Customer Reviews for

Grief Girl

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2008

    Wonderful way with words

    Erin Vincent's book is a coming of age story like no other. I laughed, I cried, I inhaled this unique look at every child's fear play itself out brilliantly.One of the best memoirs to date!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    ''A book that changed my life.''

    ''Erin Vincent is a very talented author. She's been through more then I could ever imagine going through. In this book she captures a range of emotions, and she shows how that when her life hit rock bottom, she still made the best of it. This book will change the way you take things for granted, and make you cry. I cryed so many times reading this book. She also captured some humor, I LOVED it.''

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    Grief Girl

    Grief Girl is a well written, meaningful novel that gives the reader a view into the life of a teenager working through a terrible situation. The book is easy to read and engaging. It is an interesting read for anyone, but can also provide support and helpful information to those who have gone through a similar tragedy. I recommend this book to teens and adults alike.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Jennifer Wardrip, aka "The Genius" for TeensReadToo.com

    In this heartbreaking yet uplifting memoir, Erin Vincent recounts the tragedy of losing both of her parents in a terrible car accident when she was fourteen. What makes the story so sad, at least for me, was that fact that her father, unlike her mother, was not killed instantly in the crash, but survived for a number of weeks before succumbing to his injuries. For me, this fact made Ms. Vincent's story even more difficult, as it felt like hope had left her family for good. <BR/><BR/>"They say God is a comfort to all those who mourn. How can you be a comfort to those you've made suffer? What manipulation! It's like having your wounds dressed by the person who hurt you...No, sorry, you're a bit late, God." <BR/><BR/>For Erin, it takes awhile to realize that wishing something bad would happen to your parents is not the same as killing them. It doesn't take long, though, to realize that her horrible extended family - her father's parents and her mother's wretched brothers - are up to no good. With only her older sister, Tracy, and Tracy's boyfriend, Chris, to watch our for Erin and her younger brother, Trent, things are not going to get easier in a hurry. <BR/><BR/>As life goes on - Erin returns to school, she watches as both her mother and father are buried, she goes on a trip with her theater group - she realizes that life cannot be categorized as either good or bad, but rather is a series of ups and downs, of highs and lows. As Erin leans on her best girlfriend, as the only true friends of her parents help out her beleaguered "family" when they need help, she learns that life does go on, whether you want it to or not. <BR/><BR/>The wonderful thing about GRIEF GIRL is that Ms. Vincent never comes across as pitiful, although it would be easy to pity a girl who lost both of her parents. Although technically an orphan, she never adopted that orphan attitude. And even though there were many times throughout her life in which both friends and family took advantage of her, Erin shows in the end the fighting spirit to reclaim what is hers - something that I'm sure would make her mother and father very, very proud. <BR/><BR/>This is a wonderful memoir I would recommend to anyone, but especially those who have faced their own losses. Ms. Vincent's enduring spirit of strength is to be admired.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Msh Myah

    Really great book it helps you understand what people are going through! I personallly loved hearing what it was like to go through that

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    sooo goood

    I read this book it was so interresting i loved it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Skyarrow

    Well okay meet me back in the clan

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2013

    This was such a great book.

    This was such a great book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Greif Girl

    This book is probably the only book i would evver read lololol

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Cedarstar

    Im sorry about your kits. We will give them a great home in the clan. Ill help you care for them if you ever need help

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Fran

    I used to thinl a person could handle so much i was dead wrong this book is meaning full

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Holy doughnuts

    Yummy story. Sad

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    Courtesy of Teens Read Too

