Customer Reviews for

Green Angel

Average Rating 4
( 281 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(177)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Emotionally Impacting

Green Angel was so incredible to me, it was so real. My heart was aching for nearly the entire book. Ms. Hoffman has created a truly unique character, and a very realistic one at that. Green's story is incredibly sad and yet just incredible for the fact that she pull...
Green Angel was so incredible to me, it was so real. My heart was aching for nearly the entire book. Ms. Hoffman has created a truly unique character, and a very realistic one at that. Green's story is incredibly sad and yet just incredible for the fact that she pulls through, she overcomes the most terrible situation for a teenager, and she comes out stronger than before. I loved the fact that Green found comfort in taking care of others and how just simply hearing someone hum or sing began to mend Green. This book is so emotionally heart wrenching that it's a huge blow to you when something good happens, and you just smile and sigh out a "yes". This is a wonderful book, i would recomend it to everyone I know!

posted by Nuthinbutreadin on November 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

There is a difference between moody and faking clinical depression.

Alice Hoffman¿s Green Angel is a dark and failed attempt to create a story about overcoming loss in one¿s life. The story begins when Green, a shy, inverted 15-year-old girl from the country, looses her family in a city fire and must find a way to survive in the newly ...
Alice Hoffman¿s Green Angel is a dark and failed attempt to create a story about overcoming loss in one¿s life. The story begins when Green, a shy, inverted 15-year-old girl from the country, looses her family in a city fire and must find a way to survive in the newly ashen world of emptiness. Living on her own, Green becomes Ash¿a brave, unfeeling person who believes that survival depends on having no human interaction and no feeling in life. Through service to others, Ash begins to transform into a new, feeling person and learns how to deal with the death around her. I would really not recommend this book because of its lack of explanation, ridiculously apparent symbolism, unsuccessful dark writing style, and unbelievable characters. Firstly, Hoffman never clarifies very significant details in the book such as how the fire got started, why does Green possess magic, or what is even the setting? This non-explanatory approach prevented me from getting too involved in the story¿I just could not make sense of anything. Second of all, I was insulted on the spoon-fed symbolism throughout the book. Does Hoffman truly believe that readers have lost their abilities to decipher symbolism? Hoffman needs to put some of that effort back into the plot of ill explanation. As for the writing style there is a difference between moody and faking clinical depression. Hoffman is trying too hard to make her writing ¿gothic.¿ Finally, the characters in Green Angel are so imaginary in personalities that a reader never could connect with any of them. The characters are simply unreal, flat, and cannot deviate from their robotic, concrete personalities. This is not human nature and is therefore not relatable. If I had to assign and condemn this book on a certain person, I would choose a severely depressed middle school student who has no literary appreciation and does not wish to gain anything from this read.

posted by Anonymous on October 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Emotionally Impacting

    Green Angel was so incredible to me, it was so real. My heart was aching for nearly the entire book. Ms. Hoffman has created a truly unique character, and a very realistic one at that. Green's story is incredibly sad and yet just incredible for the fact that she pulls through, she overcomes the most terrible situation for a teenager, and she comes out stronger than before. I loved the fact that Green found comfort in taking care of others and how just simply hearing someone hum or sing began to mend Green. This book is so emotionally heart wrenching that it's a huge blow to you when something good happens, and you just smile and sigh out a "yes". This is a wonderful book, i would recomend it to everyone I know!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked It

    I got this book at the libary one day 'cuz I thought the cover was different...
    Green Angel was a short, easy read, that I really liked.
    It's about a girl who loses her whole family...
    I would recommend this to any of my friends...go read it!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    A tale of loss...

    This is such an amazing and emotional book. Unlike many others I've read, it's not an action or an adventure story. Instead, it is a harrowing tale of loss and the things Green, the main character, must do to overcome it. <BR/>I loved the character(s) in this book. Green was so developed, you could practically feel her pain. I loved Green herself-- her personality, her quirks, etc. Reading about her pain was heartbreaking. It was so satisfying to read about Green healing. <BR/>Overall, this is definitely a book worth your time. It's short-- it doesn't take that long to read-- but it packs a powerful punch. I'd especially reccommend it to teens, say, 14 up.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    Hurtful healing

    I read this book when I was in fifth grade. It gave me courage to keep oiving, even when i was being put down by everyone else. I loved every moment of ths book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching

    The story really helps you find yourself. In the process of reading this book I found myself comparing my life to Green's. How I have it so easy.<BR/>And when Diamond comes it's changes everything. I wondered the whole time he was there if he could have started the fire.It keppt me reading, just like the Twilight series. I wish it would have been longer, so I could have kept reading the heartbreaking tale. It made me think. This book made me feel differnet about things. I know, I'm crazy, right? Sure I am, but the boks I read don't usually ever give me that feeling. It's most of the time 'Yes. It's over . I know what happens, time for another book.' But I didn't want to just go on to another book. I wanted to stay there and read it over and over again. Alice Hoffman is one of my favorite writers. She's keeps me on the edge, wanting to know what happens. I really wanted to just flip through to the end, yet something kept me from it and the more I read the book I was glad I hadn't flipped back. It seemed like one of the best books Alice Hoffman has written. I hope she keeps up the great stories!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    A-MAZ-ING

    This was a fantastic book! i have read it 6x and it never gets old. its phenomenal! i loved the way the author wrote about the main characters feelings. you could feel the emotion!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2007

    There is a difference between moody and faking clinical depression.

