Customer Reviews for

Greta and the Goblin King

Average Rating 4.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2014

    Absolutely adored this book!!! If you or anyone else has a guilt

    Absolutely adored this book!!!
    If you or anyone else has a guilty pleasure for dark fantasy, romance and a strong female lead this is the book to read.
     I read it twice in one day and I can't wait for the second one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    IF you loved the Goblin King in The Labyrinth, you'll for sure l

    IF you loved the Goblin King in The Labyrinth, you'll for sure love this!

    The Labyrinth is one of my all-time favorite movies so I knew I HAD to read this book and I wasn't disappointed even though the story is much different.




    The book begins a few years after Greta had saved her brother from being stuck in Mylena, a land of goblins, faeries, and continual freezing weather. In Mylena, humans are enslaved and hunted. Unfortunately, Greta was not able to save herself when she saved her brother and she has been stuck in Mylena ever since.




    Greta was one of the "lucky" humans as she was found and taken in by a sprite who hid her, taught her how to hide her humanity and trained her to hunt the Lost, which are ghouls whose dark sides have taken over their psyches. She has become an acclaimed bounty hunter and, just as in the movie, Greta, our heroine, has caught the eye of sexy, arrogant, caring and funny Isaac, the Goblin King.




    Greta fights her attraction to Isaac as she knows that their relationship would never work. It's difficult, though, to escape him as he visits her in her dreams. OMG... what dreams they were!!!!! Isaac was awesome and definitely swoon-worthy!




    When her sprite guardian is tragically murdered, Greta sets out to revenge his death and stop the evil entity responsible for his death. Even worse, Greta now finds that she has a bounty on her head as that same evil entity wants her. When Greta comes upon a camp of humans, they remind her of her brother and she finds herself feeling responsible for them too.




    I hate cliff-hangers and there's not one here but the last few chapters are nail-biters. There's no way I could put the book down for anything near the end.




    If you like YA reads with never-ending action, twists and turns galore, pick this book up! IF you loved the Goblin King in The Labyrinth, you'll for sure love this!




    VERY GOOD YA Read!




    4 1/2 stars!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    *CONTAINS SPOILERS* I really did love all of the characters in

    *CONTAINS SPOILERS*

    I really did love all of the characters in this book, and the plot was just amazing. Greta is a strong character which I always look for. I can't stand weak characters who help nothing and constantly break down. There were moments when Greta did cry and needed help, but that just made her stronger and HUMAN. There was so much detail in this book that I could envision everything. It was really hard for me to put the book down. I've spent all day to finish reading it.

    I loved the romance between Greta and the Goblin King, but sometimes her hesitance and back-and-forthness annoyed the hell out of me. I wanted to scream at her to stop trying so hard not to want him, and just love him already! I can obviously assume what happened to the other humans she helped at the end, but it made me a bit curious about the little love triangle. She never told Wyatt what was really going on between her and Isaac, so that seemed a little unfinished, but since the connection between her and Wyatt wasn't at all developed like hers and Isaac's, it never really matter in the first place. I hate love triangles and if you do too, don't worry too much about it. Its not a big one, and it shouldn't stop you from reading the book.

    I also didn't like how there wasn't much depth to Agramon. I always like details about the bad guy almost as much as I want details about the main character. It almost seemed easy defeating him.

    I usually stick with stories about vampires and shifters, so this was such a good break from that. If you need a break from typical stories or just like ogres, gnomes, faeries, and goblins, then you definitely need to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    This was a book I asked for and received way back at Christmast

    This was a book I asked for and received way back at Christmastime, but didn’t pick up until a short while ago because I wanted to savor it. I first started reading on the train in the afternoon, thinking I would just start it. About six hours later, I was glued to the book by my eyeballs, unable to tear myself away until I had finished!



    The plot:

    The plot was interesting, though I confess there were one or two places where I felt there was a piece of the story missing, like the book should have been longer. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the non-stop action and the quick pacing. While this does have strong themes of romance, it is very much an action flick as well with everything from sword fights to chase scenes. In other words, my kind of book.



    The characters:

    Greta can be a bit stubborn and there were parts where I wanted to slap her and scream “Can’t you see that Isaac loves you, you numpty?!” But her will to survive and desire to save others was admirable and I especially related to her protectiveness over her baby brother. I especially liked how Isaac didn’t have to charge in and rescue her every time she got herself into a tight fix. Greta could hold her own, but at the same time she wasn’t invincible. She was a balanced character, not too tough but certainly not helpless.



    I’ve always thought of goblins as rather nasty (especially post-LOTR), but Isaac fits securely into the category of adorable love interests. His strong personality makes a good match for Greta and his persistence is absolutely required to win over a girl like her. Though she might not see it at first, I think Isaac and Greta are definitely an OTP.



    I really liked Wyatt, the leader of the lost boys. He was an older brother, sometimes paternal, figure to the younger boys he’d taken under his wing. However, he has a thing for Greta and she a tiny thing for him and to that I must quote something I heard another reviewer say: “It’s Greta and the Goblin King, not Greta and the Human.”



    I adored the lost boy characters, though there is one I fear will be trouble later. The villain, Agramon, is certainly evil, though he doesn’t get much page time. For most of the story the villains are the weather and other bounty hunters before we actually come face-to-face with Agramon. I very much enjoyed the characters and I look forward to seeing more of them(except the villain) in future books.



    Conclusion: A fun, witty read with plenty of sarcasm, edge-of-your-seat action, and a breathtaking romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    A really great read!

    I read it in two hours! I usually get bored with fantasy books, but this is definately a book that I will read over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Greta and the Goblin King is a captivating fantasy that draws yo

    Greta and the Goblin King is a captivating fantasy that draws you in right from the start. Greta and Issac have an intense bond that only gets stronger as the story progresses. Greta fights the bond because she still has the hope that she will find a way home, but in her dreams she knows that she belongs with Issac. Issac does not care that Greta is a human. Human or not she is his, and he will move the earth and the stars to make her realize that they are fated to be together.

    Chloe Jacobs enchants you with her talent for storytelling. Through sarcastic humor and larger doses of snarkiness, Greta and Issac dance around their feelings and through many near death experiences and run ins with outcasts, Greta and Issac are faced with many challenges including how they feel about one another.

    This unique spin on fairytale creatures is refreshing and new. Fast paced adventure, humor, star-crossed lovers, and a girl who can kick some serious butt, keeps the reader glued to the pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1