Customer Reviews for

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (Underland Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 346 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(72)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

What I want to say is very simple- READ THIS!!!

This second book in the Underland Chronicles is a masterpiece- just like the rest of its series! The first book have you hooked on the first page, until the end- even the end of the whole series, and number two is no different. Very action-packed, exciting, and unexpect...
This second book in the Underland Chronicles is a masterpiece- just like the rest of its series! The first book have you hooked on the first page, until the end- even the end of the whole series, and number two is no different. Very action-packed, exciting, and unexpected (I don't think many people can fully well expect giant roaches, rats and humans living under the earth in a story! The author has created a unique, vivid world that will enthrall all readers; Someone should REALLY sign the series up as a movie contract!)- all you could ask for in a book! You'll laugh at the main character, Gregor's silly situations, cry (or almost!) when you read of the tragedies and predicaments, adore its lovely characters, may they be good or bad...the Underland Chronicles = AWESOME! I recommend you TOTALLY read it! You'll be hooked!

posted by Maya_Mayflower on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Hunger Games-But better than the first!!

This series isnt as good as the hunger Games, but they are still really cool! I<3 Boots so much shes amazing!

posted by 7216433 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    What I want to say is very simple- READ THIS!!!

    This second book in the Underland Chronicles is a masterpiece- just like the rest of its series! The first book have you hooked on the first page, until the end- even the end of the whole series, and number two is no different. Very action-packed, exciting, and unexpected (I don't think many people can fully well expect giant roaches, rats and humans living under the earth in a story! The author has created a unique, vivid world that will enthrall all readers; Someone should REALLY sign the series up as a movie contract!)- all you could ask for in a book! You'll laugh at the main character, Gregor's silly situations, cry (or almost!) when you read of the tragedies and predicaments, adore its lovely characters, may they be good or bad...the Underland Chronicles = AWESOME! I recommend you TOTALLY read it! You'll be hooked!

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Overflowing With Suspense!

    "Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane," by Suzanne Collins is the second installment in the captivating Underland Chronicles. Readers will find themselves unable to put this book down because it is overflowing with suspense and mystery! "Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane" definitely won't disappoint anyone who reads it and makes the reader excited to begin the next book in this one-of-a-kind series!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    Not as good as Hunger Games-But better than the first!!

    This series isnt as good as the hunger Games, but they are still really cool! I<3 Boots so much shes amazing!

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2012

    Beautiful book

    This a great book. If your a fan of the hunger games i suggest you read this .THANK SUZANNE COLLINS FOR YOUR TALENT IN WRITING. I would recommend this for anyone.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Great series

    Loved it!

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    A beautiful read. Suzanne Collins is a genious.

    The twists amd turns in this book will leave you starstruck and screaming out for more. The underlands are a magical and dangerous place fullied with mythicl beings amd giant versions of just about every thing. An astoundimd book full of emotions ranging from fear to utter joy. Reading this book is absolutely worth your time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is great for children and adults. Although it has some parts that are quite violent this book is EPIC!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Awesome book

    Best book ever!!!!!!"

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is realy good if you like fantcey kinda vilont than it is awsome

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    I

    I wish.i would get brainwash and forget everthing exept how to play minecraft so i COULD READ THIS SERIES ANOTER BILLION TIMES

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    The follow-up to the outstanding "Gregor the Overlander&quo

    The follow-up to the outstanding &quot;Gregor the Overlander&quot; is less enthralling than its predecessor, but is still full of excitement and a showdown that goes totally unexpected. Suzanne Collins continues to deliver the goods as the characters of the Underland continue to fill our imagination. We also get to meet some new interesting characters, although it would be helpful if there names were not so similar (Solovet and Stellovet) so I didn't have to turn back in the book to make sure I knew which character is which.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Propagandist Par Excellance

    Collins is one of the most subtile, yet persuasive anti-war propagandists I have ever read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Fantastic

    Such a great series. Can't wait for the next book. Such a great story. For younger people and adults.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    GREAT BOOK!!!

    The Underland Chronicles is a gripping and fascinating series - but isn't it weird that Gregor happens to be a Rager, when in the first book it doesn't say anything about him having incredible fighting skills?
    Still, I have to rate this 5 stars - more if I could!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    READ THIS REVIEW ITS IMPORTANT

    THIS BOOK IS GREAT! ALSO IF YOU LIKE THIS BOOK THEN READ THIS BOOK WARRIORS INTO THE WILD BY ERIN HUNTER ITS ABOUT WARRIOR CATS. THIS IS THE REVIEW ON WARRIORS INTO THE WILD IT IS THE BEST BOOK EVER UNLESS YOU READ THIS BOOK THAT YOUR REVIEWING ALSO DONT TRY TO READ A RATE AND REVIEW ON ANY OF THE WARRIOR CATS BOOKS THERE WILL ONLY BE CRAZY WARRIOR CAT STUFF BY AT LEAST A THOUSAND THREE HUNDRED WARRIOR CAT FANS


    FROM DESTINYWISH ( WARRIOR CAT ( MADE UP ) NAME )

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Great book! I'm a (tiny tiny itty bitty bit) less scared of bugs

    Great book! I'm a (tiny tiny itty bitty bit) less scared of bugs now.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    "%%

    Corn corn cotn corn corn corn cirnu

    1 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Ug

    I think the writing is a little bad and not very descriptive. I feel like im rreading just another book. I want to feel like the percy jackson seiries where i can just read for hours and feeel like im watching a film. The plot is good and i havent read the second one yet but your ppls feedback is very good. I look fowerd to completing the seiries.

    Love Claire M. Banson

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Gregor

    I love Gregors fighting skills in this one! They are so AWESOME!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Gregor's got another prophecy

    A well developed plot, great action and believable dialogue. This book has everything that I have come to expect from this author.

    Gregor has been tricked into rescuing his sister Boots. He is lured back to the Underland and is told he is to fulfill another prophecy. This time they want him to be a killer and kill the "Bane" before it can destroy the Underland. He is again aided by his friends and led by his instincts and sometimes misleading advice of his companions.

    Gregor makes a really tough decision in his installment of his adventures and his decision is put to the test. This is a great book that won't disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 349 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18