BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Grendel

Average Rating 3.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(45)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(31)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I found this book quite confusing. But i am only in 8th grade. The only reason I read this book was because it was on my sister's summer reading list, and she is a senior in high school. Even for not understanding it, i could tell that this was an excellent book. It was...
I found this book quite confusing. But i am only in 8th grade. The only reason I read this book was because it was on my sister's summer reading list, and she is a senior in high school. Even for not understanding it, i could tell that this was an excellent book. It was very well writen. It was also nice to read a book from the villen's point of view. I've always read stories from the hero's perspective, and it was a pleasent change to read the story from the outcast's view. This book was extremly good.

posted by Anonymous on August 5, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slow and confusing

John Gardner had a creative idea to write the book to let readers see life through Grendel's eyes. However, the book was very long and dragged out. There wasn't a lot of action and fighting scenes as I had expected there to be. It was confusing how Gardner would jump ba...
John Gardner had a creative idea to write the book to let readers see life through Grendel's eyes. However, the book was very long and dragged out. There wasn't a lot of action and fighting scenes as I had expected there to be. It was confusing how Gardner would jump back and forth between flashbacks and current events.

posted by SBuerk on December 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Supplement to Beowolf!!!!

    Grendel, by John Gardner, was a awesome supplement to Beowolf. It offered a whole new perspective to the story, and attempted to humanize Grendel by giving him a conscience, emotions, and individual thought. Overall, this wasn't my favorite book, but I enjoyed parts of it, and liked the different way of thinking John Gardner brought to the table

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Nice Try

    Gardner's idea for Grendel is a philosophical masterpiece that is constantly being emulated by teen fiction today: a look at society from the outsider's perspective. The re-telling of the age old tale of Beowulf from the beast Grendel's perspective is brilliant if not poetic, and Grendel's thought process must have existentialists praising Gardner. My problem with the book is that his ideas are not carried out as simply as I would prefer. The chapters are bogged down, and Gardner's sly wit and crude humor were at times the only things that kept me turning the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Pretty confusing

    I really feel like this book is confusing for no reason. There are situations that do not fit in with the plot of the story, and i feel like he made Grendel more sympathetic than I would like. Even though I am personally not fond of the book, I think many people will like it due to its sarcasm and action. If you have read "Beowulf", there is no need to really read this novel in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Good book, but a little daunting

    Grendel was very well written and enjoyable to read. It was great to see the battle between him and Beowulf from Grendel's eyes. It would have been nice to know that Grendel rambled a lot and that it was hard to keep up with everything at all times. I recommend this book to anyone who loves reading, who enjoys books with complex characters and intense plots. I enjoyed this book a lot and would definitely suggest it to anyone who enjoyed Beowulf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Very descriptive, but rambles at times

    In my opinion, Grendel was an okay read. At times, it really confused me because the book seems to ramble on about nothing for a long time and you start to get lost with the excess things that the book is saying. On the other hand, this book is very descriptive. When there is a part in the book that has to deal with describing something, you can picture it perfectly thanks to the great detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Very Descriptive

    This book takes you into the mind and body of Grendel. John Gardner does a great job at making you think in Grendels perception throughout the book. Grendel goes through many ups and downs and at certain times I felt pity for him. From the book Beowulf you think Grendel as a heartless monster but this book changes everything. John Gardner changed my idea of Grendel by the first chapter. He described Grendel senses so well. It made me feel a part of the lonely creatures life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Liked learning more about Grendel

    I will say i did enjoy this book more then "Beowulf" but it still wasn't my favorite book ever to read. What I didn't like about it was how Grendel had all his flash backs which were a little hard to follow. What I did like about the book though was getting more of a background on Grendel. I enjoyed reading about Grendel's first encounter with Hrothgar, and his talk with the dragon which gave me a little more perspective on why Grendel begins to attack the Danes. Overall it was a good book but only if you read "beowulf" first.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    was okay...

