Customer Reviews for

The Green Glass Sea

Average Rating 4.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Pretty (frekkin) Good

This book, at first, was very hard for me to read because it was kind of slow getting into a meaningful story. (Also, the cover art was kind of misleading.) Towards the middle and the end of the book is when I truly fell in love with this book. It is a great story of bo...
This book, at first, was very hard for me to read because it was kind of slow getting into a meaningful story. (Also, the cover art was kind of misleading.) Towards the middle and the end of the book is when I truly fell in love with this book. It is a great story of bonding between two completely different girls. The book's theme can be applied to 9/11, in that, the main characters of different backgrounds and lives come together in times of great tragedy and uncertainty. I also like the aspect of the "American" view point of WWII. I would only recommend this book for those who don't know what really to read or can't make up their mind on what to read next.

posted by Trey_Miles on December 17, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Gjitxcms fvhtdubryc

Ggcysgj poop

posted by 2344754 on June 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pretty (frekkin) Good

    This book, at first, was very hard for me to read because it was kind of slow getting into a meaningful story. (Also, the cover art was kind of misleading.) Towards the middle and the end of the book is when I truly fell in love with this book. It is a great story of bonding between two completely different girls. The book's theme can be applied to 9/11, in that, the main characters of different backgrounds and lives come together in times of great tragedy and uncertainty. I also like the aspect of the "American" view point of WWII. I would only recommend this book for those who don't know what really to read or can't make up their mind on what to read next.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Lyrical Historical Fiction with Strong Characterization

    This book captured me early on and refused to let go. As a former children's bokseller I have literally read hundreds of children's literature in all genres, and rarely does one stand out so far above others. While the writing does struggle in some parts, the characters shine brightly beyond the pages. I wish I had known Dewey as a child, someone whose curiosity and spunk has you cheering her bravery and yearning to shelter her pain. A standout historical fiction, upon finishing the book I raced to BN.com to find out when the sequel is due out!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    A must read!!!Should be turned into a movie!

    I absalutly loved this book!!!I checked it out at my local libary and had to buy a copy for myself and my friends!It's a perfect book for learning about World War 2 with a story that warms your heart!
    An amazing book!!!
    Must read the sequal!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Outstanding YA about WW II and the development of atomic weapons

    This YA historical novel focuses on the end of World War II as seen through the eyes of two adolescent girls. Dewey is a sort of proto-geek, who has to cope with serious hardships of her own as well as the more typical obstacles confronting a girl with mechanical and scientific interests at that time; Suze is a budding artist, outwardly more conformist and with a more "normal" life than Dewey's but with her own challenges and complexities. Both live at Los Alamos because their parents are scientists involved in the development of the atomic bomb. A beautifully written book that provides a fascinating glimpse of the period for those of us too young to have been there, intertwining the girls' individual and social development with the larger political and scientific context. Highly recommended for pre-adolescents and older, especially those of a more intellectual bent and/or interests similar to the protagonists'; its sequel is also well worth reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Gjitxcms fvhtdubryc

    Ggcysgj poop

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    GREEN GLASS SEA LOVER

    There also is another book called white sands,red menice.Dewy's mom comes back and wants to take her.I can wait to start reading it! It looks really good. If you liked the first book you should read the next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Love this book

    Please read this book. It will not dissapoint you. I promise

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Hi

    I like poop

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Fantastic! I'm 70, and I enjoyed every word. As a science and h

    Fantastic! I'm 70, and I enjoyed every word. As a science and history buff, I've read much about this era, but by using a different viewpoint, the author brings it to life like no one else. I bought this book thinking it was a mystery, and along with everything else, it is a mystery like no other. Even though I knew the "ending", I was engrossed throughout.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Good

    I read this book a while ago so i don't remember much. But it helped me through a hard time and inspire me to believe in myself. It is a beautiful book and i thunk everyone who love books should read this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Love it!

    This book was amazing!! I recomend it to anyone that wants a great historical fiction read!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    This is a great historical fiction story! A great read for those studying or just interested in World War II. Klages captures the 1940s time period and hints at the moral dilemmas behind the creation and use of the nuclear bomb. Throughout the story science, math and the arts are highlighted and key role players in the invention of "the gadget" are mentioned. This story reminds me of "Stand by Me" in how friendships are formed and how the world is seen through young eyes. Loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Fave Fave

    Awesome book best book i ever read thanks to the author of the book i would do anything to read it all day long

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Brilliant!

    I loved the green glass sea. I'm almost done with it and I've liked every word. Heck, I'm only twelve and its awesome. A MUST READ BOOK!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    Sounds bad but is okay

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 16, 2011

    A Moving Book

    I loved this book so much that it has become one of my favorites. It is one of those books that changes the way you look at life. Simply amazing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    this book was actually good

    my grandmother got me this book for christmas. i wasnt sure if i was gonna actually read it, because she relied no the newspaperto tell her which books are "the best" that year. The green galss sea was actually good, and a nice break from all the stupid love and gossip books i have read recently. This boo kahd a good story line, and since i never learned this in school, i thought it was fiction. I mean a green glass sea. But at the end of the book i learned from the interview with the writer that it was in fact true. This book inspired me to start reading historical fiction.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book

    I loved it. great book, the author has such vivid descriptions. Dewey is great, she is such an amazing character while Suze is in a way a very misunderstood girl. Set in a very conflicting time (World War II) and on Los Alamos (Secret scientist camp) these girls go through some rough times.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2008

    Good Book!

    This book was one of the best i've read. I loved when Dewey and Suzie went to the trinity site. This book was great and I recommend to all readers!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2007

    Love this book

    i think this is a great book. I even cried during some parts. I love math , so to me, this a great book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3