Customer Reviews for

The Greyfriar (Vampire Empire Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The first Vampire Empire fantasy is an exciting thriller

In 1870, vampires came out of the coffins to attack western civilizations in the northern temperate zone. Instead of leading a counterinsurgency, human leaders fled south while their former subjects became food for the conquerors.

A century and a half later, the wor...
In 1870, vampires came out of the coffins to attack western civilizations in the northern temperate zone. Instead of leading a counterinsurgency, human leaders fled south while their former subjects became food for the conquerors.

A century and a half later, the world remains divided between the vampire and human zones. A party led by Senator Clark of the American republic stunningly takes back St. Louis from the vampires. At the same time, Equatorian Empire Princess Adele is on a state visit to Marseilles when British vampire Prince Cesare kidnaps her in spite of the efforts of the mysterious freedom fighter Greyfriar. These two events bring a treaty between the two human superpowers and a plan to attack jointly the vampires.

The first Vampire Empire fantasy is an exciting thriller that grips the audience with the divided world concept that feels like a supernatural Cold War with heated incursions. The story line is fast-paced though it behooves the reader to ignore the plausibility factor; especially of the limited lack of major difference on how minorities are treated yet react radically different to injustice in both camps. Mindful of Phil Ochs' Ballard of William Worthy "But somehow it is strange to hear the State Department say You are living in the free world, in the free world you must stay". Still this is an exciting paranormal futuristic spin to the Cold War.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 23, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Couldn't finish it

If your idea of excellent writing is Twilight, you'll probably enjoy this, too.

posted by 5191518 on November 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The first Vampire Empire fantasy is an exciting thriller

    In 1870, vampires came out of the coffins to attack western civilizations in the northern temperate zone. Instead of leading a counterinsurgency, human leaders fled south while their former subjects became food for the conquerors.

    A century and a half later, the world remains divided between the vampire and human zones. A party led by Senator Clark of the American republic stunningly takes back St. Louis from the vampires. At the same time, Equatorian Empire Princess Adele is on a state visit to Marseilles when British vampire Prince Cesare kidnaps her in spite of the efforts of the mysterious freedom fighter Greyfriar. These two events bring a treaty between the two human superpowers and a plan to attack jointly the vampires.

    The first Vampire Empire fantasy is an exciting thriller that grips the audience with the divided world concept that feels like a supernatural Cold War with heated incursions. The story line is fast-paced though it behooves the reader to ignore the plausibility factor; especially of the limited lack of major difference on how minorities are treated yet react radically different to injustice in both camps. Mindful of Phil Ochs' Ballard of William Worthy "But somehow it is strange to hear the State Department say You are living in the free world, in the free world you must stay". Still this is an exciting paranormal futuristic spin to the Cold War.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Three thumbs up!

    This is my first steampunk novel, and it didn't disappoint. Loved it. This is on my favorite list. Right away you will love Adele, the Colonel, the Greyfriar, Flay, and all of the other villains and heros! Action, mystery, revenge, and a trace of romance...it has it all. I especially loved the slow build of relationships. I like it most when an author can make you feel hate, revenge, fear, or love - instead of just telling you that this character really hated that one. This novel is masterfully written and is a must read. Stop wasting time. Go. Buy. Read. You won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Highly Recommended!!!

    I loved, loved, LOVED this book! I can't remember the last time I found a book that completely swept me away like The Greyfriar did. I usually grab a book, read a bit every now and then, and eventually finish it when time permits. Not with this one. I made time for this book. It demanded to be finished. I couldn't read it fast enough!

    This isn't just another story latching on to the vampire hype. I highly recommend picking up this book, and get one for a friend too. You won't want to lend yours out.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    This is the vampire book I¿ve been waiting for. With the recent

    This is the vampire book I’ve been waiting for. With the recent influx of touch-feely vamps floating around, I was nervous about picking this one up, but Clay Griffith absolutely blew me out of the water. The world he crafted is both huge in scope and intricately detailed, the people who inhabit it are wonderfully diverse and delightfully real, and the retro-futuristic technology was both well-crafted and believable. And the fight scenes! Oh, the fight scenes! The Greyfriar is an incredible hero, and Princess Adele was highly relatable, but my favorite character by far was Prince Gareth. I found myself sucked up into his curiosity and almost childlike wonder. This is a great book for vampire lovers and fans of steampunk, fantasy, sci-fi, and tales of political intrigue.




    I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for the purpose of an honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all opinions are mine, and do not represent the opinions of BTS, BTS eMag, CBS, NBC, or ADHD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Amazing Read!

