Customer Reviews for

The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 635 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(500)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

STEPHEN KING DOES IT AGAIN !

Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism...
Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism and Death Row. He has worked there all his life, but never before had been in a situation in where he has to choose between his job, the law, and possibly his life and doing whats right. This is definitely a book for you if you like a suspenseful book! Don't mind the number of pages! I definitely recommend this book for all you people who like a book about moral, justice, segregation, and a little twist at the end! Stephen King uses his fantastic, horrific ideas and blends it with a realistic conflict that keeps you on your toes. I couldn't put the book down! During my free time, I read page after page after page! Honestly, I was never a reader to begin with! But, this book changed my perspective of reading! After reading this novel I craved for more of Stephen King's fantastic books. I now am convinced that King is one of the best authors, his way of style, his lessons, and his use of imagery (especially the execution of Delacroix, or the scene with Melinda Moores), Stephen King truly brings his art to life! I believe everyone should take some time out of their busy life to read this book. I give Stephen King a hand for another successful novel.

posted by BAMBAM808 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is writt

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is written in spanish

posted by wdawg on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2003

    Green mile gone good

    The green mile is a fantastic book because it shows us what prison life is like. The characters are great in this book and it is just so cool how the book ties into some people's life. John Coffey was my favorite character in this book because he had the power to heal people that were sick or had something wrong with them. Paul Edgecomb was my next favorite because he was so afraid of John Coffey and then he got to know him and he liked him and he brought him a gift when he helped him with his problem, and Paul even tried to get John out of the prison because he knew he was innocent. The person that I disliked the most was Percy Wetmore because he was so mean to people like when he busted Delacroixs hand for laughing at him, and when John first arrived Percy brought him in and he was yelling 'DEAD MAN WALKING' and when they executed Delacroix he didn't get the sponge wet so he died a terrible death. The character that was so unpredictable was Wild Bill and he was the one that made all the trouble in this book, he is the one responsible for John Coffey's prison sentence. I like this book because of where it takes place and it seems like this death row isn't half as bad as some of them around the world. The guys in this book have a lot of fun on the job but they hate doing executions. This book is for anyone over the age of fifteen because there are racial comments and this book is for anyone that likes fiction books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    The Green Mile

    The Green Mile is a very unique prison novel and different from other King novels. From the characters to the setting, there is never a dull moment. The novel is being told by a man, Paul, who is thinking back on his days as a guard at a high security prison. As I read from this point of view, I just wanted to hear what Paul¿s next story was going to be. King describes things with great detail and has no trouble keeping the book moving. King gets you hooked and never lets you down, even through the few slower parts of the book. At age18, and still in high school, I don¿t have a lot of time to just sit and read. With this book I had no problems in making time to finish it. This book is great no matter what your age. I do recommend that you are older than 16 due to some of the references made throughout the book. There is only one part that is not for people with weak stomachs but that can be easily skipped. At times the language can get to be too much, but if you can get past that the book is excellent. It will keep you turning pages until you run out of pages to turn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Green mile Book Review

    The main chariters of the Green Mile are the prison guard Paul Edgecomb. And a 6ft 8in giant named John Coffey. Paul is supsected that John has a special power. John is put on death row for being suspected of raping and murdering two twin girls. He was found holding the girls and socked in there blood. King did very well in describing the type of book since it is not like his type of work. I belive this book is really worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2003

    Dazzling

    The book The Green Mile is about life of death row in Cold Mountain Penitentiary. A man named John Coffey comes onto The Green Mile, who is twice the size of any normal man. John would be considered to be a miracle of God, because he has the ability to heal things. The boss of the Mile is Paul and he had a bad urinary infection, and John Coffey put his hands on Paul and healed him. Another person who works there is Percy, he¿s a mean person who sabotages one of the inmates executions. During the middle of the book a new inmate comes in, ¿Wild Bill¿ or William Wharton. He¿s a man who dreams to be just like Billy the Kid. Eventually you find out that ¿Wild Bill¿ is the one who really raped and killed the two girls who John was charged for murdering. He was charged for it because he had the two dead girls in is arms, because he had tried to take it back but it was too late.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    The Green Mile

    The Green Mile is about life during the 30¿s on the E block of Cold Mountain Prison. It is told through the eyes of the E blocks head guard, and explains John Coffey¿s time on the block. King did a good job with this book and it isn¿t like any of his books I have read before. Most people are afraid of his book because they think the books are scary or gory, but this book is nothing like that. The detail in this book is amazing and I recommend it to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2002

    Very Emotional

    This was the first book that I had read by Stephen King and I loved it. It was very emotional and made me want to cry. I always thought that Stephen King just wrote scary books, but he doesn't. His characters in this book are so real. I think just about any person could relate to at least one of the characters in this book. If you get this book you won't be sorry, because it is an emotional rollercoaster from beginning to end. You'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2002

    1/17/02

    This is the first SK novel that I have ever read and I think that I am hooked. I thought that the book was incredibly powerful and made me think a lot. There is only one reason why I gave it four stars instead of five, the ending. I don't that they should have killed John Coffey, I think that at the last second the phone should have rang and there should've been a second trial. Other than that it was probably the best book I've ever readen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2000

    the mile is great

    the green mile is great it is the best thing king has writen snice misary

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2000

    Walk A Mile In My Shoes

    At the outset of The Green Mile I was mildly disppointed in the story, thinking it was too far-fetched to merit much attention. After all, Mr. King himself said in the foreward that one of the main reasons for publishing the story in chap-book form was to simply see if it could be done successfully. So I figured, in the beginning, that Mr. King didn't so much care about the story as he did about the process of publishing it. Boy was I ever wrong! As the story about the befuddled and ultimately doomed John Coffey unfolded,I was drawn into the drama of the story, as I always am in a King tale. Before the end I cared deeply for several of the characters, felt their pain, felt like I knew them. Another constant in a Stephen King work of fiction--brilliant and believable characterization, no matter how far-fetched the tale may be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2000

    Don't Expect Horror Novel!

    I have only one thing to say:Although this is a novel by Stephen King, it is not a horror story. It is a powerful, disturbing human drama that scares you only in terms of the moral decisions that we all must face at some point--and that the wrong choice can offer no redemption. This novel also shows that sometimes, living can be a much greater punishment than death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    Great book from King

    Stephan King's beautifully writen novel, The Green Mile,was my first King novel. King shows the change that prision gurd, Paul Edgecombe, goes though. he has witnessed about 80 exicutions of murders, rapists, arsonists and other sick minds. In the summer of 1932, it became the sumer of John Coffey. Coffey was a miricle man. He helped Edgecombe along with a mouse Mr. Jingles. They lived long properious lives. I liked the way that King made Edgecombe old and no being able to be incomtrol of his life. He was a prioson guard for so long and kIng made him a prision himself in the old age home. This journey through Cold Mountian Penitentiary is one that had me in tears at the end. Good show Mr. King.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 1999

    Gotta read it!

    I must say--this is one book you've just got to read! Personally it kept my attention from the very beginning, but then again I enjoy reading books by Stephen King. So if you are looking for something to read that is exciting and to the point---'The Green Mile' by Stephen King is the one. Take my word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 1999

    Caught my attention to the end

    This is a book that needs to be devoured to completion. Great character development adds to this intricate plot. Guaranteed not to dissapoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 94 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5