Customer Reviews for

The Griff: A Graphic Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

chicken balls

chicken balls

posted by RepoXman on March 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

A swing and a miss!!

This graphic novel seemed like a home run to me. I'm a huge Christopher Moore fan, having read all but two of his novels and list him as my favorite writer. Add to that the fact that I have been an avid comic book reader for sixteen years. I have often said that many...
This graphic novel seemed like a home run to me. I'm a huge Christopher Moore fan, having read all but two of his novels and list him as my favorite writer. Add to that the fact that I have been an avid comic book reader for sixteen years. I have often said that many of Moore's works would be perfect for an animated show on the likes of Comedy Central or HBO. That isn't a far stretch from a graphic novel. Here however what I read was lacking so much. Overall, the plot is interesting and a small fraction of the dialogue is Moore-like. The rest is really bad though. There are enormous problems with the timeline as things happen at different times but the reader can't tell that. I kept turning pages and felt pages or panels were missing. Part of that comes from the artist, Jennyson Rosero, who might be a good artist but here proves not a very good story teller. Many of the panels prove hard to decipher what is happening because many of the characters never change facial expressions. Overall, as sad as it is for me to say this, this book looks like it was made by people who don't usually work in this form, which is true but unfortunate. I expected a lot more especially for the price. I can't wait to read the next Moore novel which will hopefully be in his wheelhouse.

posted by Sean_From_OHIO on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A swing and a miss!!

    This graphic novel seemed like a home run to me. I'm a huge Christopher Moore fan, having read all but two of his novels and list him as my favorite writer. Add to that the fact that I have been an avid comic book reader for sixteen years. I have often said that many of Moore's works would be perfect for an animated show on the likes of Comedy Central or HBO. That isn't a far stretch from a graphic novel. Here however what I read was lacking so much. Overall, the plot is interesting and a small fraction of the dialogue is Moore-like. The rest is really bad though. There are enormous problems with the timeline as things happen at different times but the reader can't tell that. I kept turning pages and felt pages or panels were missing. Part of that comes from the artist, Jennyson Rosero, who might be a good artist but here proves not a very good story teller. Many of the panels prove hard to decipher what is happening because many of the characters never change facial expressions. Overall, as sad as it is for me to say this, this book looks like it was made by people who don't usually work in this form, which is true but unfortunate. I expected a lot more especially for the price. I can't wait to read the next Moore novel which will hopefully be in his wheelhouse.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Not for b/w Nook

    It is unreadable on a b/w Nook and customer service just spouts nonsense. Maybe it works on a color Nook.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2012

    chicken balls

    chicken balls

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2011

    Great, but hard to read on the Nook.

    A great story with Christopher Moore's trademark humor, along with fantastic artwork. My only complaint is that the pages are very scrunched up and the text is difficult (and in several panels impossible) to read. This is the first graphic novel I have read on my Nook, so I'm not sure if this is a common problem. Something like the magazine article view would be better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Not funny

    Its totaly random in cunclusuon it stincks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2013

    I love Christopher Moore's books. His humor is snarky and intell

    I love Christopher Moore's books. His humor is snarky and intelligent, with characters who are funny even when they're obnoxious. If I hadn't known this was co-written by him, I would have recognized the writing anyway. That said, this graphic novel really feels like a short story, which he mentions in the foreword. (Actually, he said it was too much material for a short story, but it's certainly not a full novel.)

    The point of view shifts far too abruptly for my taste, as the authors shift from one group of survivors to the next. I wish that the transitions between groups hadn't been so jarring. I was also a bit disappointed in the characterizations. The characters could have been fleshed-out a little more, and I would have been more invested in what was happening to them. It was entertaining, I don't regret buying it or the time I spent reading it, but I was a little disappointed. This feels like an unfinished work, like a first draft that should have been expanded upon.

    The art is quite good, and it's really disappointing that both authors have their own acknowledgements and bios, but nothing from Jennyson Rosero (who only illustrated the whole thing).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Enjoyable

    Simply an enjoyable graphic novel. Recommend you only read this on the larger nooks like like HD+ (and in color). Only one page was particularly difficult to read. I hope nook updates their software to make graphic titles like these easier to zoom in and out as necessary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    I didnt buy this book yet but i have a question

    Is this rely comic book¿

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Good book

    I really like this book ecause when the really god parts come up you just have a jaw droping moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Horrible!

    You cant see it, it is inapropriate, and REALLY STUPID! You can do better, Man. Duhhhh its stupider than that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is a really good comic i love comics but on my nook color i couldnt read the tiny leteres but i tried my best and it was a good funny amazing and a i wish this doesnt happen story plus theres great humor and illustrations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Master

    The best story i ever read in my life

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Katy perry

    Wow i love the book so im gonna give it 5 stars because it amazing :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2