Customer Reviews for

Green Rider (Green Rider Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 333 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(231)

4 Star

(78)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Masterpiece!

This book is absolutly amazing! This book has everything; magic, adventure, humor, romance, plot twists, battles, and crazy smart horses. Kristen Britain never ever seems to disappoint! The only thing is that it takes her awhile to wriite a new book, but trust me its so...
This book is absolutly amazing! This book has everything; magic, adventure, humor, romance, plot twists, battles, and crazy smart horses. Kristen Britain never ever seems to disappoint! The only thing is that it takes her awhile to wriite a new book, but trust me its so worth the wait! I havnt met anyone whos read this book and not fallen head over heels in love.

posted by 5787840 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected

When going into this, I knew that this wasn't going to be the best thing I've ever read. I just finished Soul Mirror, by Carol Berg, and that was a very intense read; not a single moment of reprieve, and from the first page, I also knew that Green Rider wasn't going to ...
When going into this, I knew that this wasn't going to be the best thing I've ever read. I just finished Soul Mirror, by Carol Berg, and that was a very intense read; not a single moment of reprieve, and from the first page, I also knew that Green Rider wasn't going to be, in any way, the same. But I expected to enjoy it somewhat. It had good reviews and it had a very interesting basis. I like the idea of Green Riders, I even enjoyed the bits about the Gray One; even Karigan I liked at first. But everything the author presents in the first few pages are never fully developed. We are told that Karigan is very strongheaded and tough, but when it comes down to it, she only triumphs in hard situations because she has help telling her what to do. I could list more examples but my review would go on forever. Other things I hated were the fact that Kristen Britain doesn't, apparently, know how to hammer out realistic characters. Karigan is a foolish young girl--yes, this is very true. But even foolish people are scared when danger approaches and are fazed by death. In the beginning, Karigan watches a green rider die (he was obviously MURDERED) and yet she doesn't ever really seem to care. I mean, any normal human being would get chills or have nightmares or think about death after watching someone, even a total stranger, die. If Britain's world were a harsh place where murder and death surrounded a person at every turn, then perhaps it's understandable that she would be literally unaffected by it; but that's not the case. This girl comes from a wealthy family and just got dismissed from a boarding school. I doubt she watched many people die. Beyond that, there are characters like the Berry Sisters (Bayberry and Bunchberry, in case you were wondering, are their names) who are eccentric woman only concerned about being polite and their tea. They could be amusing, but mostly they grate on my nerves. Then the bad guys. I will admit I haven't read past page 250, but it seems that the bad guys mentioned think about sex all the time. First the governor of Mirwall has lewd thoughts about his secretary, and then Garrot, one of Karigan's captives, tries to rape her. It's really unnecessary. The last thing, however, is the movement of plot. It all happens by chance. First she meets a dying green rider who makes her promise to deliver a message. Then she comes in contact with his murderers who want to capture her now, too. Then she falls asleep in the woods and is woken up by the Berry sisters. Then she gets captured by her pursuants; escapes and then gets attacked by a giant scorpion thing; and then she runs into a giant spiderweb while running away; meanwhile 200 pages have gone by and we still don't know what the actual plot IS. Yes, she's trying to deliver a message that somebody is trying to overthrow the king...but...nothing new is introduced during these 200 pages. We know this from the beginning. I truly think something that should take a few days at most shouldn't take up 400 pages. Yes, the author should put obstacles in Karigan's way but...they should be relevant to the plot. Giant spiders and insane women and giants and talking animals and elf-like peoples straight out of Lord of the Rings aren't. I'm generally liberal when it comes down to ratings. I usually give out 5 or 4 stars, on here or other websites, but I couldn't finish this book. I rarely say this, but it's a 1 without a doubt.

posted by Anzabel on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unexpected

