Customer Reviews for

Grim Tuesday (Keys to the Kingdom Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Definitely Better Than The First One!!!

"Grim Tuesday", the sequel to "Mister Monday, in Garth Nix's spellbinding "Keys to the Kingdom" series, is a wonderfully written book! It is extremely action-packed, completely entertaining, and definitely better than the first one!!!

posted by Amajorbibliophile on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not great, but not bad

There's certainly one thing to be said about everything Nix writes, and that is that it's rife with original creativity and completely new fantasy stories. However, sometimes the books themselves, although phenomenally imaginative, are hit or miss depending on how much ...
There's certainly one thing to be said about everything Nix writes, and that is that it's rife with original creativity and completely new fantasy stories. However, sometimes the books themselves, although phenomenally imaginative, are hit or miss depending on how much Nix is able to flesh out the story. The Seventh Tower series, for instance, is deftly imagined, a two worlds drawn together through light and shadow, and the ability to use colored gemstones to create light beams that can do all sorts of interesting things. Unfortunately for whatever reason, Nix doesn't explore the world and the story enough. It's much more like eating watery soup than it is like consuming a good meal.

The Abhorsen Trilogy, on the other hand, is a great work, and although it's not a classic literature sort of story, the world itself is fleshed out well, so that the reader can really imagine the world and lose themselves in it. I feel like the Keys to the Kingdom series is a mixture of both, and I'd love to see the world more fully explored. The first book, especially, seems to move toward that path, but as the books progress, they seem to become more and more formulaic and lacking in substance. Ultimately, Nix's imagination seems to know no bounds, but if he would slow down and put more life into these books, I think they would be much better. Not to say that the books aren't fun to read, but I believe they could be fun to read and rich. Hopefully his next fantasy series will be more like The Abhorsen Trilogy.

-Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

posted by Lindsey_Miller on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not great, but not bad

    There's certainly one thing to be said about everything Nix writes, and that is that it's rife with original creativity and completely new fantasy stories. However, sometimes the books themselves, although phenomenally imaginative, are hit or miss depending on how much Nix is able to flesh out the story. The Seventh Tower series, for instance, is deftly imagined, a two worlds drawn together through light and shadow, and the ability to use colored gemstones to create light beams that can do all sorts of interesting things. Unfortunately for whatever reason, Nix doesn't explore the world and the story enough. It's much more like eating watery soup than it is like consuming a good meal.

    The Abhorsen Trilogy, on the other hand, is a great work, and although it's not a classic literature sort of story, the world itself is fleshed out well, so that the reader can really imagine the world and lose themselves in it. I feel like the Keys to the Kingdom series is a mixture of both, and I'd love to see the world more fully explored. The first book, especially, seems to move toward that path, but as the books progress, they seem to become more and more formulaic and lacking in substance. Ultimately, Nix's imagination seems to know no bounds, but if he would slow down and put more life into these books, I think they would be much better. Not to say that the books aren't fun to read, but I believe they could be fun to read and rich. Hopefully his next fantasy series will be more like The Abhorsen Trilogy.

    -Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely Better Than The First One!!!

    "Grim Tuesday", the sequel to "Mister Monday, in Garth Nix's spellbinding "Keys to the Kingdom" series, is a wonderfully written book! It is extremely action-packed, completely entertaining, and definitely better than the first one!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Both my daughter & son liked the whole series. I think this

    Both my daughter & son liked the whole series. I think this book
    made a very good progression from the start point in the story line from
    the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    There is no reviews for 2011!

    This is a really good book and right after i read monday, i bought this 1!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Read This Book if You're in a Lobby Waiting for Your Appointment

    I liked Mr. Monday, so I was disappointed with Grim Tuesday. It's not bad but it ain't good either. The pacing of the story felt slow especially when Arthur entered the House which suppose to be the exciting part of the book. The House and its Denizens seem to lose their shine. I'll only recommend this title to people who are trying to kill some time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    Review

