Customer Reviews for

The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 631 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(498)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

STEPHEN KING DOES IT AGAIN !

Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism...
Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism and Death Row. He has worked there all his life, but never before had been in a situation in where he has to choose between his job, the law, and possibly his life and doing whats right. This is definitely a book for you if you like a suspenseful book! Don't mind the number of pages! I definitely recommend this book for all you people who like a book about moral, justice, segregation, and a little twist at the end! Stephen King uses his fantastic, horrific ideas and blends it with a realistic conflict that keeps you on your toes. I couldn't put the book down! During my free time, I read page after page after page! Honestly, I was never a reader to begin with! But, this book changed my perspective of reading! After reading this novel I craved for more of Stephen King's fantastic books. I now am convinced that King is one of the best authors, his way of style, his lessons, and his use of imagery (especially the execution of Delacroix, or the scene with Melinda Moores), Stephen King truly brings his art to life! I believe everyone should take some time out of their busy life to read this book. I give Stephen King a hand for another successful novel.

posted by BAMBAM808 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is writt

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is written in spanish

posted by wdawg on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 23, 2014

    Good Story, Bad Printing

    I have read The Green Mile several times, and I have never grown tired of the story. I believe it is one Stephen King's best novels. The characters are well written, and the environment is almost palpable during reading. You have the sense that you are not lying in your bed, or in the backyard, reading a book, but actually there on E Block, with Boss Edgecomb and the others. The intensity of the tale wraps itself around you, and it doesn't let you go until the very end. That said, it was hard to read this eBook, because there are many typographical errors, and on some pages, there are only one or two words spelled out vertically. It was quite frustrating at times, because there are some places where three or four consecutive pages are like that, printed vertically, including all the punctuation marks. If you really want to read the story, please do so, but if you get aggravated easily, skip the eBook and buy the paperback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Movie

    First Stephen King book I read. I've read only a hand full of fiction books. But a few hundred non fiction. I thought the book was real good. Mr. King is everything I heard he was. If I did Not see the movie it would of made the book much better. I just read. The book The Godfather and the way the Author told in depth about small charters you saw in the movie their roles were much more in the book and I was looking for that in the Green Mile not so much as small roles but where and how did they live and where they grew up and ended .where they did. Where was wild.bill from how did Big John become Big John Anyway buy it and enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Loved this book, especially after watching thye movie. Though parts of the story are a bit far fetched, it is entertaining. One can't help but wonder how much of the death row (Green Mile) may be at least partially accurate. In my opinion it is worth reading more than once.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    a good book

    of course it was good just like the movie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2008

    really sad

    The book I am reading now is The Green Mile by Stephen King. This book is about these guys who are in jail for murder. That they are most known for on The Green Mile. My favorite part is when Alern Bitterbuck was sent to the electric chair. I have no connection to this story. I would recommend this book to people who likes prison books. That¿s why I should recommend this book to other people, because it keeps your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2005

    the not so great book

    the green mile by stevan king was a very difficult book to read. the setting was kind of hard to keep up with. Every now and then ,out of nowhere, the setting would change. Also the point of the story was hard to understand as well the wording confuseing.All and all the book was very good and i would recomend it for those who have a higher ability of comprehending books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2004

    This book had a GREAT meaning to it.

    I thought this book had a GREAT meaning to it because i thought that it wasn't about death itself but it had a two characters who i thought stuck out in the book. Like for example Dell, he was charged with murder, but he didn't seem like a killer, instead he just seemed kind of crazy. Sometimes i thought he meant well,when he was playing with his friend Mr. Jinggles,which is his pet mouse. Mr. Jinggles plays fetch with a spool which was funny. Then their is John Coffe his is one of the best characters in the book because he was charged with murdering two twin girls. But instead he was trying to safe them later he ends up in the electric chair. Things that made him so great its that he a gift that was given to him, a gift that know one else can have but him. He heals people that can not be healed. for you to see what i am talking about you should go and read the book for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2004

    Is it really that great?

    First off: yes, it is a great story adorned with likeable and unlikeable personalities. But, there's something about King's writing style that has really crippled along with him in age; he seeems to tell his stories in an indescribable prose that is different, but all the while worse than any of his previous. 'The Dark Half' is executed better than this novel [not to say that TDH is bad, but it was jaunty and at times bland], and this was the book that showed to observant people that King is losing his fire in the creativity and talent field. Nevertheless, King is a great writer, but the King of the early 80's could bring down today's King with a simple cold stare. Okay, to the story and its points. As we know, it centers around a black behemoth named John Coffey who is tried and found guilty of rape of murder [liably; this is not that similar to To Kill A Mockingbird] who seems to have the power to heal. Through his dairies [as the story is badly and choppily presented to the reader] E Block head officer Paul Edgecombe questions the ethics of Coffey, his actions, his being, and the people who have convicted him. He searches for different views, going as far as visiting the home of the newspaper reporter Hammersmith to get his opinion. Edgecombe also goes to God and wonders aimlessly why God would behave in such a way to put a man like Coffey on Death Row but to give him healing powers. Edgecombe, along with the neutral Dean Stanton, the sadistic and snippy Percy Wetmore, and the dutiful Harry Terwilliger watches over the condemned on E Block--named 'The Green Mile' because of the color of its tiles--including Eduard Delacroix, Arlen Bitterbuck, The Pres, and William 'the Kid' Wharton. Though it is choppy, badly-executed [that's a pun, son, as Dean Stanton would say], and dank, The Green Mile is a good story that King had a good mind to write, but it's bad that it didn't turn out as he [and we] had hoped.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    this book is great

    this book is a lot better than the movie so you must read it is fantastic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Okay, but not great

    This would of been a better book if they wouldn't of split it up into different sections. Some of the langauge is unfit for a younger audience and I didn't enjoy the execution descriptions either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2