    When going into this, I knew that this wasn't going to be the best thing I've ever read. I just finished Soul Mirror, by Carol Berg, and that was a very intense read; not a single moment of reprieve, and from the first page, I also knew that Green Rider wasn't going to be, in any way, the same. But I expected to enjoy it somewhat. It had good reviews and it had a very interesting basis. I like the idea of Green Riders, I even enjoyed the bits about the Gray One; even Karigan I liked at first. But everything the author presents in the first few pages are never fully developed. We are told that Karigan is very strongheaded and tough, but when it comes down to it, she only triumphs in hard situations because she has help telling her what to do. I could list more examples but my review would go on forever. Other things I hated were the fact that Kristen Britain doesn't, apparently, know how to hammer out realistic characters. Karigan is a foolish young girl--yes, this is very true. But even foolish people are scared when danger approaches and are fazed by death. In the beginning, Karigan watches a green rider die (he was obviously MURDERED) and yet she doesn't ever really seem to care. I mean, any normal human being would get chills or have nightmares or think about death after watching someone, even a total stranger, die. If Britain's world were a harsh place where murder and death surrounded a person at every turn, then perhaps it's understandable that she would be literally unaffected by it; but that's not the case. This girl comes from a wealthy family and just got dismissed from a boarding school. I doubt she watched many people die. Beyond that, there are characters like the Berry Sisters (Bayberry and Bunchberry, in case you were wondering, are their names) who are eccentric woman only concerned about being polite and their tea. They could be amusing, but mostly they grate on my nerves. Then the bad guys. I will admit I haven't read past page 250, but it seems that the bad guys mentioned think about sex all the time. First the governor of Mirwall has lewd thoughts about his secretary, and then Garrot, one of Karigan's captives, tries to rape her. It's really unnecessary. The last thing, however, is the movement of plot. It all happens by chance. First she meets a dying green rider who makes her promise to deliver a message. Then she comes in contact with his murderers who want to capture her now, too. Then she falls asleep in the woods and is woken up by the Berry sisters. Then she gets captured by her pursuants; escapes and then gets attacked by a giant scorpion thing; and then she runs into a giant spiderweb while running away; meanwhile 200 pages have gone by and we still don't know what the actual plot IS. Yes, she's trying to deliver a message that somebody is trying to overthrow the king...but...nothing new is introduced during these 200 pages. We know this from the beginning. I truly think something that should take a few days at most shouldn't take up 400 pages. Yes, the author should put obstacles in Karigan's way but...they should be relevant to the plot. Giant spiders and insane women and giants and talking animals and elf-like peoples straight out of Lord of the Rings aren't. I'm generally liberal when it comes down to ratings. I usually give out 5 or 4 stars, on here or other websites, but I couldn't finish this book. I rarely say this, but it's a 1 without a doubt.

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    Masterpiece!

    This book is absolutly amazing! This book has everything; magic, adventure, humor, romance, plot twists, battles, and crazy smart horses. Kristen Britain never ever seems to disappoint! The only thing is that it takes her awhile to wriite a new book, but trust me its so worth the wait! I havnt met anyone whos read this book and not fallen head over heels in love.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A Great Adventure

    I really enjoyed The Green Rider, and thought it was a great start to a series, as well as a great first novel for the writer. I liked the lead character, as well as the many other we meet along her journey. I look forward to reading the rest of the series. I recommend this book to adults and older teens who would like to read a fantasy/adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    Loved it

    im a big fan of all mystical magic-like books, but this blew me away! i cant wait for the fourth!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting ride with The Green Rider!

    If you're looking for something in the fantasy genre outside the worlds of Tolkien, Jordan and Goodkind, give Kristin Britain's new series a try. The premise of the Green Riders is new and intriguing, with the main character being a young woman! It's a "wild ride" along with Karigan G'ladheon through the Green Cloak forest and into the world of the Green Riders. Magic, intrigue, the politics of a kingdom endangered by an ancient enemy....and only the Green Riders stand to defend the world they know from those trying to end it. Pick it up today - it's a great read and you'll enjoy it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    A Magical Ride