    If you like sci-fi and are looking for a vamp novel that breaks the mold, this is your book. A quick read and a guilty pleasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it so much I hugged the book!

    This Fairy was surprised by such a great ride!! I must tell you right away; this is NOT your average ordinary bland bandwagon vampire novel. You will see no sparkle here. The Fairy devoured this book because it was so good, yet I wanted to read slowly because I didn't want it to end. When Greyfrair finally did come to an end I honestly was sad to know I was going to have to shut the cover. However, when I did I quickly swooped up this book into a huge bear hug. I was so happy to have read a book this wonderful! Vampire Empire: The Greyfriar is a mess of genres in such a way that it works. Steampunk is why I wanted to read this book but it didn't take long to find out that it was choked full of horror, including horrid politics, action/adventure, romance, and some bloody war. I think I have to admit I'm fond of bloody wars. Yes, indeed! However, this book was not amazing just because of the genre mess... which made for different reading. Clay and Susan Griffith have a gift for stringing words together to provide minimal but optimal images. I was right there with Greyfriar the whole way! The images that were floating around in my head were amazing... if I do say so myself. Not only did the imagery of the world blow me away (& I have wings) but the fight scenes had me all up in a huff of excitement! Blood, gore, mayhem. I was in heaven. A bloody hero *sigh*. The Northern Hemisphere was attacked in 1870, nearly killing and destroying what we know to be the Western Civilization. The Great Killing! Princess Adele, the heir of Equatoria is due to wed a renowned vampire killer, Senator Clark (whom I didn't care for at all), which would unite her Empire with America. This arrangement of merging both of the biggest human empires together now posed a huge threat to the vampires that live in the northern areas of the world. Adele and her younger brother, Simon, are on their way to Marseilles when their dirigible is intercepted by a larger than normal ban of vampires lead by Flay. Her master, Cesare, is known for his human massacres & is the youngest son of King Kimitry, Flay follows his orders to capture the heir. Now the heir of Equatoria, Adele, is running from. Flay. These vampires are parasitic with very powerful physical characteristics whom roam freely in the colder areas, feedlot humans for dinner, and terrorize others so they are afraid of being enslaved by them. Classic damsel in distress, I think not. She takes out a few vampires before the hero enters. The Greyfriar swoops in to save her. I fell in love with this dark cloaked man right when he pulled out all of these weapons and started hacking up the vampires on top of him in a gory morbid way. *sigh* It must of been a beautiful sight. It is also quite a shock to Adele because The Greyfriar is a man whose stories of heroism and acts of battle are all thought to be fables. He ended up being this strong yet mysterious man who drew in not only me but our lovely Adele as well. He is mine, back off Adele! (I should mention that she is crafty with a weapon as well!) Ultimately she captured by the war crazed Flay albeit her best efforts of flight and the efforts of her masked mystery fighter, by Flay who brings her to England for Cesare. I love that the head warrior is a female. How hot is that!?! Overall, The Greyfrair was amazing, Truly. A Fairy even a Black or a Disaster of a Fairy would lie. It is a favorite book and will be forever. My copy will become greatly ragged. Get

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!!

    This book was awesome! I love everything? in it. It was definitely one that brought all kinds of giddiness to my heart. The adventure, the mysterious, and love makes for a great read. This is not your ordinary vampire tale. This is a complete unique reading experience that I can enjoy over and over again.


    The Queen, Adele is on the run from vampire. As as heiress, with her up and coming marriage arrangement she poses a threat to the vampires and they are set out to kill her. But not before The Greyfriar come into the picture. An extraordinary man who saves peoples lives, leaving great tales of heroism behind him.


    The Greyfriar blew me away! I love every moment in reading it. The plots and the fights were absolutely mind blowing. I love the Greyfriar. His mysterious and good heart immediately drew me to him. He wanted change and was doing it all on his own with asking nothing in return.


    The romance was touching. I just love watching two people get stuck together, then fall in love right before your eyes. The way that they enjoyed each other company was one you could tell was fulfilling and relaxing. I rooted for them all the way.


    The SECRET!! Was OMG! Major OMG! I was so caught up in the book that I failed to notice the signs of the mysterious Greyfriar. Even to have learn his identity in the end stole my heart. I knew at that moment that this man is the man of dreams.


