Customer Reviews for

The Green Mile: The Complete Serial Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 635 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(500)

4 Star

(94)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

STEPHEN KING DOES IT AGAIN !

Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism...
Stephen King, the famous artist of spook tales and horror books probably created his best novel yet! The Green Mile, an interesting story like no other, talks about Paul Edgecomb and his life at the Louisiana State Penitentiary, it dates long back to the times of racism and Death Row. He has worked there all his life, but never before had been in a situation in where he has to choose between his job, the law, and possibly his life and doing whats right. This is definitely a book for you if you like a suspenseful book! Don't mind the number of pages! I definitely recommend this book for all you people who like a book about moral, justice, segregation, and a little twist at the end! Stephen King uses his fantastic, horrific ideas and blends it with a realistic conflict that keeps you on your toes. I couldn't put the book down! During my free time, I read page after page after page! Honestly, I was never a reader to begin with! But, this book changed my perspective of reading! After reading this novel I craved for more of Stephen King's fantastic books. I now am convinced that King is one of the best authors, his way of style, his lessons, and his use of imagery (especially the execution of Delacroix, or the scene with Melinda Moores), Stephen King truly brings his art to life! I believe everyone should take some time out of their busy life to read this book. I give Stephen King a hand for another successful novel.

posted by BAMBAM808 on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is writt

do not buy on nook the cover is in english but the book is written in spanish

posted by wdawg on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 500 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    *_*

    I have seen the movie and now the book and i feel really SAD. :( but i thank u for this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Movie was the best?

    The movie was super long but I think it could have beeb a little bit shorter although this book was the best book of Steven King I really love this author I think he is better than Edgar Allen Poe !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    AWESOME

    I did like the book more than the movie. Both are still awesome and will continue to watch and read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    8=====B

    Amazing read!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    Exceptional story by King, however, I would give the format of t

    Exceptional story by King, however, I would give the format of the book 1 star, due to difficulty with reading it on my ipad.  It was not written in Spanish, for me, as another reviewer noted, but some pages had one word written vertically for the entire page (so one letter per line) and others had sentences that were supposed to continue but didn't until a couple pages later.  Seems a basic problem on formatting a print book to a digital one.  Loved the story enough to continue, despite the brain challenges, but FYI to those who read digitally.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    I will never understand how the books IT, THE STAND, and CUJO co

    I will never understand how the books IT, THE STAND, and CUJO could be written by the author of The Green Mile. Green Mile is a sensational read and even better movie. What ever the alignment of the stars was when King wrote this is the alignment he should always write under.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Great read!

    One of the better Stephen King books in my opinion. I couldn't put it down. I thought it was better than the movie, but what book isn't? I recommend this book to everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Great book, good movie too.

    Love this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Hyhyhy

    Love the movie<3!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Paul Edgecombe, block superintendent in a state prison somewhere

    Paul Edgecombe, block superintendent in a state prison somewhere in the south, is waiting the arrival of a new inmate on death row to walk down the green mile. They call it that because the broad corridor leading to the electric chair is a hue of green.
    Although he has witnessed the execution of over 70 men, Edgecombe, who narrates the story, has become neither frightened nor hardened by his job; he takes a lot of pride in his work. Yet he's strongly troubled by the look of John Coffey, a giant, quiet, and gentle-seeming black man convicted and sentenced to death for the rape-murders of Kathe and Cora Detterick, nine-year-old twin girls.
    One of the big risks of book reviewing is giving away too much of the plot and spoiling things for future readers. Is Coffey innocent? What happens to the other prisoner on death row? What mayhem will vicious prison guard Percy Wetmore create. How is the book going to turn out? All I do know for sure at this point is that I'm hooked, and hooked good.
    -KirstenC. NEHI

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Spooky

    I love this book it is so tuching i just love it everybody out there i think u should read this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Balled like a baby

    At movie and book. Blimey, this is worse than V for Vendetta! By worse i dont mean theyre bad i mean theyre really bleedin sad! Just ryhmed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Omg

    This is the best book u will ever read. Ive read it and so should you. Steven king has done a great job creating the characters and the plot. This is a book i give all five stars to!!!!! ;-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Oops

    On my last comment i didnt mean that i loved tat they said the n word i meant i loved the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Incredible, Must Read

    This book is amazing. I saw the movie before reading the book but that only made it better because i was able to picture Coffey and read everything he said in his deep voice. This book is incredible. Its a must read. It will touch your heart and you will instantly fall in love with John Coffey, only making the end of the story 10 times more heartwrenching. MUST READ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Movie

    I love the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Stephen King is so talented. This is the proof positive right h

    Stephen King is so talented. This is the proof positive right here. Not the typical King novel. Nothing gory or twisted (for the most part). Just an amazing tale of human nature with a slight supernatural spin. The characters here jump off the page seem alive. The evil in the book is just that and King definitely shows you the shades of grey that exist in our world. Overall, a great book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    A great read!

    I loved this novel! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    I have always been a huge fan of Stephen King and his writing, b

    I have always been a huge fan of Stephen King and his writing, but this book far exceded my expectations. The way he interweaved the present time and the flashbacks so seamlessly made it incredibly easy to follow and yet a certain aspect of this novel made you stop and think about the plot. Another point I would like to commemorate is the way he developed each character so wholly that I could have a clear picture in my mind of what they looked like. He gave you not only a physical description but also background information, and he built each individuals personality differently to create side conflict away from the main problem in the story. And finally, I would like to give praise to the underlying message which meshes together perfectly with the events leading to the execution of John Coffey. Do not judge by what things appear to be, is the theme that I think King is try to portray which is a lesson that can be used all your life. Overall I think this is an incredible book that can teach you a thing or two about life and a must read for fans of Stephen King!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 500 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 25