BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Green Rider (Green Rider Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 339 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(236)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Masterpiece!

This book is absolutly amazing! This book has everything; magic, adventure, humor, romance, plot twists, battles, and crazy smart horses. Kristen Britain never ever seems to disappoint! The only thing is that it takes her awhile to wriite a new book, but trust me its so...
This book is absolutly amazing! This book has everything; magic, adventure, humor, romance, plot twists, battles, and crazy smart horses. Kristen Britain never ever seems to disappoint! The only thing is that it takes her awhile to wriite a new book, but trust me its so worth the wait! I havnt met anyone whos read this book and not fallen head over heels in love.

posted by 5787840 on December 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Unexpected

When going into this, I knew that this wasn't going to be the best thing I've ever read. I just finished Soul Mirror, by Carol Berg, and that was a very intense read; not a single moment of reprieve, and from the first page, I also knew that Green Rider wasn't going to ...
When going into this, I knew that this wasn't going to be the best thing I've ever read. I just finished Soul Mirror, by Carol Berg, and that was a very intense read; not a single moment of reprieve, and from the first page, I also knew that Green Rider wasn't going to be, in any way, the same. But I expected to enjoy it somewhat. It had good reviews and it had a very interesting basis. I like the idea of Green Riders, I even enjoyed the bits about the Gray One; even Karigan I liked at first. But everything the author presents in the first few pages are never fully developed. We are told that Karigan is very strongheaded and tough, but when it comes down to it, she only triumphs in hard situations because she has help telling her what to do. I could list more examples but my review would go on forever. Other things I hated were the fact that Kristen Britain doesn't, apparently, know how to hammer out realistic characters. Karigan is a foolish young girl--yes, this is very true. But even foolish people are scared when danger approaches and are fazed by death. In the beginning, Karigan watches a green rider die (he was obviously MURDERED) and yet she doesn't ever really seem to care. I mean, any normal human being would get chills or have nightmares or think about death after watching someone, even a total stranger, die. If Britain's world were a harsh place where murder and death surrounded a person at every turn, then perhaps it's understandable that she would be literally unaffected by it; but that's not the case. This girl comes from a wealthy family and just got dismissed from a boarding school. I doubt she watched many people die. Beyond that, there are characters like the Berry Sisters (Bayberry and Bunchberry, in case you were wondering, are their names) who are eccentric woman only concerned about being polite and their tea. They could be amusing, but mostly they grate on my nerves. Then the bad guys. I will admit I haven't read past page 250, but it seems that the bad guys mentioned think about sex all the time. First the governor of Mirwall has lewd thoughts about his secretary, and then Garrot, one of Karigan's captives, tries to rape her. It's really unnecessary. The last thing, however, is the movement of plot. It all happens by chance. First she meets a dying green rider who makes her promise to deliver a message. Then she comes in contact with his murderers who want to capture her now, too. Then she falls asleep in the woods and is woken up by the Berry sisters. Then she gets captured by her pursuants; escapes and then gets attacked by a giant scorpion thing; and then she runs into a giant spiderweb while running away; meanwhile 200 pages have gone by and we still don't know what the actual plot IS. Yes, she's trying to deliver a message that somebody is trying to overthrow the king...but...nothing new is introduced during these 200 pages. We know this from the beginning. I truly think something that should take a few days at most shouldn't take up 400 pages. Yes, the author should put obstacles in Karigan's way but...they should be relevant to the plot. Giant spiders and insane women and giants and talking animals and elf-like peoples straight out of Lord of the Rings aren't. I'm generally liberal when it comes down to ratings. I usually give out 5 or 4 stars, on here or other websites, but I couldn't finish this book. I rarely say this, but it's a 1 without a doubt.

posted by Anzabel on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    A Great Adventure

    I really enjoyed The Green Rider, and thought it was a great start to a series, as well as a great first novel for the writer. I liked the lead character, as well as the many other we meet along her journey. I look forward to reading the rest of the series. I recommend this book to adults and older teens who would like to read a fantasy/adventure.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting ride with The Green Rider!

    If you're looking for something in the fantasy genre outside the worlds of Tolkien, Jordan and Goodkind, give Kristin Britain's new series a try. The premise of the Green Riders is new and intriguing, with the main character being a young woman! It's a "wild ride" along with Karigan G'ladheon through the Green Cloak forest and into the world of the Green Riders. Magic, intrigue, the politics of a kingdom endangered by an ancient enemy....and only the Green Riders stand to defend the world they know from those trying to end it. Pick it up today - it's a great read and you'll enjoy it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Great foundation book of the series. Book 2: ' First Riders Call

    Great foundation book of the series. Book 2: ' First Riders Call' is just as good and Book 3: 'The High King's Tomb' is even better! They are also light enough that younger generations (teens) can enjoy and relate and enjoy them all. Granted, it's not a book for everyone but is one that leaves the reader impatient to read the next book in the series.

