Customer Reviews for

The Grey King

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One of the best books I've EVER read (And I've read a LOT of books)

This is sort of like a dream world that everyone (everyone like me) would want to escape into.. I love how Susan Cooper blends in a lot of myths and legends and forms an explaination for all of them, making all of them connected. Susan Cooper's works are, in my opinion,...
This is sort of like a dream world that everyone (everyone like me) would want to escape into.. I love how Susan Cooper blends in a lot of myths and legends and forms an explaination for all of them, making all of them connected. Susan Cooper's works are, in my opinion, similar to LotR, but in a good way, unlike other authors works. She is second best only to JRRT (JRR Tolkien). In this book, the Dark gave Will Stanton, the youngest Old One of the Light, a bad cold (worse than you'd think) in order to slow him down in their attempt to rise into power. Will Stanton is aided by the strange albino boy, Bran (the son of someone very famous :) I won't spoil it for you), in order to defeat the Grey King, a terrible Dark Lord. In this book, Bran realizes that sacrifices must be made.

posted by Anonymous on June 17, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommended

Maybe I wasn't trying hard enough to understand the plot. Maybe the book was just written confusingly. Maybe I just didn't like it. Anyway, I did not enjoy this book at all. I found it slow, and almost childish. The opening was confusing, seeming like it had been writte...
Maybe I wasn't trying hard enough to understand the plot. Maybe the book was just written confusingly. Maybe I just didn't like it. Anyway, I did not enjoy this book at all. I found it slow, and almost childish. The opening was confusing, seeming like it had been written by a rambling old man. It was so slow that I had to put the book down and do something else many times throughout the first part. The ending of the book was the opposite: it was strangely paced and the obstacles seemed like they were invented by a child afraid of the dark. The book provoked absolutely no emotional response in me. If the main character had been eaten by a giant spider, I would not have cared less. The author did a terrible job establishing any real relationship with the protagonist that a lot of fantasy seems to have. If not for a somewhat followable plot, I would try to rate this 0/5 stars. It was legitmately one of the most slow, oddly-paced, confusing books I've ever read. I would rate it as pure child's fantasy: fit for a preteen who has had absolutely no exposure to good fantasy in their life. If you are any age above 13, don't waste your reading time on this book. Even if you are under that age, this book just isn't satisfying. Perhaps the same character and situation could've been used, and the author just completely botched establishing character relationships and setting the pace for the book. We will never know. A waste of time. 1/5 stars.

posted by xBlauBaerx on October 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2003

    One of the best books I've EVER read (And I've read a LOT of books)

    This is sort of like a dream world that everyone (everyone like me) would want to escape into.. I love how Susan Cooper blends in a lot of myths and legends and forms an explaination for all of them, making all of them connected. Susan Cooper's works are, in my opinion, similar to LotR, but in a good way, unlike other authors works. She is second best only to JRRT (JRR Tolkien). In this book, the Dark gave Will Stanton, the youngest Old One of the Light, a bad cold (worse than you'd think) in order to slow him down in their attempt to rise into power. Will Stanton is aided by the strange albino boy, Bran (the son of someone very famous :) I won't spoil it for you), in order to defeat the Grey King, a terrible Dark Lord. In this book, Bran realizes that sacrifices must be made.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Final Battle Between the Light and the Dark...Lies in the Hands of Two Amazing Young Boys and A Ghost Dog.

    The story of Will Stanton and his fight against the Dark continues. This time everything is on the line and Will can not fail! With the help of a new ally, Bran and his ethereal dog, Cadfall, Will fights his most dangerous enemy the Grey King. Armed only with an ancient poem and his wits, Will must follow the signs left by the Old Ones and search the Welsh hills to find the coveted Magical Harp that will shift the tides of power.
    Fourth in the Dark Is Rising Series, this book pulls the whole series together in such a way that leaves you spellbound long after you turn the last pages. This was the book that sent me, as a kid, searching the hills behind my house for ancient secrets and daydreaming out the window. It was the first book I read in the Fantasy genre and it has left an everlasting impression. Of all the books in the series, this one is the most challenging because it does contain Welsh names and words that can be difficult for younger readers. I also recommend this book for higher level readers as it contains some intense scenes and requires good comprehension skills. You do not have to read the other books in this series before reading this one. Although, it does help to have read the second novel, The Dark Is Rising, as that is when Will Stanton is first introduced.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    My Thoughts on The Grey King

