Customer Reviews for

Greywalker (Greywalker Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(73)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

This book kicks major you-know-what!

This book was awesome! I dug the whole thing, and I normally don't read too many books with a female main character. But Harper is sweet! She's really out-spoken and rough around the edges - she makes a great reluctant heroine. The supporting characters are cool too...
This book was awesome! I dug the whole thing, and I normally don't read too many books with a female main character. But Harper is sweet! She's really out-spoken and rough around the edges - she makes a great reluctant heroine. The supporting characters are cool too, especially the not-exactly human ones. I say it's a 3-pointer for Kat Richardson. I know there's two more books, but keep 'em coming!

posted by Bad_Joke on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nothing disappoints more then a book at times

Ok, I was excited to find a new author and potential series. But I am not even done with the book and it is like pulling teeth right now to even read a few pages. I can see where it is leading, but the concept of "walking in the grey" is tiring and not enough informat...
Ok, I was excited to find a new author and potential series. But I am not even done with the book and it is like pulling teeth right now to even read a few pages. I can see where it is leading, but the concept of "walking in the grey" is tiring and not enough information is being given to keep the readers interest (at least not mine). There needs to be more character development for me to bond with them and so far nothing. I am sort of hoping the "thing" in the grey eats the main character.

posted by Stalked-by-the-Bug on December 3, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing disappoints more then a book at times

    Ok, I was excited to find a new author and potential series. But I am not even done with the book and it is like pulling teeth right now to even read a few pages. I can see where it is leading, but the concept of "walking in the grey" is tiring and not enough information is being given to keep the readers interest (at least not mine). There needs to be more character development for me to bond with them and so far nothing. I am sort of hoping the "thing" in the grey eats the main character.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2008

    Waste of my time

    I could not get into this book at all. I ended up reading 3 or 4 other books in the time it took me to finish this one. The plot was boring. The story dragged on and on and could not keep me interested. I do like the concept of a greywalker but the story itself did nothing for me.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book kicks major you-know-what!

    This book was awesome! I dug the whole thing, and I normally don't read too many books with a female main character. But Harper is sweet! She's really out-spoken and rough around the edges - she makes a great reluctant heroine. The supporting characters are cool too, especially the not-exactly human ones. I say it's a 3-pointer for Kat Richardson. I know there's two more books, but keep 'em coming!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An amusing somewhat satirical fantasy mystery

    In Seattle private investigator Harper Blaine expected an apology and a check from her client, but instead he hammered her head with his fists and slammed it against the doorjamb before completing his beating of the sleuth. A few days later Harper awakens in the hospital where Dr, Skelleher informs her she had died for two minutes before they managed to bring her back.--------------- Nothing is the same since the incident as now Harper sees ghosts and other paranormal essences that she cannot classify. Even stranger her clients take a gruesome twist as she has started to have walk-ins from the shadowy realm beyond the mortal plane. She needs professional help and a psychiatrist would cost too much money. So instead she turns to Linguistics Professor Ben 'ghost guy' Danziger and his ¿bewitching¿ wife Mara to instruct her on supernatural 101, 102, and advanced courses. Life is not the same for this GREYWALKER though she tries by dating a normal antiques expert while she is one bite away from being the vampire king¿s dessert as she blunders on a case from beyond.----------------- This is an amusing somewhat satirical fantasy mystery starring a delightful female who gaining an on the job education as an almost human sleuth. The story line is fast-paced, but belongs to the heroine who hopes by dating the norms she can keep one foot out of the graveyard. Fans will enjoy the delightfully entertaining detective story that moves back and forth between worlds as the tyro GREYWALKER learns about life, death, and a myriad of grey in-betweens.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2008

    My new favorite series

    As a mid-20s female who does not enjoy romance, I love dark fantasy and crime, and this series has both for me! How nice of Kat Richardson to combine the two. I thought this was a really fun read. The author is kind enough to spare us all the mundane and overly-long descriptions that most authors bog us down with, and just lets us use our imaginations, while she gets to the meat of the story, which is the action. Apparently, it takes place around 2000 or 1999, which is awesome, because I moved away from Seattle in 1998, so I knew of most of the places she mentioned - a homecoming, of sorts! I also absolutely adore Harper Blaine. She's everything a woman should be: tough, a smart-alec, logical, suspicious of things outside the norm... I thought her denile of what was happening to her was very realistic. That's how I would've reacted! Anyway - great job, Kat. Poltergiest and Underground were even better!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Auh! Such a great story!

