Customer Reviews for

Green Lake

Average Rating 4
( 422 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(232)

4 Star

(114)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

93 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

Hard core mystery

This book is about 580 pages long. It was pretty well edited for a freebie. It is a hard core mystery. There are no soft edges to this plot. This book deals with suicide, spouse and child abuse,pediphilia, sexual attraction to the dead, alcohal and drug abuse, insanity,...
This book is about 580 pages long. It was pretty well edited for a freebie. It is a hard core mystery. There are no soft edges to this plot. This book deals with suicide, spouse and child abuse,pediphilia, sexual attraction to the dead, alcohal and drug abuse, insanity, rape, extremely violent, graphic murder, graphic sex, arson, hit and run, revenge, adultry, animal abuse and racial bias. There is also romance. About the only thing this book lacked was an over abundance of cursing, which I am not complaining about. I have probably left a few out, but these are the main ones. There were a few minor editing problems. Some of the B & N free books are almost unreadable because of errata, so it is nice to find none or just a few mistakes. ( none, never happens.) The plot was good, I knew early on, whodunit, but as the crime rate at Green Lake continued to climb, so did the whodunits. This book really held my interest. I started reading it at 9 P M and finished at 3 A M. It was fascinating. I would recommend this book to male and female readers, 18 years of age and up.

AD

posted by 19189092 on December 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Terrible and Nasty

I loved the story line between the 2 main characters. But the rest of the book was nasty and poorly written. A man who mastubates on a dying person, really? Nasty. Racism was rampant as well. A 3 yo was killed with semen in her stomach and the reader was made to re...
I loved the story line between the 2 main characters. But the rest of the book was nasty and poorly written. A man who mastubates on a dying person, really? Nasty. Racism was rampant as well. A 3 yo was killed with semen in her stomach and the reader was made to read about it several times, yuck. I am a lover of books and hate to write a negative review but this book was nasty. Why not just stick with the romance between the 2 lead characters? I really wonder about the sanity of this author. Bottom line, I finished the book but would never read another by this author.

posted by 5820919 on January 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Hard core mystery

    This book is about 580 pages long. It was pretty well edited for a freebie. It is a hard core mystery. There are no soft edges to this plot. This book deals with suicide, spouse and child abuse,pediphilia, sexual attraction to the dead, alcohal and drug abuse, insanity, rape, extremely violent, graphic murder, graphic sex, arson, hit and run, revenge, adultry, animal abuse and racial bias. There is also romance. About the only thing this book lacked was an over abundance of cursing, which I am not complaining about. I have probably left a few out, but these are the main ones. There were a few minor editing problems. Some of the B & N free books are almost unreadable because of errata, so it is nice to find none or just a few mistakes. ( none, never happens.) The plot was good, I knew early on, whodunit, but as the crime rate at Green Lake continued to climb, so did the whodunits. This book really held my interest. I started reading it at 9 P M and finished at 3 A M. It was fascinating. I would recommend this book to male and female readers, 18 years of age and up.

    AD

    93 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Great book!

    I just want the author to know I would gladly pay to read more from you! Yes, this book was free, but it is very long and very well written! Sit back and get to know the creepy residents that live year round at "the lake"!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Yay

    Best free book i have read so far! It kept my attention and i didnt want to put it down! The ending was soooo good but at the same time i wanted more. I miss mad and eris! Would love a part two.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    Anonymous

    Really great book. I couldn't stop turning the pages. It really has you going. I highly recommend it. It's not only awesome but also free.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great book!

    This book captured my attention from beginning to end. I would recommend it to anyone.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Super!

    What a fantastic book! The characters were wonderful, the storyline is complex and it's evolvement makes it impossible to put the book down! Absolutely loved it ! Highly recommended!!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Great book

    To all those people who bit@#$d about the abrupt ending, what more do you want! Allthe loose ends get tied up and the perverted antagonist gets exactly what he deserves, as do both protagonists...oh and this book is not 600pages!! Its under250!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I thought this was a very good story, held my interest all throu

    I thought this was a very good story, held my interest all through the story, it was well written and I would read more of this authors novels.
    I found this book in the free section, well worth reading. It is over 600 pages, but worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Excellent read!

    I had read the reviews and almost DIDN'T read it as l don' t like smutty books. The sex was not the graphic " how to" scenes, even the pedophilia section was not great in detail or length for which l was pleased there was restraint here. I read this in one day in three sittings. A fast read that was difficult to put down. I would recommend this to any adult thriller loving reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Some really gruesome stuff... (bw)

    ...but really enjoyed the development of the two main characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2014

    This book, though dealing with some dark subject matter, had int

    This book, though dealing with some dark subject matter, had interesting main characters that kept my attention and made we want to keep reading find out how their romance would develop.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2013

    Very nicely written

    This kept you wondering what was going to happen next

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Green Lake

    I actually really enjoyed this book. One of the better well written free books I have ever read. It is an easy read and about 600 nook pages. I loved how all the characters possessed completely different personalities, it made the book so much more interesting. The book had many twists and turns and I found myself wishing that the child murderer was left a mystery longer, but after finishing the book and needing to tie all the loose ends together it made a lot of sense to reveal the killer sooner.
    Yes, this book does deal with some difficult topics, but how the book was written I don't feel you need a strong stomach to read this. None of those topics were too deeply elaborated and readers are only given the bare essentials in informarion.
    The thing that bugged me the most about this book was how the main character's physical scars from having chicken pox was constantly being discussed. It just became annoying after awhile and I just ended up feeling bad for the guy and wanting to punch anyone that said anything bad about how he looked. Other than that, I didn't have any issues, I definitely want to read more from this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    I loved this book!

    So many twists and turns. Very unique and entertaining.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Suspenseful to the FULLEST! Camper & Nature Lover Must Read!

    This is part city and part country but all suspense! Set at a campground in a large wooded location, you can almost smell the mossy water and hear the birds singing, this story is so detailed. Yet in giving the details including who the killer is towards the middle of the story doesn't dampen, or ruin it because it has as many twists and turns as an old country road! The suspense keeps you on your seat and makes you shake your head at what you're reading as characters in a novel because if you've ever camped or fished enough, you know these ACTUALLY exist out there in the real world. A GREAT read!!! Can't wait for this author to come out with book 2 of this series (hint hint) LOVED the main characters and he left room for continuance, so I'm anxious to see another written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    Thank you for letting those of us that do not want to read sexu

    Thank you for letting those of us that do not want to read sexually explicit material. Not my cup of tea but fr those who donto mind fine too!
    But it is helpful to me to know what Im getting into.
    thanks again.granny

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2013

    One of the best yet

    This is by far one of the best free books I've read so far.
    A part love story, part murder mystery, part dark comedy.
    Very twisted and I'd say really not for the faint of heart. Contains rather graphic sexual content.
    The book kept me interested and wanting more with every page. Another one where the ending tide everything up amazingly well with a twist of dark humor. LOVE IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Love this book! it has it all sexual attraction, murder, child a

    Love this book! it has it all sexual attraction, murder, child abuse, I wanted to slow down reading because I didn't want it to end, Hope to see more awesome books by this author . A must add to your library .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    What a great read. A great book. As a Mom there are some parts that made my skin

    As a parent there were some parts that would freeze your heart. Loved the way this was written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    totaly awesome!

    Love this book wish there was a 2nd...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 12