BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 642 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(503)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

STEPHEN KING DOES IT AGAIN !

Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism...
Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism and Death Row. He has worked there all his life, but never before had been in a situation in where he has to choose between his job, the law, and possibly his life and doing whats right. This is definitely a book for you if you like a suspenseful book! Don't mind the number of pages! I definitely recommend this book for all you people who like a book about moral, justice, segregation, and a little twist at the end! Stephen King uses his fantastic, horrific ideas and blends it with a realistic conflict that keeps you on your toes. I couldn't put the book down! During my free time, I read page after page after page! Honestly, I was never a reader to begin with! But, this book changed my perspective of reading! After reading this novel I craved for more of Stephen King's fantastic books. I now am convinced that King is one of the best authors, his way of style, his lessons, and his use of imagery (especially the execution of Delacroix, or the scene with Melinda Moores), Stephen King truly brings his art to life! I believe everyone should take some time out of their busy life to read this book. I give Stephen King a hand for another successful novel.

posted by BAMBAM808 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is writt

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is written in spanish

posted by wdawg on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 644 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    STEPHEN KING DOES IT AGAIN !

    Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism and Death Row. He has worked there all his life, but never before had been in a situation in where he has to choose between his job, the law, and possibly his life and doing whats right. This is definitely a book for you if you like a suspenseful book! Don't mind the number of pages! I definitely recommend this book for all you people who like a book about moral, justice, segregation, and a little twist at the end! Stephen King uses his fantastic, horrific ideas and blends it with a realistic conflict that keeps you on your toes. I couldn't put the book down! During my free time, I read page after page after page! Honestly, I was never a reader to begin with! But, this book changed my perspective of reading! After reading this novel I craved for more of Stephen King's fantastic books. I now am convinced that King is one of the best authors, his way of style, his lessons, and his use of imagery (especially the execution of Delacroix, or the scene with Melinda Moores), Stephen King truly brings his art to life! I believe everyone should take some time out of their busy life to read this book. I give Stephen King a hand for another successful novel.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just like the movie, only different

    After watching the movie several times, I finally got around to reading the book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this novel. While not tracking entirely with the movie, it tells the exact same story and then some. If you are a fan of the movie, you need to read the book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Shocking

    This book, The Green Mile by Stephen King, shocked me. As a ninth grader who does not get around to recreational reading, I was absolutely surprised how engaging this book was. I have never read a book that grabbed my attention like this one has. The first thing that I noticed about the book was the the author's name, Stephen King, which I have seen all over television commercials that are advertising a new T.V series or something. So I thought I would give this book a try. I am so happy that I did, Stephen King's ability to put such emotion in a book is outstanding. The description is so precise. He easily paints every scene that he describes in my head. You might be thinking that you probably won't like it, because you are not a reader. Well I'm like that, someone who finds it almost impossible to read a book that is uninteresting. But, this book is completely worth all the long hours you put in. I was completely drawn to this book. It provided me with a completely new look upon reading books, I have never actually wanted to keep on reading like this before. I strongly urge people to pick up a copy of this book.

    I loved the description used in every page. Stephen King can take such a minor detail and dilate it into something much more. Beside the amazing emotion and description, I loved the character John Coffey. He is a tall, broad African American who seems very mysterious in the beginning of the book. However, I like to compare him to a modernized, human form of God. He takes in all the bad of the world and only tries to release good and peace. He must have looked quite intimidating at first because he towers over the guards and is so thick. However, John does not try to cause any trouble, he remains calm. John Coffey was a great contribution to why I adore this book. Along with the characters, emotion, and description; I liked the perspective that Stephen King used. The way that the book is written in one of the guard's perspective is momentous. If it was written in John's perspective, then it wouldn't give the book as much suspense. The guard's perspective gave the ability to give a great description on what John looks like.

    Overall, this book is worth the time that you put in to read it. You can take many values that the book touches upon. I strongly urge you to take the time to find this book and let your mind get lost in the pure beauty of the book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    This book is amazing

    This book was the best book i ever red it will put a smile on your face tears on the page and laghter in the air. I have never loved a book so much, i recomend this book to anyone who is intrested in reading such an magnifisent book. I would not let kids read it if the are not yet mature enough to handle such graphic details.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Wow

    This is such a sweet, loving book. I loved the movie, but the book is better.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2010

    The Green Mile

    The book the Green Mile is by far one of the best books I have read in my entire life. Not only is it a touching story, it is also something that makes you realize that not all people are so terrible because of something they have done. Maybe they are good but have a poisoned soul. The problems in this book that the main character, Paul, encounter are tragic yet life-changing. He is one of the most courageous characters in the book, next to Mr. Coffey. I'm sure by just looking at Mr. Coffey's record, most would say he is a terrible man and deserves to be executed. And yes, I agree that he did a terrible, terrible thing, but that doesn't mean he doesn't deserve to at least live. He can help people and heal then with great power. It would be much better for everyone if he was alive, because he would help save them with his healing powers. The question that I still ponder is that If John Coffey was a savior, why not let him live? In spite of his wrong doing, he deserves a second chance.


    Bobbye Foster

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    The Best Peice of Literature Ever Written

    This was by far kings best work! His use of characters and interaction was mezmorizing, the way he had Del, and John, and Paul, it made you feel like you were on the mile jsut off to the side. Wow If I could give it more stars I would!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is writt

    do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is written in spanish

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    This is my favorite book by Stephen King!

    This is my favorite book by Stephen King!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    i have every one on paperback and this matches the real books

    my favorite book series of all, ive read the whole series like four or five times

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    The green mile

    One of the best books king has produced even though it is more spiritual than scarey no one makes better characters
    It is easy to bellieve

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2002

    Gripping from beginning to end

    I think that this is definitly one of the best books ever written. From beginning to end, it makes perfect sense and no one could have written a better ending or made it so touching and realistic. And coming from a teenager- that is saying a lot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    My absolute favorite book...

    I would give it 10 stars if I could! I actually read this book when it was initially released, and the wait between books almost killed me! I don't think he could have pulled off a serial with any other novel he has done. This is a true accomplishment on his part, and a gift to those of us who've read it. A heart-wrenching tale of 'good prevails all' with a dash of the enlightening supernatural -- Of course, it wouldn't be classic King without a bit of supernatural! Overall, being an avid reader of all genres, this is by far one of the best works I've ever read. The light-at-the-end-of-the-tunnel theme is a pleasant hiatus from the dreary unknown of his usual writings. The book is a true inspiration that proves, once again, his undying talent for storytelling.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    Better than the movie

    Answered so many questions left over from the movie. The print was not great but the story was

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    To start off, I must say that the story was very powerful and ex

    To start off, I must say that the story was very powerful and exceptional! However, what killed the book for me was how crude King was. Now I know that it was set in a prison setting and crudeness is a given, but it was crude throughout the whole book when it wasn't necessary. Overall it was an amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Get this book

    All moviewatchers will not get the full story that is in this book. This book will be better than anything that a movie could ever reproduce. The description that he puts into each scene is amazing, and he can transition the scenes so well that it doesn't even feel like the end of a chapter, but the beginning of another. The way he paints each character makes them seem as if they are real people and who you will care about. Some characters you will come to hate, and some you will feel terrible for. If you've saw the movie and liked it, you need to read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Simply moving

    One of the most, if not the most emotionally moving books i have ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    LadySun1965

    This is in my top 5 favorite Stephen King novels!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    Llo Great read

    Love it. One of the few book made to movies that the movie was just as good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Excellent Read

    This is one of King's best. Even better than the movie and that's saying something. If you think he only writes horror, think again! A wonderful book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 644 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 33