    The perspective was interesting coming from Grendel's point of view. However, because there were so many times he would switch from present to past then back to present it got quite confusing. I would not reccomend to read it for fun, but if you want to gaihn more insight on the poem "Beowulf" i suggest reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Decent.

    I enjoyed the perspective of "Grendel" because you only got one side to the story in "Beowulf". Usually, when you read a book you only get one side, but in this case you got the complete story of Beowulf and Grendel. This changed it up a bit and made it interesting. I admit that it did get boring with the dragon lecturing and him just fumbling around in the woods sometimes, but after finishing the book I realized how different it was. My assumption of Grendel was way off from the reading and has changed since reading "Grendel".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Average Story

    John Gardner¿s Grendel was a let down to me. I thought at first it was interesting and neat to see the life of Beowulf¿s monster Grendel, however as the story wore on it became less intriguing and more boring. I felt at times the story babbled on and tended to confuse me with the many thoughts of not only Grendel himself, but the other characters like Hrothgar and the Shaper. Although this story was a let down and lacked the action I thought it would have, it was neat to see the life and emotions of a beast that is simply looked at as a human eating monster, as well as seeing the influences for Grendel¿s actions. I would recommend this book to someone who is very fond of the old story of Beowulf and would like a better understanding or look at one of the ¿evil¿ characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2011

    Started great, then died out slowly.

    At first I really enjoyed Grendel but, as I continued I lost all interest in the book due to the insane rantings of Grendel and the supporting characters. If this book had more substance and less nonsensical ranting it would have been a quality representation of Grendel's view on the story. All in all I was quite disappointed with how the book turned out but I would be very interested in reading a different authors take on the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    this book was alright...nothing special

    If you want to read ¿Grendel¿ by John Gardner, I highly suggest reading the epic poem ¿Beowulf¿ beforehand. Without the knowledge of Beowulf the book lacks meaning and you won¿t be able to connect with Grendel as much. This book does a great job showing the story of Beowulf from a different perspective. While reading Grendel, I began to sympathize for him, being as he is a monster thrown into society and has conflicting attitudes towards it. I would recommend this book to anyone who read Beowulf and enjoyed it, and to people who like hearing things from a different perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    Good book- don't recommend it for a pleasure read!

    Before I purchased John Gardener's Grendel, I would of liked to be more familiar with the whole story behind it. It is based of the book Beowulf, which was very confusing to me; therefore, making the book Grendel hard to grasp at first. I recommend this book to those who really enjoyed reading Beowulf. It is a fun and exciting way to see how Grendel felt through his eyes. In my opinion, I didn't enjoy Beowulf; therefore, reading Grendel was a little weird for me. I didn't like some of the weird wording Gardener used along with how he described certain events. To me, it felt as if the book was mostly about Grendel just sitting around observing everyone and everything rather than Gardener putting Grendel to action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2011

    Pretty Okay for a Summer Reading Assignment...

    Usually, I don't look forward to school-assigned books because they tend to take the fun out of reading. But this book was pretty okay. It's short, making it easy to get through in a few days. The story itself is awesome, but, in my opinion, poorly worded. Gardner is not one of my favorite authors, but this is a good book to read if you want to say that you have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Life and Times of Grendel

    I had to read both this book, as well as the poem, Beowulf, for my English class, and I liked them about the same. They are both intellectually stimulating, and make you consider the world around you, and are both written beautifully, but there is something missing from each of them. Neither of them grabbed me and made me stay up late into the night reading. They just weren't entertaining enough for that. Grendel, in particular, could get redundant at times, and you really had to focus or else look track. Neither are easy reads, but there is value in reading both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2002

    Grendel and Beowulf....

    As required reading in my english class I was to read Beowulf. For a monthly assingment I had some options, and i choose to read Grendel. Almost finishing Beowulf I started reading Grendel. I thought it was really good. Without reading Beowulf, theres a LOT of confusion, but if you read the two together it's amazing to see the connection and the point of view of Grendel. It's much different from what i thought of grendel in the first place. I suggest anyone attempting to read beowulf to keep your sanity and a nice change of pace read Grendel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 44 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 3