Customer Reviews for

Green Darkness

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it several t

This is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it several times, and couldn't wait until it came out for the nook. I am very unhappy with the nook edition. There are so many typo/misspellings. I have over 100 nook books and never have encountered such sloppy edi...
This is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it several times, and couldn't wait until it came out for the nook. I am very unhappy with the nook edition. There are so many typo/misspellings. I have over 100 nook books and never have encountered such sloppy editing. If this were the first ebook I ever bought from B&N, I would probably never buy another one. You need to clean up this edition.

posted by AnneM217 on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not bad for a beach read, but don't expect great things

I once had a writing professor who said a good author doesn't tell a story, they put their reader in it. Unfortunately, I found this author to tell her tale more than create a fictional world. I often found myself encountering the same descriptive phrases over and ove...
I once had a writing professor who said a good author doesn't tell a story, they put their reader in it. Unfortunately, I found this author to tell her tale more than create a fictional world. I often found myself encountering the same descriptive phrases over and over again. This is more on the higher end of dime store romance than a philosophical interpratation on timeless love. For any fans of reincarnation stories such as the movie 'Dead Again' you will be sorely disappointed. There is very little mystery and the relationship and past lives of the characters are very predictable and not very interesting. Although the book spans 590 pages, the central two characters don't actually interact together for more than 50 pages. The main romantic struggle doesn't seem worth several lifetimes of strife. The plot seems contrived, the historical surroundings are weak, and the ending is quickly and conveniently wrapped up in less than 100 pages. Any eighth grade histroy textbook could tell you the same things that this book uncovers about the English monarchy from Henry VIII through his second daughter Elizabeth. Even then, the author takes great liberties with history and many of her characters' accounts of real events are highly speculative.

posted by Anonymous on May 24, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    This is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it several t

    This is one of my favorite books ever. I have read it several times, and couldn't wait until it came out for the nook. I am very unhappy with the nook edition. There are so many typo/misspellings. I have over 100 nook books and never have encountered such sloppy editing. If this were the first ebook I ever bought from B&N, I would probably never buy another one. You need to clean up this edition.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    This story haunted me when I first read it, and have been waitin

    This story haunted me when I first read it, and have been waiting impatiently for it to be digitalized for the Nook. I agree with one reviewer who said it is one of Seton's greatest works. It will stay with you. I can't wait to read it again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    Not bad for a beach read, but don't expect great things

    I once had a writing professor who said a good author doesn't tell a story, they put their reader in it. Unfortunately, I found this author to tell her tale more than create a fictional world. I often found myself encountering the same descriptive phrases over and over again. This is more on the higher end of dime store romance than a philosophical interpratation on timeless love. For any fans of reincarnation stories such as the movie 'Dead Again' you will be sorely disappointed. There is very little mystery and the relationship and past lives of the characters are very predictable and not very interesting. Although the book spans 590 pages, the central two characters don't actually interact together for more than 50 pages. The main romantic struggle doesn't seem worth several lifetimes of strife. The plot seems contrived, the historical surroundings are weak, and the ending is quickly and conveniently wrapped up in less than 100 pages. Any eighth grade histroy textbook could tell you the same things that this book uncovers about the English monarchy from Henry VIII through his second daughter Elizabeth. Even then, the author takes great liberties with history and many of her characters' accounts of real events are highly speculative.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Quite good

    Very good blend of present and Tudor times. Would be even better except for the numerous typos!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2004

    I'm still shaking it off!

    I just finished reading this last night at 3 AM. The story behind this book is so beautiful, I can't stop thinking about it! It's amazing how well she intertwined history with fiction. And the fact that it's based on real people..I want to go to England now and see all of these places. I still can't get my head out of the story long enough to concentrate on the real world. Highly recomended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Well worth the read.

    My copy of this book has a forward of it being beautifully written. It definitely has it's spell-binding moments. Also has moments where the writing is tedious to read. All in all don't miss the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    I too read Green Darkness as a teenager many years ago and loved

    I too read Green Darkness as a teenager many years ago and loved it. I don't think the parts set in 1968 are 'dated' any more than the parts set in the distant past-the past is the past. Celia and Richard's love story may feel disconnected because we come into the story as their whirlwind romance is entering a crisis caused by 'partial remembrance' of their past lives together. Seton has created very real characters and one of the wickedest villainesses ever on paper. I personally have no belief in reincarnation but this book still made me wonder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Gothic romantic fiction at it's finest! Anya Seton draws you in

    Gothic romantic fiction at it's finest! Anya Seton draws you in and keeps you captive. You could not leave if you wanted to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I first read this book in my teens, and have periodically reread

    I first read this book in my teens, and have periodically reread it since then. Although some of the story set
    in 1968 now feels dated, at the time it was published it was then contemporary. To me it makes for a much
    more interesting type of read.

