Customer Reviews for

Green Eggs and Ham

Average Rating 4.5
( 135 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

great book for children

I loved this book as a child, my kids loved it when they were small and my grandsons are smitten with it - no childs book collection is complete without "Green Eggs and Ham"

posted by super-cooper on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

how can you...

HOW CAN YOU RATE OR REVIW ANY DR. SUESS BOOK. WHETHER ITS GOOD OR BAD YOU GOT TO START A DR. SUESS COLLECTION THEY'RE A CLASSIC. I'M trying to start a collection of dr. suess books for my son. HE's opening up, he just doesn't realize the significance of it yet. he will ...
HOW CAN YOU RATE OR REVIW ANY DR. SUESS BOOK. WHETHER ITS GOOD OR BAD YOU GOT TO START A DR. SUESS COLLECTION THEY'RE A CLASSIC. I'M trying to start a collection of dr. suess books for my son. HE's opening up, he just doesn't realize the significance of it yet. he will eventually, has too its every body's childhood memory cant break the cycle. <3 green eggs and ham is a must have. every child is different just buy it and see.

posted by 15926535 on September 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    We love green eggs and ham

    I read green eggs and ham almost every night to my children. Its catchy funny and it teaches your children to try knew things

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Love this book.

    This was always one of my favorites growing up. I am now to happy to be able to share Green Eggs and Ham with my daughter. She absolutely loves the silly pictures and funny words. She likes to sit and flip through the pages on her own almost as much as likes to have us read the book to her. She is one now and I hope she loves this book as much as I did as she gets older. She loves all of the Dr Seuss books but this is one of her favorites. She has us read it over and over again, not wanting to stop. I would probly be really annoyed with any other book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    I do like it Sam I am

    Who doesn't like Green Eggs and Ham!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    epic book

    you'll never read anything this good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2014

    I give this book a 12/14. I like this book and think it is so f

    I give this book a 12/14. I like this book and think it is so funny! The characters were a little off but ok. The book makes sense and tells you to try new things like eating green eggs and ham in a box or with a fox. ha-ha. There is plenty of action to keep me interested through the what... 10 pages. There wasn't a lot of detail but enough to make sense. I recommend this book to younger kids but it is great for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    This is one of my favorite childhood books. The illustrations ar

    This is one of my favorite childhood books. The illustrations are magical and whimsical, but the moral is applicable to daily life. This book could help a child who struggles with picky eating, or that has trouble branching out and trying new things. It could be used to branch out into a lot of activities, such as learning how to make green eggs and ham.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    The main and most important them in the book is try it first. Th

    The main and most important them in the book is try it first. There are so many opportunities the surround us on a daily basis and this book teaches to try it knew things can often bring greatness into our lives and I believe the message and theme of this book is to just try it. As far as layers there is a huge emphasis on modes of transpiration in the book and someone might say that is a layer throughout the book, and it may very well be however the it’s hard to argue that the main theme isn’t trying knew things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Great Book for all ages!

    I use it with both adults and children to get them to try something new. They love it and come up with all kinds of creative examples related to their lives!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Children's Book

    This is the 1st book I remember reading from my childhood. Before I could read it by myself, my mother made it so exciting! By the few simple words used she could use the inflection in her voice to make me interested. We read the book repeatedly until I could read it on my own. I am not going to say if you read this to your child over and over they will be a GREAT reader but I was inspired to constantly read; and maybe it would work for your child. I read "Gone With The Wind" by age 8. I've not stopped reading and will be "Lordy, Lordy 40" soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOW GREEN EGGS AND HAM

    Book title and author: Green eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss
    Title of review: Sam-I-am
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    Introduction: Sam-I-am trys to get the old grump to taste green eggs and ham but the old grump won't


    Description and summary of main points:. Sam-i-am try's every thing in a box, with a fox. In the rain even on a train. Sam-i-am is determined to get the old grump to eat green eggs and ham


    Evaluation: "That Sam-I-am that Sam I-am I do not like that Sam I am" One of Dr. Seuss best and well know books


    Conclusion: Sam-I-am tries to get the old grump to eat green eggs and he goes through a lot of things to get him to eat


    Your final review: 5 out of 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Green Eggs and Ham

    My kids and I love Green Eggs and Ham. It has a good story about trying new foods. The illustrations are wonderful. Dr. Seuss can come up with a rhyme for any word there is. There was a while we had to read it every night for bedtime. I would highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Who doesn't like green eggs and ham?

    Fun book! My son loves it and I enjoy reading it to him. Check out the Journey of a Grape, another fun rhyming book for toddlers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I do love green eggs

    So too does my daughter. She points, laughs, and smiles when we have time together. This is a classic...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Green Eggs & Ham

    Dr. Suess is classic, it's a must have for any child's library. Green Eggs & Ham is with out a doubt one of the most treasured prints.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    Great Book for my 5 year old

    This book along with several other Dr.suess Books were recommended by me sons kindergarten teacher. Helping him with his reading and sounding out his words. His reading has improved greatly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    I cried the firt time i read this book

    the pure emotion in this book is amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    This book was purchased for my granddaughter. We had her father's copy at our house and she wanted one for her house also.

    This book was a favorite of both my son and my daughter. Now my granddaughter loves it. All of them learned that you should not decide that you don't like something with out trying it. I really enjoy knowing that the book is still loved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    Green eggs!?

    The book I chose to write a book review for is Green Eggs and Ham written and illustrated by Dr. Seuss. I chose this book because my mom gave it to me for my second birthday and I never stopped reading it.
    In this fabulous book a guy and Sam-I-Am are not friends. In the beginning a guy said he does not like green eggs and ham, but he has not tried it. In the middle he followed him to places. Thousands of places. Until he tried it. In the end, when he tried it, he loved it. The big idea in this story is that don't say you don't like it if you didn't try it. A great quote from the author is "I do so like green eggs and ham! Thank you Sam-I-Am!" I like this quote because it is funny. The best part is when he tries green eggs and ham.
    I recommend this book to people who love Dr. Seuss

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book

    This is an awesome Book to have in one's own library.

    Everyone should own Seuss works, along with Ohio Blue Tips by Jeanne E. Clark, The Photos In The Closet by Daniel E. Lopez, and works by Alison Townsend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Children's Education

    Dr. Seuss's collection of stories and characters continues to play a very important role in providing the kind of motivation and generate the interest necessary to keep both my children and grandchildren reading, and never tiring of the same, or similar story lines. From a phonetic point of view, the many letter-sound and letter-sound combinations are solid, and appear fundamental in developing a grasp of how our language is both communicated and synthesized. The silliness and non-sensical words aside, the hidden, meanignful messages provide a basis for discussion, and a method to assess memory and comprehension. In other words, we have fun enjoying the reading together, and seldom tire of the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6