice job of presenting characters and back story. For those already immersed in the history, it may not get off to the quick start you're hoping for.

    The story is full of the actions sequences and world (or is it time) hopping that were staples in the previous novels. Dekker also does a nice job of answering questions that we left hanging at the conclusion of White. What became of both the worlds? Did Justin ever return? What became of the Forest Guard and their battle against the Horde? In which world did Thomas really belong?

    I know many people who were on the fence about this book and I can understand why. While this book is well written and full of that Dekker-esque mystery, it just lacked something. As I mentioned, I've found that those who have already been through the trilogy as well as the other related books (Showdown, House, Skin, The Lost Books, Sinner, Saint, etc) did not enjoy this book as much as the others. The ending, while great and something I definitely didn't see coming, left something to be desired. Especially when compared to White's conclusion - there were questions yes...but it really stemmed from a desire of wanting the story to continue. I believe if I had read Green before any of the other books, I would have felt differently.

    I'd rate this book 3/5 for returning Circle fans and 4/5 for newcomers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Green by Ted Dekker

    "Green" is the fourth book in the series, after "Black," "Red," and "White," and is referred to as both the beginning and the end of the series. Since I haven't read the first three books, I found this book very hard to get into because Dekker often refers to the previous books (and other books he wrote). I was lost right from the start because the author seems to assume the readers are familiar with the other books, and due to this, there was a lack of character development in "Green." This story is set in a future world, where evil is evident.

    The book was well-written, and if you liked the first three books in the Circle Trilogy, this will probably work for you. Dekker does a good job of weaving together the stories from several different books, but I don't think he should assume the readers are familiar with all his books. "Green" wasn't for me, because it was hard to follow as a first-time Dekker reader. I didn't care for the vampires, and it was a bit too violent for my taste. I will consider reading the other three books and trying to make sense of it all after that, but my first impression of Dekker's writing was not great.

    I am a Thomas Nelson book reviewer. http://brb.thomasnelson.com/

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    MARC TO ARIANA

    Search result one. Meh and tobyh are there for you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    Interesting

    Green is book zero in Ted Dekker's "The Circle" series, Green actually being the fourth installment of the series. The idea is that a reader should be able to pick up the series at any point, and follow through all four books, thus the title of the series"The Circle". I found green to interesting, and as I got into it, I discovered some familiarity although I have not read any of the other three books from the series. Dekker has cleverly tied this series in with another series of his, the Paradise novels. I had read the book "Showdown" from that series a few years ago. As I said I did find Green to be interesting as a story and the series interesting from a conceptual standpoint. However, whether it was unfamiliarity with the other titles or not understanding the whole of how all these titles intertwine, or a combination of all of the above I found it difficult at times to keep up and understand. I constantly felt I was missing something that would not be found within the pages I was reading, yet not curious enough to sort it out by going through the other titles that are related to Green. Maybe if I had started at a true beginning point it would have been different.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Thomas of Hunter lives on!

    I totally geeked out when I received this book in the mail.

    Not because I had read any of Ted Dekker's book previously in the past or due to even a marginal interest in Christian Fiction books.

    No, I geeked out because earlier in the year a friend of mine told me about the Circle Series books. He said that "the books twist you and turn you and flip you and by the end you are not completely sure what happened except that you're loving Jesus more." His word is an authority for me when it comes to literature.

    So needless to say, I geeked out.

    I found the book available and asked my literature guru friend whether I should start or end with Green. His answer was a definitive "End with it, dude."

    So I ordered the rest of the books, read them and then moved onto this book.

    The series is truly phenomenal and Green was a great read.

    Quick Summary: Green is a story of love, betrayal, and sweeping reversals set within the apocalypse.

    I believe that the series could not have ended any better or any more seamlessly then it did with Green.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who had read the previous books in the series or wanted a good read that would "twist you and turn you and flip you and by the end you are not completely sure what happened except that you're loving Jesus more."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2010

    Disappointing

    Green is a fantasy novel, created as an allegory to parallel the realities of right and wrong. At first sight, the novel's preface, written by the author Ted Dekker, purports that the quality of this fantasy is comparable to C.S. Lewis' Narnia series and J.R.R. Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings. However, Green fails to elicit the profound symbolism and dynamic resolution that both Narnia and The Lord of the Rings contain.

