Customer Reviews for

Grim Tuesday (Keys to the Kingdom Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 111 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Definitely Better Than The First One!!!

"Grim Tuesday", the sequel to "Mister Monday, in Garth Nix's spellbinding "Keys to the Kingdom" series, is a wonderfully written book! It is extremely action-packed, completely entertaining, and definitely better than the first one!!!

posted by Amajorbibliophile on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not great, but not bad

There's certainly one thing to be said about everything Nix writes, and that is that it's rife with original creativity and completely new fantasy stories. However, sometimes the books themselves, although phenomenally imaginative, are hit or miss depending on how much ...
There's certainly one thing to be said about everything Nix writes, and that is that it's rife with original creativity and completely new fantasy stories. However, sometimes the books themselves, although phenomenally imaginative, are hit or miss depending on how much Nix is able to flesh out the story. The Seventh Tower series, for instance, is deftly imagined, a two worlds drawn together through light and shadow, and the ability to use colored gemstones to create light beams that can do all sorts of interesting things. Unfortunately for whatever reason, Nix doesn't explore the world and the story enough. It's much more like eating watery soup than it is like consuming a good meal.

The Abhorsen Trilogy, on the other hand, is a great work, and although it's not a classic literature sort of story, the world itself is fleshed out well, so that the reader can really imagine the world and lose themselves in it. I feel like the Keys to the Kingdom series is a mixture of both, and I'd love to see the world more fully explored. The first book, especially, seems to move toward that path, but as the books progress, they seem to become more and more formulaic and lacking in substance. Ultimately, Nix's imagination seems to know no bounds, but if he would slow down and put more life into these books, I think they would be much better. Not to say that the books aren't fun to read, but I believe they could be fun to read and rich. Hopefully his next fantasy series will be more like The Abhorsen Trilogy.

-Lindsey Miller, www.lindseyslibrary.com

posted by Lindsey_Miller on August 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Both my daughter & son liked the whole series. I think this

    Both my daughter & son liked the whole series. I think this book
    made a very good progression from the start point in the story line from
    the first book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2009

    Review

    In Garth Nix's books that I read, which are mister Monday and grim Tuesday, can be related to things of the world, universe, and religious things that was once here on earth or long gone and or was never here to begin with.
    In Grim Tuesday the place were Arther has to go to get the second key to the kingdom can be related to the depths of hell, Because it is torture for Arther while traveling to the bottom of the pit in the far reaches, about not even half way down he needs to rest only to wake up to find Suzy coming down the track to help Arther, When they get the second part of the will Arthur ends up getting caught. This is a good book because it puts you in suspense, mind puzzling, and actiony, but for the most part it is confusing if you didn't read Mister Monday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2008

    Good, but the first book was way better

    Grim Tuesday starts off good, but does not have the sustained action that Mister Monday had. Also, the final battle was lame compared to the first book. I will definitely continue reading the series, but this book will not be one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    this isnt as good as the other installments but still great. it has sort of an eeriness to it [my opinion].it was a little weird how arthur defeated grim tuesday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2006

    Bloody Brilliant

    This was a great book, although I enjoy Garth's other works a wee bit more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2005

    So far, it's a great series.

    Grabbing you from the first book in the series, Mister Monday, you can continue into the second, Grim Tuesday and almost be in the book with Arthur as he fights against Grim Tuesday's minions to attempt the inheritance of the second key. As in the first book, Garth Nix carries you along with Arthur through many dubious events that Arthur can do nothing but suffer through them.Along the way Arthur makes a couple of friends in the Pit Grim Tuesday dug in the foundation of the house. Almost magically and very timely, Suzy Blue shows up to help Arthur out of the mess he gets himself into and saves him to continue farther down the trail of his long journey. As Arthur and Suzy continue they make friends with other characters and they help Arthur along his way. Coming to the end of the road or what Arthur thought to be the end of the road, he seems to find another corner that leads to more fighting and running from the Nithlings made of Nothing. The book had a big impression on me and how the author, Garth Nix, wrote every paragraph to keep you wanting more. In my opinion, I thought that the book was fun to read and I could almost imagine that I was there with Arthur fighting against the Nithlings and Grim Tuesday. I recommended this book to a friend and as he read the first, he wanted to read the second and continue the story. I enjoyed it and thought that it was a great book. It will give you adventure all the way through the book. Read it. That's all I have to say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    An Awsome read for any age

    Grim tuesday is fun and interesting with so many twist and turns it will keep you turning pages...you can't predict what'll happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    Fantastic

    The second book to this series was brilliant. You just wont want to put this book down and once you begin the series you cant wait for the next book and of late that book is the third. Magnificent. A MUST READ!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2004

    Garth Nix again!

    Garth Nix has entertained us with the Seven Towers and now he brings us Keys to the Kingdom. Definetley recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2004

    This one's just as good as the first.

    Okay, I wrote one of the very fisrt reviews for Mr. Monday, and this one is just as good, if not better.But I'm still pushing my argument: Gaarth Nix is a great writer, but one day he has to get away from the number 7. The Seventh Tower was based on the 7 colors of the spectrum. The Abhorsen series placed great importance on the 7 bells that the necromancers used. And, what do you know, death had 7 levels. Now, in KttK, Nix is focusing on the days of the week. And, maybe you've noticed, each of the days has fallen prey to one og the 7 deadly sins. Monday was sloth, Tuesday was either envy or covetousness, and, according to the info for Drowned Wednesday, Wednesday is gluttony. Regardless of what I have said, however, these books are great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2003

    another one

    I've read the first of this series, and it was Pretty good! Most of Nix's books are. I personally am looking forward to this newest addition.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2