    Is not for people who like deep and complex plots/themes/characters they can absorb and over analyze or want fast paced plot movement and " truly think something that should take a few days at most shouldn't take up 400 pages." Never mind the fact this book is the foundation of the whole series and Karigan is facing dangers at every turn in the book while trying to deliver a message that wasn't her's to deliver in the first place, out running enemies that will stop at nothing to kill her to keep the message from being delivered, AND is to do so with no other help than the Spirit of the Murdered Green Rider who made per promise to get the message to Sacor City and his mount/a horse. She also discovers that the Green Rider's Broach holds magic she learns she can wield to help her escape and elude those intent on stopping her. In the end she helps defeat the King's Enemies, the Mirwellians, and learns a lot about herself and who she is to become (her calling in life). In the end she finds that she's no longer just an average citizen of her world.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Surprisingly enjoyable

    Other than being a fan of Harry Potter, I have not considered myself a huge fan of fantasy in general. This book may be the one that opens my mind to a new genre. I loaded this into my nook as my first purchase after meeting the author at a literacy event, and I have not been disappointed. Quickly caught up by the characters and the storyline, I am looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Very innovative

    Good book with an intricate plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Spin6164

    I liked the storyline. It was a page turner at times and other times I put it down for a day and got back into it. But overall not bad I will certainly be reading more in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Good storyline

    Very different from my normal venue, but absolutely love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    What a Story

    I really enjoyed this book and all of the sequels as well. I like the strong will and free spirit of the lead female character. Britain does a great job creating a world that mixes midevil elements in a magical setting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Excellent read for fans of Mercedes Lackey

    I always have difficulty considering the first book of a Trilogy a 5 star because there's always a lot of character development and background. Really I would put this more at 4.5 if that rating existed. The plot was very good and it certainly kept me engaged. I would read it again if I had to make the decision all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    A Must read for Fantasy Readers!

    This book was very well written. I really enjoyed it. The storyline was enchanting and kept me turning the pages into the wee hours of the early morning. Iwould recommend this whole series to anuyone who wishes to step away from the real world. 'You will not escape the Power and Magic. Kristen Britain weaves an intriguing tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Highly recommended

    If you love brave heroines you'd like this book. The main character is brave, resoursefull and is easy to like. I enjoyed the plot and I was rarely bored. I would recommend this book to anyone. Plus its clean unlike many other books out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2005

    A little too LOTR -ish

    I don't have anything to gripe about. I wasn't expecting a masterpeice by the looks of the book. And after finishing it left me feeling satisfied which is nice. Like another reviewer I wish to hear more from a few of the secondary characters in the next book. Kerigan dominated most of the pages but the alternate points of view were nice. I liked reading about the Red pieces points of view rather than solely the Green. I bet the elves will be more predominant in the next title.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2005

    Fantastic

    I really enjoyed reading ths book. It had a very good cast and a wonderful theme. I simply could not put it down! Good reading for an older crowd, or those with advanced tastes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    The Best Book Ever Written

    This book was by far the best book I've ever read, and I've read a lot of books. Vivian Vande Velde, J.K. Rowling and Tolkien pale in comparison with this book. By the first paragraph I was hooked onto Karigan and immediately demanded all my friends to call me Kari (I'm a freak, I know). By the middle, my favorite color was green...and by the ending, I was dying (literally) to know if Karigan and the king were going to fall in love and if Karigan and the little brat you got her expelled were going to have more troubles ^_^. I am telling you, this is the best present you can give anyone, guy or girl! The only thing that I didn't like was that there were so many questions hanging, but that's why they make sequels. Also, if you've read the sequel, please please please email me and tell me if the King and Karigan get together!! It's killing me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    great book

    I thought this book was terrific. Right up there with the harry potter books. The books only flaw was the ending, which i found to be dissappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2003

    Wonderful First Novel

    Ms. Britain's Green Rider is an extremely enjoyable read. The writing is tight, giving a very good sense of character and setting. The characters themselves are human and approachable. It's very easy for the reader to put herself into Karigan's shoes and enjoy the wild ride that is this book. In the end The Green Rider is a ripping adventure tale which deserves to be on the shelf with Lord of the Rings, The Riftwar, and the Belgariad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2002

    Greenie Girl

    A great book. The plot keeps you reading to see what pops up next. It is an excellent fantasy novel with a bit of everything in it to keep all happy. Definatly a book worthy of a series on the green riders and thir quests.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2001

    Extremely great work

    I love adventure and Kristen with her imagination has taken me to a world where courage and bravery are found

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2001

    I like this author. Hope she keeps writing.

    This was a very good book. It was exciting and the characters were believable. I read it in just a couple days. I hope this author writes more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2000

    A fast paced enjoyable read

    A very entertaining story. I enjoyed the pacing and plot. It was a good blend of Karigan's quest and court intrigue. I am intrigued about the history of the world, and would love to learn more about other Green Riders and their tales. I hope more novels are forthcoming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4