Customer Reviews for

Griftopia: Bubble Machines, Vampire Squids, and the Long Con That Is Breaking America

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(90)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Another masterpiece by Matt Taibbi - The true and nothing but the truth

I was eagerly looking forward to Matt's new book after reading his work in Rolling Stone. Matt pulls no punches in the book and spotlights why our country is going down the drain. A terrific read - if you want to really understand the gang who put the economy where it...
I was eagerly looking forward to Matt's new book after reading his work in Rolling Stone. Matt pulls no punches in the book and spotlights why our country is going down the drain. A terrific read - if you want to really understand the gang who put the economy where it is.

posted by 3454673 on November 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Mildly Amusing

Taibbi writes for the choir. O.K. Fine. First he tells us he understands nothing about finance but then goes on to explain why the crash happened. What! He also misrepresents what the tea party is about. To his rigid, inflexable way of thinking, if you don't think like ...
Taibbi writes for the choir. O.K. Fine. First he tells us he understands nothing about finance but then goes on to explain why the crash happened. What! He also misrepresents what the tea party is about. To his rigid, inflexable way of thinking, if you don't think like him your the most racist, horrible, stupid person in the world.
It's the same crap I've heard from the left for the last 50 years.
This man is incapable of understanding any other opinion except his own. Like most political hacks, he is always on the attack. His rhetoric is that of the bull dozer and if your an informed person,
you know it's just mostly Bull!

posted by S_Pliskin on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Another masterpiece by Matt Taibbi - The true and nothing but the truth

    I was eagerly looking forward to Matt's new book after reading his work in Rolling Stone. Matt pulls no punches in the book and spotlights why our country is going down the drain. A terrific read - if you want to really understand the gang who put the economy where it is.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Read this book before you cast another vote.

    This book should be required reading for every American before they cast another vote. We're a people being exploited by the most unscrupulous master criminals of all time. We at least should understand the crimes we are allowing ourselves to be the victim of. Perhaps then we might take our votes more seriously and bring an end to the massive con job that we are unknowingly supporting.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    A Must Read

    This book tells why we had the housing crisis and those involved in creating it. Matt Taibbi gives us an up-close and personal look at the crisis that was caused by greed and out-right criminal activity. If you want to know why we are in the mess we are in, then this is a book that must be read.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    EVERYONE Needs to Read this Book!!!!

    One of the most thoughtful and engaging books of the year. If you are interested in the machine that has driven the United States into the "Great Recession" this book is it! Matt Taibbi explains Wall Street antics in everyday terms that everyone can and should understand. If you have a child you owe it to them to read this book. By the time you are finished you will be able to explain Wall Street rip-off's, economic bubbles, and why you just paid over $4.00 for a gallon of gas a few years back (you will even know who to send your thank you letter to). Wall Street should be wrapped in crime tape. Are we going to stay ignorant? Will our children pay for our generations continued ignorance? READ THE BOOK....

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Although it seems to indicate its disdain for Ayn Rand's Objecti

    Although it seems to indicate its disdain for Ayn Rand's Objectionist concept, especially with regard to being a driving fundamental for Alan Greenspan and his obvious power grab at history, Griftopia seems to travel the spectrum of it's contempt for government/banking cronyism, and the extent it is continuing to drag on our economy, a central theme of Rand's philosophy. I view this as an agreement with the principles of self interest, and the pure absolution of the idea that one "Political Party" can do better than the other, or that they care to. Or that anyone in government can be trusted to resolve the underlying issue of this moment in time that has forever changed American Society, Grift. Defined as acquiring money or wealth ILLICITLY, grift takes the left and the right, the REPUBLICAN and the DEMOCRAT and says "We the people, of these United States of America GOT SCREWED, and since we're not going to do anything about it, then shame on all of us. We should care enough to do ANYTHING about it. Griftopia tells you why you should be upset, who it is that you should want to see in jail, and is simply stating with as much encouragement as possible for the reader to GET UP OFF YOUR BEHIND AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT. Griftopia accomplishes this without stating a political motive, only that as individuals, that I assume want success and prosperity for ourselves, that we would care enough that these financial swindlers took advantage of America, and almost no one has paid us back with the speed and level of effectiveness to which the government responded to their calamity....it's time for these criminals of all ilks to ante up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dont even have to read the details

    this is going to be a great read, after his first book the derangement, he can do no wrong, Matt is a very gifted writer who tells it how it is without second guessing himself, cannot wait to dive into this NEW book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Great book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Mildly Amusing