    This is one of my absolute favorite books ever. If I'm bored and don't have anything new or I'm going on a long trip, I grab this book because it never gets old and I find something new everytime. Karigan is about as real of a character as anyone can bring to life. After running away from school, she gets thrust into a world of magic and intrigue. With her new partner, The Horse, she must deliever a message. But someone doesn't want said message to make it to its final destination. Kristen Britian surely is a gift writer. Not only do her characters come to life, but the imagery is so vivid, you'll feel like you're there. No part of this story is boring in anyway. If you're looking for a great magical page-turner, read this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great foundation book of the series. Book 2: ' First Riders Call

    Great foundation book of the series. Book 2: ' First Riders Call' is just as good and Book 3: 'The High King's Tomb' is even better! They are also light enough that younger generations (teens) can enjoy and relate and enjoy them all. Granted, it's not a book for everyone but is one that leaves the reader impatient to read the next book in the series.

    Is not for people who like deep and complex plots/themes/characters they can absorb and over analyze or want fast paced plot movement and " truly think something that should take a few days at most shouldn't take up 400 pages." Never mind the fact this book is the foundation of the whole series and Karigan is facing dangers at every turn in the book while trying to deliver a message that wasn't her's to deliver in the first place, out running enemies that will stop at nothing to kill her to keep the message from being delivered, AND is to do so with no other help than the Spirit of the Murdered Green Rider who made per promise to get the message to Sacor City and his mount/a horse. She also discovers that the Green Rider's Broach holds magic she learns she can wield to help her escape and elude those intent on stopping her. In the end she helps defeat the King's Enemies, the Mirwellians, and learns a lot about herself and who she is to become (her calling in life). In the end she finds that she's no longer just an average citizen of her world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2011

    I loved it!

    Karigan G'ladheon is a well spun character. Britain gives breathe to her story - even in the heavier parts of the book, she lightens the mood with a bit of humor. I especially liked how she tied the Horse into the fabric of the tale. This has everything that I love in a book: action, strong characters, a bit of suspense, and a few horses to boot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Addictive and Powerful

    This is the start to an addictive and powerful series!! Worth every penny.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Must read!!!

    I would encorage anyone to read this. It was an amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one of my fav series

    i tend towards paranormal books, especially ones with animals. this series is well written, engaging, at times very humorous, sigh, i could go on forever so list only negative, which is, well, maybe some sex be nice, poor girl, geez ;) oh, and for some reason takes around four years for next book be released, lucky me did not come across it until fourth book published.. hopefully nothing happens to author before fifth and hopefully final book comes out, im not getting any younger either, lol.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Surprisingly enjoyable

    Other than being a fan of Harry Potter, I have not considered myself a huge fan of fantasy in general. This book may be the one that opens my mind to a new genre. I loaded this into my nook as my first purchase after meeting the author at a literacy event, and I have not been disappointed. Quickly caught up by the characters and the storyline, I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    A favorite

    One of my favorite books, have gone back and read it again and again! A bit scifi a bit medieval history all wrapped up in a suspensful story thats leaves you on the edge of your seat. Overall a great story and thus far a great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    great adventure!

    Well told adventure with a young girl learning she has more strength than she ever expected. Great characterization. Recommend this one to any fan of Fantasy Adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    I read this book for the first time many years ago. Actually, I

    I read this book for the first time many years ago. Actually, I admit I only picked it up because the person at the bookstore recommended it and I thought the cover looked cool. Well once I got around to reading it I absolutely fell in love with it. I read this book back in junior high and I still read it now as I'm about to graduate college. The story just sucks you in and you can't forget it or put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Green Rider Series

    I have read the Green Rider series many times! Love them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Share with everyone you know!

    I am in my 60's and by the time I finished this book I was enchanted and instantly passed it on to my husband. Then my daughter in Wyoming was visiting and took the book home to read. She bought the next 2 books and asked if we wanted them when she was through. We had already bought them and finished reading them. We have been waiting for the next book in the series. Please tell Kristen that I not getting any younger or healthier :-) I have read all of the books 4 times and get something new out each time. Myrna

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    :) (:

    So far so good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Ted

    OR ME!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17