    The story Green begins in a new world that God created after the apocalypse, and it begins to unfold as Thomas Hunter, the leader of the Circle, and the Circle - the "chosen" people - delight in their Great Romance at a ceremonial celebration of their faith. As beautiful as that description of faith is, the story begins a downward spiral of dark themes beyond this initial attribute.

    Thomas and the Circle have been given a command from God to love their neighbors at all costs, which leads them to flee their enemies, the Horde, who are warriors out for blood. The plot stirs as Samuel, Thomas Hunter's son, begins to rebel against this command, and leads a group to battle the forces of evil amongst them. Thomas Hunter then initiates a battle between the Horde and evil leaders, who are consumed with blood.

    At this point, I was forcing myself to read this Christian fiction, as the layers of grotesque blood sacrifices from the evil powers sent this novel flying over the fence into the land of weird for me. A dual experience then comes into play, as the antagonist characters, Janae and Billy, who were living in present day 2010, find a way to enter the future, the new world, and join the forces of evil to plot against the Circle, and mainly, their leader, Thomas, as the Circle holds out in hope that God will deliver them from evil.

    I would not recommend this book at all, but if you are in the market for Christian allegories/fantasy, I would instead recommend making room in your library for C.S. Lewis and Tolkien, as the author, at least in endeavor, tried to replicate those classics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I must be Green

    Green is supposed to serve as either the start to your adventure in The Circle series or the conclusion of your journey through the novels.

    For myself (having not read any of the others and reading this first), I found certain characters and plot lines which were key to the base story not developed enough. I felt somewhat lost in much of the book, because I sensed that I only partly knew what was going on. Of course knowing that it is a series and much of that would (or should) be explained in the other three novels, doesn't make it any less frustrating while you're actually reading.

    I understand the interest in fantasy books written from a Christian perspective, but personally I found a lot of the book quite dark, and at times disturbing.

    The preface of the book, touches on previous books written where good and evil duke it out in a mythical sense, like Aslan's and Frodo's tales. Green slides very much to the side of the Hobbit's book in its telling, quite unlike the more mild nature of the land within the Wardrobe's story.

    All that being said, if you are a fantasy buff, interested in the battle of good, evil and human nature, can read about people partaking in blood drinking and other less than glorifying ritutals all without making your stomach queasy, you may want to read Green, Book 0 in The Circle Series.

    Myself, I'm not itching to read Black at the moment (the next book), there are plenty of other books on my list I'll pick up first.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    For my book review this time I selected a book by Ted Deker entitle Green. The whole premise of this book is that you can read it either as the first in the series or the last. The series in which this book belongs is called The Circle and the othe

    Quite a few teens in our local church know how much I like to read and suggested this author. I have never read anything else by him and quite frankly probably never will. The book takes the settings of present and future. That concept I can handle but the rest of the book is just odd. Maybe my mind couldn't take part of the journey the author was hoping for but I was lost and quite frankly bored. The story was unbelievable and the sensuality in the book is nothing that I would want my 13 yr old to read. The main character of the book in present times is Thomas Hunter but he gets swept back into the future and wakes up in the Black Forest. I see the analogy the used in the colors black representing bad and green representing good but that is the only thing I understood or even enjoyed. I am thinking that this is one circle that should not have been reborn

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    To Sark

    You suck.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Romeo

    Hey

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Shelby

    Ok. Well.......um...bye.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Christina

    ......?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Moriah

    Hello u there

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Destiny

    Harley ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Sel

    Why are you crying?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Anonymous

    Ted Dekker is a genius the way he wrote these books is just amazing when people say there's something missing it's because you HAVE to read them all to fully understand it. No one will ever be able to perfect this kind of writing as Dekker has in the circle series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Not literal

    These books are amazing. I first listened to Black on audio and fell in love. The imagination, and thought he put into this series is like none other. If you want to understand you should read the other 3. If you read Green first, think of it like watching a movie that brings you backwards as you go..... i.e 2 years ago.... after the teaser of present time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No thanks

    For the 10 yr old girls out there i did not like this book at all. I guess it's ok but defineitely not for me

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Great

    Its said that you can read this book before or after the Red, Black, White trillogy. I would recommend after, it makes more sense that way. That said I loved the book and highly recommed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    WOW

    Could not put it down, yet again. Make me wish Ted would write a 'Blue' with a different ending, because I wanted to start back it the begining of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 184 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10