Customer Reviews for

Gregor and the Marks of Secret (Underland Chronicles Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(58)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Read this now

this is one of my top 10 books i've ever read in the book gregor goes into the underland every day with boots to train and hang out but one day luxa gets a call from some old friends and drags gregor on an adventure that ends up bringing a whole team in and some old cha...
this is one of my top 10 books i've ever read in the book gregor goes into the underland every day with boots to train and hang out but one day luxa gets a call from some old friends and drags gregor on an adventure that ends up bringing a whole team in and some old characters back it is a thrilling adventure rollercoster of with epic heroism

posted by Anonymous on April 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Good book

posted by cindylb on April 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2008

    Read this now

    this is one of my top 10 books i've ever read in the book gregor goes into the underland every day with boots to train and hang out but one day luxa gets a call from some old friends and drags gregor on an adventure that ends up bringing a whole team in and some old characters back it is a thrilling adventure rollercoster of with epic heroism

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    I love this book

    My fourth grade teacher read the first book and got everyone hooked on it and all the others.it was a fight for the books kinda like hunger games fight to the dearh!!!!!!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Omg awesome book

    Best book i have ever read in my life!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    REALLY GOOD!!!!

    I love it! The whole series bring me in and make me want to read them over and over again!!!! LOVE IT

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Awsome

    I think this is a very suspenful book and think it is just as good as the hunger games series. I recomend it to every body. Susan collions is one of those rare writers that can make every book better than the last. Susan collions is my family and my favorite writer

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great series

    This book is Harry Potter-ish. Interesting characters. Great imagination. Strong character and values based.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    awesome

    i read this book i about 5 days, and i could not put this book down so anyone, who thinks about buying this book,they should.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    After a few books a series needs to find ways to evolve its stor

    After a few books a series needs to find ways to evolve its story. Where as there are plenty of exciting scenes in this fourth and penultimate book in the Underland Chronicles, it also begins to lose some of its steam. After a while its darkness has started to become wearisome and missed the opportunity to take that next step. The series doesn't need to re-invent itself, but the whole fight the villains - see the war from the villains viewpoint - the villains are still villains - someone dies is beginning to feel formulaic. That being said, ultimately, this is still a good book and should lead nicely to the next entry. Also, be prepared for great scenes involving an earthquake, violent air currents, and scorpions.

    3.5/5

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Kiersten

    I read every Underland book there is! I wish there was a 6 th book- so awesome

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good book

    Good book

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Havent read yet but soooo excited

    These books are soo good you wont beable to pull your self away it soo good it a mixture of percy jackson and hunger games two of my favoritw seris

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great series!!

    You won't be disappointed.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2011

    Wow!!!!!!!

    There are so many to explan it:advantures,exciting,and just as good as the hunger games!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!i love this series;)!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2011

    Cant wait

    I seriously want to read this book, I love this series sooooo much! But I read them too fast. Im still waiting for an ebook version at the library. Does anyone know a place where I can get this ebook for FREE??????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    Wow

    Absolutely+stunning

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    friken amazing

    its the ultiment book in the series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    gregor and the marks of secret

    soooooooooo great love the books cant wait to finish this book ther soooo exiting. love um :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Absorbing!

    "Gregor and the Marks of Secret," by Suzanne Collins is the fourth book in the action-packed Underland Chronicles. Suspense builds with every chapter, making this book impossible to put down! With an interesting plot and unique characters, this book will definitely not disappoint any fans! "Gregor and the Marks of Secret" is an absorbing adventure with not one dull moment! After finishing this book, readers will want to get their hands on the fifth book, "Gregor and the Code of Claw," as soon as possible!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2006

    Something they'll read

    I teach 7th grade students, and it is very difficult to persuade many students to read. The Underland Chronicles are the first books that got these students involved in the process. I personally find the elements of suspense wonderful, and these books completely worthy of being read by adults. Having read The Marks of Secret, I only find one flaw: I have to wait an entire year to read The Code of Claw. Thanks to Suzanne Collins for helping my students fall in love with reading and me to fall back in love with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2006

    Amazing new chapters in the Overland saga

    This book picks up soon afer the end of 'Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods'. Gregor's mother is still recovering from the Plague in the Underland hospital. He and Boots make regular trips to visit with her and to spend time with Luxa, Hazard and the other Regalians. His battle training with Ripred continues (he is still lousy at fighting in the dark) and he soon learns of a surprising turn of events involving Bane (the white rat whose life he spared at the conclusion of 'Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane'). A party, a rhyme and a mysterious delivery lead our heroes on another quest, with Suzanne Collins' ever-expected mix of danger, humor, pathos and amazing storytelling. The stakes are high, but with a comrade like Ripred at your side (or is that throat...or on your nerves, perhaps?) our protagonists cannot help but perservere. Aside from the Newbery Award shelves, I can only think of a handful of ' Young Reader' titles that have such rich allegory and power (all in easy to read 11 point type). This series would be a great way of introducing some of the issues of our society (especially war) into the family dialogue. Its captivating in its detail and has an engaging enough cast and plot twists to involve all ages of fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 268 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14