    Alice Hoffman¿s Green Angel is a dark and failed attempt to create a story about overcoming loss in one¿s life. The story begins when Green, a shy, inverted 15-year-old girl from the country, looses her family in a city fire and must find a way to survive in the newly ashen world of emptiness. Living on her own, Green becomes Ash¿a brave, unfeeling person who believes that survival depends on having no human interaction and no feeling in life. Through service to others, Ash begins to transform into a new, feeling person and learns how to deal with the death around her. I would really not recommend this book because of its lack of explanation, ridiculously apparent symbolism, unsuccessful dark writing style, and unbelievable characters. Firstly, Hoffman never clarifies very significant details in the book such as how the fire got started, why does Green possess magic, or what is even the setting? This non-explanatory approach prevented me from getting too involved in the story¿I just could not make sense of anything. Second of all, I was insulted on the spoon-fed symbolism throughout the book. Does Hoffman truly believe that readers have lost their abilities to decipher symbolism? Hoffman needs to put some of that effort back into the plot of ill explanation. As for the writing style there is a difference between moody and faking clinical depression. Hoffman is trying too hard to make her writing ¿gothic.¿ Finally, the characters in Green Angel are so imaginary in personalities that a reader never could connect with any of them. The characters are simply unreal, flat, and cannot deviate from their robotic, concrete personalities. This is not human nature and is therefore not relatable. If I had to assign and condemn this book on a certain person, I would choose a severely depressed middle school student who has no literary appreciation and does not wish to gain anything from this read.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    The author tried.

    Interesting plot, but the storytelling is repetitive and dull. It feels like the author is trying to brainwash the reader into feeling emotion by drilling into their skulls rather than letting it come naturally. The author is trying way to hard and failing. Possibly the worst book I've ever read.

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Hoffman is a Genius

    The historic effect is a little bit sketchy which makes a great hook for readers even though we never really find out what disaster really befell the silver city (I do have a few theories of my own). Green herself is a very compelling character and her heart break in the book almost becomes your own. She faces so many odds against her and still she discovers life must go on. It makes a great book for reflecting on your self and is a very short read. Even though it is short those few pages pack a punch I as a reader have not felt in some longer books in the last year or so and the last book I read that made me feel this way about people was also a Alice Hoffman book. To say the least the book is extremely DEEP.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Hoffman Winner

    This is one of the shortest books I've read in the past few years. I was able to finish it in under two hours.

    A young girl (of unknown nationality) goes about her complacent routine until one day a tragedy befalls a nearby city and she loses her entire family. Told by the girl herself, it tells of her hope that her family will return, her denial that they won't return after time passes, her fears at being alone, her grief at losing those dear to her. We learn how she copes with being alone in a time of turmoil; her acceptance that there are others worse off than she; and of how she learns that life goes on regardless of what happens around us.

    A compelling, gripping story; packs a lot of punch into a few pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    green angel

    This book was very interesting. It grabbed my attention and held it there. Once i picked it up I could'nt put it down. I would definetely recommend this book to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    Favorite Book

    This is a very good book. It's about someone who's lost her family and trys to survive (or see if she wants to survive) and find herself in a world where everything's darkness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    I did not enjoy this book -at all-. It seemed like the author skipped the whole editing process, along with providing decent dialouge. I have to atleast give it this: I have never read a book with all the dialouge in italics. Woo. *rolls eyes* The main character was relatively believable, but not connectable. As in, you can have the best character imaginable..but if the reader cant connect with him/her, then the book will go right back to the shelf 'or in my case, the library'. The story dragged oonnnnn and ooooonnnnn without going anywhere. We get it. She's depressed. Move on with the story. Not to sound uncaring--but as the title of this review says, I would not recommend this story for anyone. There was a point where the only character was the MC 'main character' for FIFTY PAGES. Thats not exciting. Not holding the readers attention. Thats too darn repetitive for me. Not enough went on in this story, imho.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2008

    i'm lucy and i am 17 this book is outstanding

    this book of alice hoffman is one of my favorites.Being a teenager turning to adult hood may be a little scare for some of us but when i read this book made me change the way i think of the future(the future is not a book that you can write in of good fortune and that you can get it when ever you want cause you will never know when or how life my turn)in this book i could relate to it in many ways i loved it an i read it for al least 20 times or more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    For a Few

    Only centain people will be able to understand and enjoy this book. It is not for everyone, It has alot of strong emotions through out the whole book. Dark almost, but under neath it all I found a peace to it that was hard to find at first but it's there. I promise it wont be a waste of time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2014

    i was told to think of a book that i adored in my youth today- i

    i was told to think of a book that i adored in my youth today- i have not read this book in nearly 10 years but it was the first book that came to mind and i got the urge to comment on it. i will be re-reading this book shortly. the story is lovely and emotional. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2014

    As a college student, I found this book to be very easy to read,

    As a college student, I found this book to be very easy to read, which I loved. The beginning was very optimistic. The main character’s name is Green. At the beginning she talks about her family with much love and admiration. It soon turns into a very sad, melancholy book because as a young teenage girl who has lost her family in a fire, she slowly goes into a depression like state. During her depression she explains how she is changing. This could be predicted by looking at the front and back cover of the book. Even though it was very sad, I loved the book. I feel that books like these help me appreciate what I have in my life. The only thing I would beware of is that sometimes it can feel like it’s dragging on, as if its never going to end. But also keep in mind that it is very poetic and there’s a lot of symbolism in this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    Hello c:

    For school I had to pick a book and I picked this one, and I'm glad I did. Im 11 and it entertained my youthful mind. Then again, I'm not like most kids my age. :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Ijj

    Jfrhuhjylykggjh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    I love this book

    Green angle and the sequal, Green witch

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 281 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15