    If you have not read this book you should. The Greyfriar is a must read of 2011! I can't wait for the next book!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing

    I picked up this book due to All Things Urban Fantasy's 5 star rating and recommendation and it did not disappoint. This was the first novel I have ever read to be considered steampunk in any way. While the steampunk aspect is not a major part of the story it is great in setting the scene of this alternate history world. The vampires that have taken over most of the northern hemisphere of earth, or anywhere else that it is cold, are classic frightening vampires. It's hard to decide between Adele and The Greyfriar for which character I like the best because they both show tremendous strength throughout the novel. One scene in particular taking place in a "library" showed a great depth to this book that leaves you thinking. I can't say enough about this novel, and Clay and Susan Griffith are two outstanding new (to me at least) authors who have created a brilliant start to this trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Dangerous vampires, steampunk atmosphere, good characterization

    Dangerous vampires, steampunk atmosphere, good characterization and fast-paced, well-written action scenes. What else could you want? This book had an original storyline and interesting mythology. An enjoyable book #1 in a series I'm looking forward to delving into.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2014

    this series is great - exciting twists and turns and very believ

    this series is great - exciting twists and turns and very believable characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    A Perfectly Blended Cocktail The Grayfriar is a perfectly blend

    A Perfectly Blended Cocktail

    The Grayfriar is a perfectly blended cocktail of steampunk, horror, paranormal romance and action/adventure that is sure to quench the thirst of any reader. It introduces you to a unique and brilliant cast of characters. From mysterious and sexy vampires to zombies, the author has created a wonderfully detailed world at the height of steam powered machinery. The hero/heroine of the book, Gareth and Adele, are perfect for one another, proving that romance goes beyond chemistry and physical needs or desires. With well written descriptions from Clay & Susan Griffith, you are placed in the middle of the scene, experiencing every horrific or touching moment between the characters. A phenomenal and unique story, The Grayfriar is sure to delight.

    I was provided a copy of the book by BTS eMag for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review – all conclusions are my own responsibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Entertaining

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Vampire Empire, Book One: The Greyfriar is a mix of paranormal,

    Vampire Empire, Book One: The Greyfriar is a mix of paranormal, steampunk, and post-apocalyptic life. We are introduced to many of the key players that one can assume we will continue to see. Princess Adele, Greyfriar, Senator Clark, and one nasty vampire Prince who is set to take the throne as well as the whole world.

    You see, back in 1870 the vampires let themselves be known to all of mankind. In a well developed and plotted sweep that lasted only two years, the vampires undid the human world. Cities as we know them fell to their hands, and the people fled south to regroup. Now, in 2020, humans have been rebuilding, strengthening, and waiting for the day to start a major war against the vampires.

    One of the largest nations is the massive Empire Equartoria to which the Princess Adele is the rightful heir. When she is sent out on a mission tour, her air ship as well as the accompanying ships, are attacked by Prince Cesare the heir of the vampire clan in England. While his right hand woman, Flay, tries to secure the Princess, a mysterious man appears out of nowhere to save the day.

    Greyfriar comes to the rescue of the Princess, and tries to keep her safe. He wears a mask over his face to cover his identity, and he's armed to the hilt with guns and swords. Princess Adele feels safe by his side, but she has no idea of the deep secrets he hides. The clandestine mask he wears is only the sheer beginning of who, or what, this man is.

    Will the Princess and Greyfriar thwart the plans of the twisted vampire Prince? Can Adele accept what lies behind the mask? Tsk, Tsk... You will have to read it to find out!

    I had a good feeling about this story just from the cover. It is such a lovely cover, really. Air ships, a good looking duo, dressed to kill - literally kill! But then I opened up the book, and found myself enthralled with the story presented to me. Each page is filled with conflict, action, mystery or suspense that kept me hanging onto to every word.

    I think the characters are highly developed, and I loved the word painted scenery of desolate Europe. I enjoyed the descriptions of the steam powered ships, as well as the other little knick knacks here and there. If it weren't for the vampires, I wouldn't have minded living there.

    Then there was the end, and my heart sank just a little bit. Then I remembered, "Hey, this is only the FIRST book!" I am really looking forward to the next part of the series. If you're thing to read is alternate history, steampunk, or action then pick this one up for a downright good read.
    Originally Reviewed at:Mother/Gamer/Writer
    Reviewer: Heather

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Fantastic Book - A Must Read :)

    This was my first novel into the Steampunk and Alternative History genre and I truly was not disappointed. The narrative of Adele and The Greyfriar is fabulous. It is a slow build with many, many twists and turns. In other novels, you knew what was going to happen next. But it was no so with this story. The tale kept you on the edge of your seat, turning each page to see what was happening next. The talented writing team of Clay and Susan Griffith is superb; they write as one voice smoothly and seamlessly. I look forward to reading the rest of this trilogy. Well done! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2011

    Highly recommended! Great book from beginning to end!

    This is the greatest vampire story I have ever read. It includes great creature feature, action and not a whole lot of the mush associated with vampire stories these days. It truly is a great story and the second book is just as great!