    In Garth Nix's books that I read, which are mister Monday and grim Tuesday, can be related to things of the world, universe, and religious things that was once here on earth or long gone and or was never here to begin with.
    In Grim Tuesday the place were Arther has to go to get the second key to the kingdom can be related to the depths of hell, Because it is torture for Arther while traveling to the bottom of the pit in the far reaches, about not even half way down he needs to rest only to wake up to find Suzy coming down the track to help Arther, When they get the second part of the will Arthur ends up getting caught. This is a good book because it puts you in suspense, mind puzzling, and actiony, but for the most part it is confusing if you didn't read Mister Monday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    great book! great series! super author!

    fast-paced and entertaining. hard to put down once you start the book. great characters and how he reveals them is wonderful. the author holds back just enough to keep you wanting more and to continue reading.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Good, but the first book was way better

    Grim Tuesday starts off good, but does not have the sustained action that Mister Monday had. Also, the final battle was lame compared to the first book. I will definitely continue reading the series, but this book will not be one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    this isnt as good as the other installments but still great. it has sort of an eeriness to it [my opinion].it was a little weird how arthur defeated grim tuesday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Too Short

    For some reason this book felt like it was very short, and I think it was too easy for Arthur to defeat Grim Tuesday. Mister Monday was much harder. Overall it had a good plot, and I like how the ending made you want to read book 3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2006

    Disappointing

    The first third of the book wasn¿t too bad. I forced myself to read the second third and then I finally through the book away. Grim Tuesday was a dismal follow up to Mister Monday. I shall continue to read the series but this is definitely one book everyone should stay away from, in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Bloody Brilliant

    This was a great book, although I enjoy Garth's other works a wee bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    great book

    this was a great book. its hard to put down. i definitely liked mister monday better, but this was still good. besides harry potter, i don't really like fantasy books, but it doesn't really matter with this series. its great. im looking forward to reading drowned wednesday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2005

    This book is amazing an excellent peice of work!

    It is amazing i was reading this bok for 1 and a half days and i only read a book if it is good and this one blew me off me feet!The author is a genius to tell you the least i was hanging on to every word in the book read this book people please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    So far, it's a great series.

    Grabbing you from the first book in the series, Mister Monday, you can continue into the second, Grim Tuesday and almost be in the book with Arthur as he fights against Grim Tuesday's minions to attempt the inheritance of the second key. As in the first book, Garth Nix carries you along with Arthur through many dubious events that Arthur can do nothing but suffer through them.Along the way Arthur makes a couple of friends in the Pit Grim Tuesday dug in the foundation of the house. Almost magically and very timely, Suzy Blue shows up to help Arthur out of the mess he gets himself into and saves him to continue farther down the trail of his long journey. As Arthur and Suzy continue they make friends with other characters and they help Arthur along his way. Coming to the end of the road or what Arthur thought to be the end of the road, he seems to find another corner that leads to more fighting and running from the Nithlings made of Nothing. The book had a big impression on me and how the author, Garth Nix, wrote every paragraph to keep you wanting more. In my opinion, I thought that the book was fun to read and I could almost imagine that I was there with Arthur fighting against the Nithlings and Grim Tuesday. I recommended this book to a friend and as he read the first, he wanted to read the second and continue the story. I enjoyed it and thought that it was a great book. It will give you adventure all the way through the book. Read it. That's all I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    amazing

    Garth Nix has yet again captured my attention and drawn me to another epic adventur. Original but still with the familiar and intensifying feeling of all other books he has written. I was glued to the book for six hours and finished it to my dismay wishing there was more. A truly thrilling and enticing read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    An Awsome read for any age

    Grim tuesday is fun and interesting with so many twist and turns it will keep you turning pages...you can't predict what'll happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Grim Tuesday: Good or Excellent?

    I loved this book. It was so cool. My favorite characters are: Arthur, Japeth, and Suzy. Garth Nix knows how to write books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    A Wonderful Way to Escape Reality

    I absolutely loved reading Grim Tuesday! I bought it, and then stayed up all night reading it. You just can't put it down. Arthur's adventures become your own as you fall into the pages. You feel scared and happy, anxious and excited, just as Arthur does. I recommend this book to anyone who needs a fascinating story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2005

    Totally cool!!!

    I'll never get sick of it!!! (Even if I have read it three times)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6