    If you like fast paced novels that don't bog you down with unnecessary explanations and too-long descriptions, then this book is for you. The characters are likable and realistic. Harper was not at all happy about her new talent, she fought against it. Wouldn't some one in the real world do the same? I loved the plot, it moved along with the speed and weight of a frate train. A great book all around!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Not good at all

    I just finished reading the Kim Harrison books and i was looking for something to fill the void. I saw the title of this book and read the back cover, and I was like 'Yes! Something to pass the time with until Kim Harrison makes another one.' But...I was sadly disappointed. I'm only on page 36 right now, and I don't think i can go any further. The book is badly written, jumping from place to place without expanding on the feelings of the main character or anything else. It's like a child writing about their day. 'A man bumped into me, I pushed him, he pushed back. It made me angry.' It is just not a book that devout paranormal/ fantasy fans will enjoy. I wont make the mistake of leaving the book store before reading the first chapter every again.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2008

    OK I AM LOST

    I believe in giving books a chance before judging them by the reviews of others. And the reviews stated it was a good book, so i went and borrowed it. This book was bad. The story or the concept and idea of a greywalker was insteresting but the book itself was badly written. The action was too much and i dont refer to the action that keeps you at the edge of your feet, au contraire i mean the action that drags on, oh she went here and here and here Changing settings drastically over the course of a page, until you lose yourself and your like okay what was i reading, and where is she now?, Also the dialogue was very poor and unlikely. This book was written as a first person but make no mistake despite that you dont really know much about the main character, or what she's feeling, you can't become or sympathize with the chracter. I am sorry but i fail to see how people enjoyed this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Urban Fantasy

    I liked this book very much. It's a relief to find a strong female protagonist who isn't constantly making foolish mistakes or bemoaning her lot in life. Great cast of characters and world development. I'm really looking forward to the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Paranormal PI..with a great twist

    This was a good book, I am looking forward to reading the rest in the series. Harper Blaine was a PI before an accident left her dead for 2 minutes..now she has a second vision and can see things in the grey. This leds to new clients. Lots of twist and turns, and interesting chracters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    a fine introduction

    I like Kat Richardson's writing. I like her heroine, a very real and ordinary young woman, apart from the minor detail of carrying a gun and being a private investigator. Oh, and the fact that her heart stopped beating for a couple of minutes after she was beaten up. I like the people who help her too, the nerdy scientist and his forgiving wife, and the picture they paint of true love.

    Poor Harper Blaine doesn't have a true love, but she does have a love interest and he's really rather cool. She has a rather amazing guy who fixes things too. And a talent for meeting and helping the oddest of people, but you'd have to read the book to see how that works out.

    I like the way the author portrays Harper's reaction to the unknown. The physical sensations of being afraid, and the effect of those sensations on the environment are convincingly portrayed. There's no magical transition from klutz to superwoman here-just a slow learning to apply skills well known to situations thoroughly unknown.

    And there's the Grey, a scary place, intriguing, confusing, but oddly satisfying in its relation to reality, myth and magic. The book leaves me convinced that the author has everything rather nicely worked out, and eager to read more and find to find out how she's going to make it work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Really Seatle!

