Customer Reviews for

Green River, Running Red: The Real Story of the Green River Killer--America's Deadliest Serial Murderer

Average Rating 4
( 189 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended!

this book was very interesting, informative, and well written. I am a big fan of Ann Rule and have never been disappointed by any of her work. I am a True Crime fan, and if you are too, you will surely love this book!

posted by diana45 on August 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

This Book is Too Long

I always eagerly anticipate a new true crime book by Ann Rule. She has the best writing style of all the true crime writers. However, about half way through this book, I lost interest. The book just goes on and on. And other than personal information on all the trag...
I always eagerly anticipate a new true crime book by Ann Rule. She has the best writing style of all the true crime writers. However, about half way through this book, I lost interest. The book just goes on and on. And other than personal information on all the tragic victims, I did not feel like I got much more information than what I got from another book on this subject that I read a few years ago. I expected better from Ann Rule.

posted by Anonymous on December 5, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended!

    this book was very interesting, informative, and well written. I am a big fan of Ann Rule and have never been disappointed by any of her work. I am a True Crime fan, and if you are too, you will surely love this book!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2005

    This Book is Too Long

    I always eagerly anticipate a new true crime book by Ann Rule. She has the best writing style of all the true crime writers. However, about half way through this book, I lost interest. The book just goes on and on. And other than personal information on all the tragic victims, I did not feel like I got much more information than what I got from another book on this subject that I read a few years ago. I expected better from Ann Rule.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    Not her best

    I have read five or six Ann Rule books. I found this a major disappointment. Like other comments I have read, there is too little written about the murderer and what led him to his killing ways. I'm sure the author attempted to gather more information. But the final result leaves the reader with little insight as to what made this guy tick. Because there was no trial, there is no testimony to add to the story of how and why this man became the monster he was. It also gets tiresome how the author portrays most victims as good, loving, and caring people. No one deserves to be murdered. But really, not all these victims are as angelic as Ann Rule portrays. This is not one of her better books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2005

    Pretty boring

    Ann Rule is a good author for the most part. This is the second book I have read from this author that has been a chore to read. I finished it because I hate to leave books halfway but it was boring. I agree with those reviewers that say that she gave way too much information about the victims. I understand that she was trying to humanize the victims by sharing their stories but there were too many to keep track of. She gives way too many details of everyone's life including the police officers that investigated the case. I really don't like how she makes certain people appear angelic and portray them as heroes like she did with the cops. Also, I don't like when she includes information about herself. She seems a little arrogant when she describes her involvement in the crimes she writes about. The book is long and could be a good read if you have a lot of time on your hands.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Ann Rule's e-bookd

    I'm really hoping someone can help me. I'm in a bit of a pickle. I absolutely LOVE Ms. Rule's books, but for me, I really want to see the pictures like those she includes in her paperback. To me, having pics of the victim & the detectives allows me to become more "vested" in the story. I have read several different reviews on some of the books and seemto be getting sporatic info regaurding pics, so if anyone could tell me that would be wonderful.
    If they do not contain the pictures, I will buy the paperback version and save my VERY limited credit on some other book.
    Thank you in advance for any help you can provide. :) M

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Wordy, but worthwhile.

    When one says that a true crime novel has "too much detail", one often means "too graphic". If you find this book "too graphic", don't read true crime novels about serial killers. I got tired of reading about the details of Seattle geography and the minutiae of every suspect a little frustrating--the story is compelling enough!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2008

    One of Her best...

    I must disagree with A Former Prosecutor. I felt while Ms Rule was very sympathetic to the victims, I did not feel she sugar coated what they were or how they lived their lives in any way. They were portrayed as troubled women, but just because they were prostitutes and drug addicts doesn't mean they couldn't be loving people with families who cared about them. I also felt that she did delve into what made Gary Ridgeway tick and how he turned out like he did. I highly recommend this book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2005

    Too much info on the wrong subject

    I'm a big Ann Rule fan and this was not one of her best books. For her there was alot of research involved to be able to give such details about the victums. However, as a reader its too much to try to remember and put together. The lives of 48 different woman, it becomes a blurr and is boaring to read. The last part about them catching the killer after 20 years is ok, but still not that great for Ann. More focus s/be on Gary.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    OK but not great

    Too much information on the victims private lives...3/4 of the book was about the victims and only 1/4 about Gary Ridgway

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Loved this book

    It is nice to give the victims more time than the criminal. They lost there lives and deserve a voice. Ann did a great job giving both sides of the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    A MUST!! A must if you want to know the story of The Green River

    A MUST!!
    A must if you want to know the story of The Green River Killer!!
    One of my favorite true crime books.
    In my opinion, one of Anne Rule's most investigated and well written books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Ann Rule is awesome at what she does. this book holds your attention from the first page. It is a great book and I recommend it to everyone one who enjoys true crime stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Lookout

    This is my second review like isaid wr know what we are but others dont since 9/11i read peoplr more closely as when i was living in newark a guy asked me for directions(igot this eerie feeling i gave him directions to get rid of him)well a few months later9/11happened when i saw the pictures of the terrorist i realized that the guy i gave directions to was one of the terrorist thats how close i was this makes me more aware of my surroundings i read people morecarefully now the question was asked what does a terrorist looklike?well we dont know it could be any one of us so im more awarer now than i ever was before posted by Regina Beasley of Montclair NJ

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Green River Killer

    The movie was equally a enticing as the book.......
    -<3 Amy -<3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Wow

    This book really fasanated me and yet scared ,me at the same time. From 1985 till 2005 i lived just blocks away from this man and bing a teen at that. It made me realize how lucky i was not to have ever encountered him. bing as nieve as i was that nothing could ever happen to me out running with my friends day and night and now knowing that one bad choice and it could have. A very intrieging book for sure

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Good Read!

    Love Ann Rule books loved it because I lived in Seattle during the arrest and conviction process was nice to know all the stories of the poor girls whose lives were taken by Gary Ridgeway!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Green River Killer

    I remember this name instilling fear in me as a child growing up. I couldn't be prouder to have Ann Rule in Seattle to write about this first hand just as she did with Ted Bundy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    AWESOME!

    This is an incredible book and is one of my favorite true crime books. Ann Rule is the best author when it comes to crime, and this book is truly difficult to put down. I would DEFINITELY recommend this book. Without a doubt!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2007

    Hard Working Detectives WIN!

    I liked the descriptions of the hard work put into the investigation by the detectives. To see those smart detectives finally solve this case through the tedious collection and preservation of evidence was gratifying.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2007

    Gripping!

    Ann Rule is the greatest crime writer we have. Her books read like novels and this is another amazing roller coaster ride as 'The Stranger Beside Me' was. Not a quick read, at nearly 700 pgs, but the time and compassion she spends on each of the victims, and the details of the effect on the detectives who never gave up throughout the twists and turns in the 20+ year hunt for the most prolific and frightening serial killer in history makes this necessary. Hard to put down and impossible to forget.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 189 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10