    Taibbi writes for the choir. O.K. Fine. First he tells us he understands nothing about finance but then goes on to explain why the crash happened. What! He also misrepresents what the tea party is about. To his rigid, inflexable way of thinking, if you don't think like him your the most racist, horrible, stupid person in the world.
    It's the same crap I've heard from the left for the last 50 years.
    This man is incapable of understanding any other opinion except his own. Like most political hacks, he is always on the attack. His rhetoric is that of the bull dozer and if your an informed person,
    you know it's just mostly Bull!

    2 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    The Hunter S. Thompson of our era

    This book lays the financial meltdown that totally wrecked the American economy on its back. Taibbi presents these complicated schemes that were created, exploited, and ultimately pull-offed with magician-like-ease by a handful of giant a-holes with clarity. The book insightfully covers the single biggest scam that America has ever ignored...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    excellent

    a quick read considering the amount of information contained within. Taibbi lays out heist after heist that is the great swindle thanks to Randian ideology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Excellent read. Worth the money

    Excellent read. Worth the money. Funny writing style and great ability to put complex financial transactions in lay mans terms

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    excellent

    a brilliant book that should be required reading for all americans.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2011

    Great read

    The author has an ability to easily break complex financial transactions and strip them down so they are easy to understand. It is also a written in a style that is easy to read and will make you laugh from time to time. Highly reccomended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Loved it. Very informative and an excellent argument.

    It is a fairly unbiased account of the financial disaster. The author seems driven to attribute the whole disaster to Goldman Sachs firm of banking; while clearly biased, he makes a compelling argument. His writing style is EXTREMELY GOOD. The best metaphors that I have read in at least a year. The substantive information agrees with what I have read in the past.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    A fun read

    Those who are paying attention will see a lot of what they already know in this well written and fun book. Well researched and written in an easily accessible style,it will remind those who know and educate those who do not, what is going on in this country.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Finally an explanation that makes sense not political points.

    Matt Taibbi manages to offend everyone as he peels back the layers to expose the nature of America's bleeding wound. A must read if todays political insanity makes no sense to you, but prepare yourself for an utterly depressing diagnosis. No action plan to correct "Griftopia" is given.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    I am glad I read it.. I think others would feel the same

    This is a book most should read..it really tells it like it is..rather good bad or in between there is greed going on in our world. I just wonder what our founding Fathers would think of the corruption/money hungry individuals that think they deserve everything and anyone under their tier of living doesn't really matter.. I didn't really learn much new, but it sure reinforces the goings on in America

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Couldn't put book down!!!

    Complex financial topics explained clearly for the average reader. Hope more books on this topic are written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

    Exposes how Wall Street and the Fed swindle the all Americans which he calls grifts. Our economy runs on bubbles created by the Fed and further exploited by Wall Street. This book should be the bible for Occupy Wall street because after reading you will really know who runs this country.
    And anyone who exposes Greenspan for the fraud he was is someone I admire.
    He also believes Goldman Sachs is the ring leader with all its former executives in important government positions in America now in Europe.
    Also in the paperback a section on how the banks using fraud to take foreclosed homes without the proper paperwork. The MERS registration system of mortgages allowed fraud much easier than the old paper registration in county property offices.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2011

    Waste of time and money

    If you are looking for an anti-Tea Party, anti-conservative screed this is the book for you. Reading this book was a miserable experiance all the way up to the arrogant smirk on the author's face on the last page.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 172 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9