    It seems like everyone and their mom is writing a modern dark fantasy book these days, and this is one of the better ones. More a mystery novel with supernatural elements than a supernatural detective story (ala Anita Blake), the characters and tone owe more to the mystery genre. The characters are realistic and intriguing, and Harper's powerset is neat and orignal. My favorite things about these books (I'm including the first three) is the way that magic works. I find the magic system highly intuitive and realistic. Most modern fantasty writers gloss over their magic systems, not explaining HOW the characters are doing anything. My other favorite aspect is that they truely feel like they're set in Seattle. As a Seattle native, I naturally recognised all of the landmarks, but more to the point the atmosphere was right. So many books set in Seattle are in a place where it just rains a lot and people get mochas at Denney's. Kat gets Seattle perfectly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    Good Book

    This book was definitely a change of pace for me, I liked all the characters and the plot, I love the whole concept of this book. I look forward to reading more of KaT Richardsons books.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2008

    Kat & Harper are dope!

    When I read this book, it blew me away. The characters, the plot, the mystery. Everything! Kat Richardson really did her thing with her debut. I highly recommend this to all y'all who read urban fantasy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Intriguing Paranormal!

    Harper Blaine, a private investigator, was dead for two minutes before she was brought back to life. Since then everything is a little grey, and I mean literally grey. She is now a Greywalker, where she can step from one realm to another where vampires, ghosts, and other creatures of the night lurk. Now Harper attracts a new type of clientele, and they aren¿t creatures that she is particularly happy to meet. She feels the evil and creepy existence of them like an overwhelming tide ready to take her under, but she doesn¿t know how to keep them at bay. She takes on a novice vampire as a client becomes involved with a witch and her magic a necromancer, and his chilling influences and an artifact that threatens all things connected to the Grey and that includes her. She must uncover how everything is connected before it¿s too late, choose her allies, and try not to be eliminated in the process. Ms. Richardson takes us into a new realm of the mystical with an intriguing cast of characters. There¿s mystery, suspense, and little bit of romance in this fast paced-paranormal making you want to turn to the next page and find out what¿s going to happen. I didn¿t want to put this book down! This reader looks forward for another chilling tale from this author. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2006

    Excellent characterization!

    This is a quick, riveting read for fans of the 'woo-woo' factor. The real strength here is the character of Harper Blaine, a woman with new skills she did not seek out but must now learn to manage. Richardson does a fine job in portraying the tension between Harper's new life and her nostalgia for the simpler more clear cut world she inhabited before her injury. Several subsidiary characters are also nicely portrayed - the young college student who has gone missing, a computer 'geek' who matter of factly helps Harper even as he perceives the truth of her situation, and an attractive antiques dealer who hopes to be a permanent romantic person in Harper's life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2006

    Greywalker

    A must read. Couldn't put it down. I started telling my friends to read this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2006

    Greywalker

    it's not just a fantastic book to read for halloween, but for anytime. it's new and exciting, great characters. when you first read the 1st chapter, you wouldn't want to put down these book. your imagination will love the image she paints for you. it's going to be the 1st of a 'greywalker' series and i can't wait for the rest of richardson's boook to come out. it's a must read...not just for sci-fi/fantasy people, but for all.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Interesting Twist

    Not the same old vampire book. This book is fun and adds some interesting twists to the vampire lore. I can't wait for Kat Richardson's next book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2014

    Kat Richardson is one of the best author finds I've made in many

    Kat Richardson is one of the best author finds I've made in many, many years. It probably helps that I was 
    raised in Seattle, as were my mother and grandmother, so even The Grey -- that world-beside-world of 
    Seattle's dead community -- feels familiar and like places I've known or heard stories about since I was
    a toddler (which is many, many years ago now). Harper Blaine, Kat's protagonist, is well drawn and "real"
    from her first words to her last. Harper's sidekicks are equally well written and real -- even those one might
    not expect to meet more than once. This first book draws the mind-pictures you'll need to continue through
    the rest of the series. And, as a ferret owner myself, her ferret character is a real ferret -- perfectly nuanced
    and definitely alive. That's a first for me.

    I highly recommend the entire Greywalker series -- all 9 of them. Join the fun. Pick a favourite character.
    Imagine a really dire situation to put them in. I'll bet Kat beats you to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11