    In this heartbreaking yet uplifting memoir, Erin Vincent recounts the tragedy of losing both of her parents in a terrible car accident when she was fourteen. What makes the story so sad, at least for me, was the fact that her father, unlike her mother, was not killed instantly in the crash, but survived for a number of weeks before succumbing to his injuries. For me, this fact made Ms. Vincent¿s story even more difficult, as it felt like hope had left her family for good. ¿They say God is a comfort to all those who mourn. How can you be a comfort to those you¿ve made suffer? What manipulation! It¿s like having your wounds dressed by the person who hurt you¿No, sorry, you¿re a bit late, God.¿ For Erin, it takes awhile to realize that wishing something bad would happen to your parents is not the same as killing them. It doesn¿t take long, though, to realize that her horrible extended family ¿ her father¿s parents and her mother¿s wretched brothers ¿ are up to no good. With only her older sister, Tracy, and Tracy¿s boyfriend, Chris, to watch our for Erin and her younger brother, Trent, things are not going to get easier in a hurry. As life goes on ¿ Erin returns to school, she watches as both her mother and father are buried, she goes on a trip with her theater group ¿ she realizes that life cannot be categorized as either good or bad, but rather is a series of ups and downs, of highs and lows. As Erin leans on her best girlfriend, as the only true friends of her parents help out her beleaguered ¿family¿ when they need help, she learns that life does go on, whether you want it to or not. The wonderful thing about GRIEF GIRL is that Ms. Vincent never comes across as pitiful, although it would be easy to pity a girl who lost both of her parents. Although technically an orphan, she never adopted that orphan attitude. And even though there were many times throughout her life in which both friends and family took advantage of her, Erin shows in the end the fighting spirit to reclaim what is hers ¿ something that I¿m sure would make her mother and father very, very proud. This is a wonderful memoir I would recommend to anyone, but especially those who have faced their own losses. Ms. Vincent¿s enduring spirit of strength is to be admired. **Reviewed by: Jennifer Wardrip, aka 'The Genius'

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Oh my god this is so heart touching

    when i read this book, i thought it would be about some girl who saw her parents die, not the fact that she was 13, had an older sister, and a younger brother and still kept her head high. she's as strong as anne frank from her describtions and you would never think that some girl would have to go threw that at that age. i love this book and it reminds me about my self and that i need to keep my head high in times of distress. THANK YOU ERIN VINCENT FOR THAT AMAZING AND HEART WARMING BOOK OF YOURS!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    G

    This is a wonderful book I cried through most of it and I thought Erin Vincent did an amazing job of keeping the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    I have a very serendipitous personal story of how I found this b

    I have a very serendipitous personal story of how I found this book. In a state of deep depression, I searched &quot;images of depression&quot;. Many photos popped up but one in particular stopped me in my tracks. &quot;That is one&quot;, I thought. The photo that can relay how I feel without words. Then I read the words included with the photo and saw the name &quot;Adam Knott&quot;. Who is Adam Knott? I did a search and found nothing linking him to Erin. But I am not easily dissuaded. I continued searching. &quot;Erin Knott&quot;. Nope. Somehow, I found my way to Adam's photo log of his beloved wife' Erin's depression while writing a book about the loss of her parents. Now, this is a book review, really it is, but the odd coincidences are, to me, important. I happened to own this book by mere chance. &quot;Grief Girl&quot;. That sounded familiar.I bought it at a local book sale a few years ago, not realizing it was for teens. In the throes of grief regarding a similar but different type of loss, I read it in one sitting. I realize I did this completely backwards, but then again, it was perfect. Erin's book captivated me. I was, in a way, taken out of my own pain and fell head-long into hers. This book is so well written, in the moment, from the perspective of 14 year-old Erin. Brilliant. I especially appreciated her willingness to bare her soul by exquisitely describing the normal, sometimes self-absorbed thoughts an adolescent girl has during this stage of development (first day back at school, being admired for her fortitude, etc.) Erin is a very brave woman. It is a shame she inadvertently induced PTSD/depression (catharsis ain't all its cracked up to be) but this book is beautiful. From all I can gather, the author has emerged healthy and whole on the other side of her courageous endeavor. I cannot believe anyone would give this book less than a 4-star review, but then empathy is an endangered human trait according to a few other books. Well done, Erin. And thank you.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    HELP FOR YOU

    When i read your story it made me cry and i know you dont want to hurt maxine so im going to tell you something. ITS YOUR LIFE!!!!!!! You should care what peole think .I met a lot of peole like you and want to meet one go on youtube and type THIS IS A COMMONTERY and to the new year resoustions. I hope this helps you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    THANKYOU FOR YOUR HELP

    Maxxy andI decided to sty together and battle whateverr comes our way and whatever happens happens. That we neeed to be strong no matter what ad when and if the time comes for us to seperate we might both be ready and we might not be but we will always bee the best of friends. Thankyou so much for your advice it was so helpful and jus what i need thankyou soo so much. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!

    This is one of the best books ive ever read! I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Amazing

    I couldnt stop reading! A wonderful book indeed.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3