    I think that The Grey King was a good book because I enjoy reading fiction books. It is about a boy named Will Santon. He is part of a group of people called the Light, who have to stop another group of people called the Dark from taking over the world. I would recomend this book to someone who likes to read fiction books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    Nbvfvvfgvcbghhvj I LOVE IT

    I LOVE IT A LOT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Not Recommended

    Maybe I wasn't trying hard enough to understand the plot. Maybe the book was just written confusingly. Maybe I just didn't like it. Anyway, I did not enjoy this book at all. I found it slow, and almost childish. The opening was confusing, seeming like it had been written by a rambling old man. It was so slow that I had to put the book down and do something else many times throughout the first part. The ending of the book was the opposite: it was strangely paced and the obstacles seemed like they were invented by a child afraid of the dark. The book provoked absolutely no emotional response in me. If the main character had been eaten by a giant spider, I would not have cared less. The author did a terrible job establishing any real relationship with the protagonist that a lot of fantasy seems to have. If not for a somewhat followable plot, I would try to rate this 0/5 stars. It was legitmately one of the most slow, oddly-paced, confusing books I've ever read. I would rate it as pure child's fantasy: fit for a preteen who has had absolutely no exposure to good fantasy in their life. If you are any age above 13, don't waste your reading time on this book. Even if you are under that age, this book just isn't satisfying. Perhaps the same character and situation could've been used, and the author just completely botched establishing character relationships and setting the pace for the book. We will never know. A waste of time. 1/5 stars.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Great book from one of my favorite series!

    The whole "Dark is Rising" series holds a special place in my heart. This is one of the great YA books out there, I wish she would write some more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2008

    An all time favorite

    I first encountered this book as an elementary student, more than 30 years ago. I will never forget picking the book off the library shelf and being riveted in place and time as I read the opening poem. I read The Grey King before I read any of the rest of this series, and it remains my favorite amongst them all to this day. I have read and reread this one story dozens of times over the course of 30 years and continue to be moved by the way in which Cooper weaves a magical tale around a larger theme: that in the heart of every young child is a yearning to wake up and discover that they are powerful and important in this world. I now enjoy discussing this classic with my son who, at 14, has read it many times already and loves it as much as I. I highly recommend this book to children, parents, and teachers. It is an outstanding piece of young adult literature and a wonderful story of triumph over darkness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    It was really bad

    This book is very bad. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS BOOK. IT IS WAY TO CONFUSING

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    The Grey King, Fiction yet Great!

    This book was amazing. I love fiction books and couldn't find one to read for a book report, so I picked this one up. Everybody should read it because it is so engrossing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    ?h B

    Cgbhhvg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    This book has a great storyline. Maybe the negative reviewers di

    This book has a great storyline. Maybe the negative reviewers didn't realize it's part of a series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Will Santon goes to Wales to recover from an illness. When Will

    Will Santon goes to Wales to recover from an illness. When Will gets to Wales he starts to remember his quest. When Will meets a strange boy named Bran he remembers his entire quest. Will’s quest is to find the golden harp and awaken the sleepers. Will also has to deal with a man who wants to kill all of the dogs. The man thinks that the dogs are killing his sheep. There are white foxes that only will can see, they are killing the sheep. Will has to prepare for the last battle between the light and dark.
    I didn’t like the beginning because it had no action Will just went around meeting people. The book got better when Will meet Bran because they start trying to find the golden harp. I didn’t want to stop reading when Will and Bran started going into Birds Rock because there was lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2004

    Ineffably beautiful

    I can't recommend this series highly enough. Those who think these are boring don't know good literature. This isn't the best in the series, but it's still totally awe-inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2004

    Still my favorite series

    The Dark is Rising series is STILL, in my opinion, the best series ever written. I love the characters, especially Will and Bran, and the creative story. It's always nice to see someone take an original approach to a classic struggle- good vs. evil. Even after 13 years of devouring book after book, this series tops them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2004

    DO NOT GET THIS BOOK

    this was a horrible book. what was susan cooper out of her mind when she wrote this book?Excape while you have the chance.Run do not walk

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2