Customer Reviews for

Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (Underland Chronicles Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(237)

4 Star

(73)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

What I want to say is very simple- READ THIS!!!

This second book in the Underland Chronicles is a masterpiece- just like the rest of its series! The first book have you hooked on the first page, until the end- even the end of the whole series, and number two is no different. Very action-packed, exciting, and unexpect...
This second book in the Underland Chronicles is a masterpiece- just like the rest of its series! The first book have you hooked on the first page, until the end- even the end of the whole series, and number two is no different. Very action-packed, exciting, and unexpected (I don't think many people can fully well expect giant roaches, rats and humans living under the earth in a story! The author has created a unique, vivid world that will enthrall all readers; Someone should REALLY sign the series up as a movie contract!)- all you could ask for in a book! You'll laugh at the main character, Gregor's silly situations, cry (or almost!) when you read of the tragedies and predicaments, adore its lovely characters, may they be good or bad...the Underland Chronicles = AWESOME! I recommend you TOTALLY read it! You'll be hooked!

posted by Maya_Mayflower on November 26, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Not as good as Hunger Games-But better than the first!!

This series isnt as good as the hunger Games, but they are still really cool! I<3 Boots so much shes amazing!

posted by 7216433 on July 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    The follow-up to the outstanding "Gregor the Overlander&quo

    The follow-up to the outstanding &quot;Gregor the Overlander&quot; is less enthralling than its predecessor, but is still full of excitement and a showdown that goes totally unexpected. Suzanne Collins continues to deliver the goods as the characters of the Underland continue to fill our imagination. We also get to meet some new interesting characters, although it would be helpful if there names were not so similar (Solovet and Stellovet) so I didn't have to turn back in the book to make sure I knew which character is which.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Ug

    I think the writing is a little bad and not very descriptive. I feel like im rreading just another book. I want to feel like the percy jackson seiries where i can just read for hours and feeel like im watching a film. The plot is good and i havent read the second one yet but your ppls feedback is very good. I look fowerd to completing the seiries.

    Love Claire M. Banson

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2014

    Hdhddyjdd

    I like pie

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Deadline

    This was a very good book and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Good book

    This book was good. I wish luxa didnt die though or whatever happened to her. Otherwise it is a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Each One Gets Better

    The series starts out OK and each book keeps getting better and better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very enjoyable!

    First off, I'd just like to say that I enjoyed this book much more than the first!

    Despite the numerous literary cliches (even in dramatic parts) and some shaky writing, this book was very gripping. It was hard to put it down; definitely a page-turner. It also succeeds by making me want to read the next installment, which I plan to do very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Great series!

    I just loved these books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2008

    Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane

    This book is about a boy who gets tricked into going into the Underland for the second time in two years. When Gregor hears about another prophecy including him as the hero, he starts to get mad. His family needs him more than ever now and he feels like he should be doing something useful. His family doesn¿t have much money and it is almost Christmas time. This part made me think about how fortunate I am to have everything that I own. Gregor decides that if he wants to go home he has to help the Underlanders first. As he journeys through the sea and where the rats live he worries about his baby sister. This book is twenty-seven chapters of surprising and action-packed events. With its unusual characters, touching moments and amazing details, this book should be read by everyone. It is the second book in the Underland Chronicles, so I suggest that you read Gregor the Overlander first so this one makes sense. This book had me wondering night and day about what was going to happen next. I can¿t wait to read the next book in the series and I hope that it is just as good as this one. Overall, this story is one of a kind!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2007

    What a book!

    I could not believe what happen. It has so many twists you have to read the next book to find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2006

    Best gregor book written

    Cool book Two thumbs up all the way.I like the way how Suzanne collins makes almost each chater better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2004

    Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane

    I was very pleased with this, even if it was just to watch how the author has grown and improved. I felt that the first one could have had a couple hundred more pages scattered throughout the book to make it more in-depth. This one also could use more, but not as much as the first one. She kept a smaller cast, so you got to know them a little bit more. I actually liked the twist at the end, although I had been expecting some kind of twist. The ending was calling for a sequel much more than the first was. I'll admit it's extremely formula written the way he finds out about the next prophecy in the last chapter... It reminded me of the Nancy Drew books. As for the plot, everyone is back in the Underland. Boots and Gregor go down from central park, Ares is there, so is Temp, Luxa, Aurora, Mareth, Vikus, Solovet, Ripred, and a few other new people. The Shiners were hilarious. I did enjoy the trip on the waterway, because in the last book you don't see much of the world. We find out something new about Gregor that didn't show up in the first book... We also meet Luxa's cousins on the other side, and we see Henry's sister again. They're off on another one of Sandwich's prophecy's about the prophecy of bane. I enjoyed it, it's not great but it definitely a good read. I'll be reading Gregor and the Prophecy of Blood when it comes out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4