    Tabs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    Best book I've read in a long time! Loved the concept & the characters! For a first book they were well developed and I cannot wait to read the next book! Yay Nook - reading in 30 seconds!! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2011

    AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!

    This book is one of the best books i have ever read! I cannot wait for the sequel to this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Can't put it down!

    As usual, I'm not giving you a summary because BN already gives it to you.

    This book is just... wonderful. The world-building is great and I could easily picture the scenes described in the book. I only wish the authors had given us a bit more of the 'steampunk' details. I couldn't picture the guns the American's used and I didn't feel like I got a good description of the palace. Regardless, the story is awesome! Adele is equal parts compassion and ferocity, though her prejudices bothered me. She's never left home and now, seeing the real world, she can't accept that her previous beliefs might not be 100% on the mark? Stupid girl! But every character has to have an undesirable characteristic, or this would be a fantasy romance novel with Fabio on the cover. And Greyfriar is passionate and led by a surprising dose of morality. They make you want to cheer and cry for both of them while they behead vampires and fight for the continued freedom of humans - that's what good authors and good stories do to us readers. I was actually upset when I reached the end of the book. I felt like it was an odd place to leave things hanging, even though we know the story shall continue and hope that Adele and Greyfriar can get past their "differences"... I still wanted more. And I promise, if you read this book, you will want more, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Favorite Book of 2010!! Hands Down!

    This was a great ride - not your average ordinary bland bandwagon vampire novel. I wanted to read it fast because it was so good and slow because I didn't want it to end. When Greyfrair finally did come to an end I was full of emotion for this book that once I read the last word I literally hugged the book. For the Mad Scientist this book was that good. No, it was an amazing string of words that needs to be put on a silver platter! Vampire Empire: The Greyfriar is quite a book that is made by twisting and welding together Steampunkery, a dash of horror, whipped with major action and adventure, if that were not enough lets top it off with slight romance with a side of politics and of course some bloody war. Really, what in the world is this book missing. Not a thing! However, this book was not good just because it was the ultimate at combining genres. Clay and Susan Griffith have a gift for providing the most wonderful words together to bring you right into the book. The images that were tossing about in my head were bold and full which had me thinking I was really along for the ride. Not only did the imagery of the world blow me away but the fight scenes had me all up in a huff of excitement! I wanted to grab a sword and a hero and jump into the fight! The Northern Hemisphere was attacked in 1870, nearly killing and destroying what we know to be the Western Civilization. The Great Killing. Princess Adele, the heir of Equatoria is due to wed a renowned vampire killer, Senator Clark, and united her Empire with America. This arrangement now poses a threat to the vampires that live in the northern areas of the world. Adele and her younger brother Simon are on their way to northern territories for political matters in Marseilles when their dirigible is intercepted by a larger than normal ban of vampires lead by Flay. She is warrior vampress that follows orders from her master, Cesare the youngest son of King Dimitry. He is known for mass killing of humans. Now the heir of Equatoria, Adele, is running from. Flay. These vampires are parasitic with very powerful physical characteristics whom roam freely in the colder areas, feedlot humans for dinner, and terrorize others so they are afraid of being enslaved by them. *Damsel in distress announces the entrance of said hero.* The Greyfriar swoops in to save her. I fell in love with him as soon as he pulled out all of these weapons and started hacking up the vampires on top of him in a gory morbid way. *sigh* It is also quite a shock because The Greyfriar is a man whose stories of heroism and acts of battle are all thought to be fables. He ended up being this strong yet mysterious man who drew in not only me but our lovely Adele as well. (I should mention that she is crafty with a weapon as well!) Ultimately is kidnapped. ah, heiress-napped albeit her best efforts of flight and the efforts of her masked mystery fighter, by Flay who brings her to England for Cesare. Enter, Gareth, the oldest son and heir to the Vampire Empire once King Dimitry leaves this world. He lives in Scotland away from his role of heir to the supposed throne. He pulls the heir card and takes Adele away from Cesare's hand. He starts to learn more about "human" culture through Adele. I found myself chuckling when he was learning to write. The growth and development between Adele and Greyfriar was utterly touching, it had me dabbing a small tear away. Their emotions gradual grew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    Excellent book....

    though I may be a bit bias since Clay is my 1st cousin I really did like the book, alot. It is not like Twilight which I dislike and as I started the book I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm a purist in the account of vampire lore and I wasn't sure what twist they had thrown in and I was hoping vampires didn't sparkle and thankfully they did not. I'm really looking forward to the 2nd installment to see where it takes us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2