    Celia doesn't have much to her, 1968 version, but I was okay with that. The whole idea of reincarnation is
    that people will learn, over the next few lifetimes, the lessons they failed in the past, or perhaps atone for
    viciousness or evil.

    This book is where I fell in love with Tudor England; the intrigue, the danger, the confusion of those like
    elderly Lady Ursula, apt to be arrested for saying the reflexive phrase "By Our Lady" she'd used all her life.
    I could smell the fresh rushes, share the excitement of a pretty new dress, feel the repulsion of Celia at
    Leonard Dacre's crude advances, and her longing for Stephen, both a pure and impure love. I truly felt like
    I was transported back in time along with Celia Marsdon. I both wanted to stay there AND get the hell out
    of Dodge before Dudley's people, or Mary's, locked me up or worse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Good story - Poor editing

    I read this book many years ago and enjoyed the story. Unfortunately this eBook is very poorly edited. There are many errors in it and I would not recommend it for that reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    Don't waste your time buying the nook book version. It is riddl

    Don't waste your time buying the nook book version. It is riddled with irritating spelling and syntax errors. Not only that, but it ends abruptly on page 547, in the middle of a sentence! I didn't even get the whole book! I have no idea how it ends... Very frustrating...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    I read this book nearly 30 years ago. I have read it several tim

    I read this book nearly 30 years ago. I have read it several times since. It is still the best historical novel I have read! You will love how the story weaves in and out with realistic characters, romance and the deep rich history! You will not be able to put it down. Read and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Haunting, moving, thought-provoking and beautifully written

    Green Darkness is certainly not the first piece of Tudor-era historical fiction I've read. However, it is without a doubt the best I've come across. This book was breathtaking in so many ways: the romanticism, the rich history, the convincing, realistic characters...
    Seton has truly tapped in the vein of human emotion through her writing. This is the third book I've read of Anya Seton's, the other two being Katherine and Avalon. Katherine remains my favorite; but Green Darkness, in its own way, is equally as good. You simply MUST read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    One of Seton's greatest works

    Spoiler alert!
    Avalon happens to be my favorite Anya Seton work, but Green Darkness comes in second! Both books are better than her famed Katherine (a mon avis anyways).
    Seton's ability and belief that love can pass the test of time (centuries in this case) is visible through Celia and priest Stephen's final reunion in the bodies of Richard and Celia Marsdon centuries after they first encountered eachother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Hauntingly Delicious Read!

    A seductive read that feeds the mind, heart and soul! I first read this book as a teenager and replaced my original copy again, so that my daughter could read it is well! Anya Seton has a writing style that turns from just typeface to a movie running in your head. She draws you in and the next thing you know you are part of the story. You care for the characters and become entwined. She brings it all, love, hate, honor, deceit, religion, spirituality, and all the while you're thinking of what comes next. She drew me in and I have become an avid follower of her works. Yet Green Darkness has become the standard by which I judge other works! A must for all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    37 years later, it still haunts me!!

    I checked out the availability of this book today 37 years after having read it as it has stayed with me all these years. I recall calling into work sick one day because I could not tear myself away from it. I plan to reread it now, later in life. Certainly worth checking it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    This was a very quick read for me however agree with the reviewer below me. It was a very odd love story. I did not feel the connection as you think you would between the characters. They were hardly ever together enough to be madly in love with each other. I do recommend the book because it is very rich in the period detail and characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Um..A little odd

    While the book was very historically accurate and the language was quite descriptive, I thought it was one of the oddest, stangest books I've ever read. It didn't really strike me as 'a beautiful love story' but more of two people driven insatiably by lust. Mostly I found myself rolling my eyes at their declarations that they could not live w/o each other because they never spent more than 3 pages together at a time in the book. Also there were some very random parts like the rape scene in Part 1 of the book that did not really make sense in the context of the story. Mostly I was confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Must Read for History Lovers

    This is a one-of-a-kind gothic historical fiction that you won't want to put down. Anya Seton has flawlessly intertwined modern-day fictional characters with actual 16th century counterparts in a beautiful tale of reincarnation that is both tragic and triumphant. After losing track of my first two copies to borrowers, I now have two - one to keep and one to loan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    Wow.

    My mom read this when she was my age, and now i have her original copy from 1972. Its an incredible book and I would highly reccommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3