Customer Reviews for

Grimm Tidings

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Yfh

    &butterfly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    A miss for me

    I usually like Walkers novellas but this one fell flat. I purchased this one after reading Locked in Silence which i found enjoyable but this one was too angsty for me. While i understand the heroine experienced some horrible things, the constant "i want to die" and agonizing over her X husband was just over the top, irritating and made the plot feel plodding. Jacobs sudden show of sexual interest in celine seemed awkward, like the author was trying to figure out how to throw the two in bed just to elliviate the depressed theme. His subsequent emotional down spiral seems utterly contradictory to his earlier characterization and his ending personality i found to be uninspiring in every way. The sex scenes did not inspire me either, which i felt quite cheated because Walker usually produces quite spicy sex scenes but failed in this one. This was an overall miss for me, the only reason i gave it two instead one stars is the secondary characters. I would be interested in a short story on Rob, the mysterious speedy psycho with a grin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Jacob knows a thing or two about the chains of the past. How th

    Jacob knows a thing or two about the chains of the past. How that harder you hang on to them the worst your future will be. It has taken him over 200 years to learn to deal with his past mistakes. While not perfect he now has to help the newest baby Grimm deal with hers.

    Celine can not let go over her past. She has regretted the choices she has made for the last 4 years. But it will take almost losing everything in her life for a second time to make her open her eyes and realize that past is the past.

    Jacob & Celine are two peas in a pod. Both have pasts that they have fought to get over. Both are fiercely independent, strong, loyal, and totally lost without each other.

    I have be dying for this Grimm book since I finished Locked in Silence book 5 in the Grimm Circle series. I love Shiloh’s Grimms. I love trying to figure which fairy tale the character are based off. Let me tell you I was WAY off on who I thought Grimm Tiding was about. While this was not my favorite Grimm story of the series. I still really really enjoyed the story and SO can’t wait for the next Grimm Circle.

    If you have not read any of Shiloh’s Grimm’s. You really need to pick up one. You have never read a fairy tale like this.

    *Huge thank you to Shiloh for allowing me to read her story*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    When I hear “Grimm” I think of “the Brothers G

    When I hear “Grimm” I think of “the Brothers Grimm” and their fairy Tales. It is said all fairy tales, folk lore, and legends are based in part on a true story. Shiloh Walker has a way of putting her spin on some of our favorites. I am always excited to try and figure out WHO the characters are supposed to be.

    Shiloh’s “Grimm” are Guardian Angels out to save Innocents from falling into the hands of Demons. They may be Angels, but they are tough, ass-kicking, out for blood, and usually have a brutal/unpleasant past. All Grimm have some wickedly amazing powers to aid them in their fight. And they also come with a lot of baggage from their past.

    One of the best facets of Shiloh’s Grimm series is trying to figure out what fairy tale the Character is supposed to be from. For that reason I am not divulging a lot of detail.

    Jacob, a man with a story in his past, has been a Grimm for centuries. He works better alone and likes it that way.

    Celine, a “Baby” Grimm, doing anything she can to die, for good this time, is still living in the past and hates that she cannot have her old life back.

    Both of them love a good fight; have issues dealing with their past, and trouble trusting. So when Will, the leader of the Grimm, assigns Jacob to work with Celine, you can imagine how each of them felt about it.

    I thoroughly enjoyed watching Jacob and Celine grow individually, and come to terms with their past and how they feel about each other. You do not have to wait long to figure out what tale Jacob’s story is based on. But don’t let that fool you into thinking you know the whole story behind the tale. Shiloh does it again and adds that little bit of a twist that makes you say “WOW that is not what I thought it was going to be.”

    Aside from enjoying the interplay between Jacob and Celine, I also enjoyed the introduction of the Grimm Rob. What little we learn about him has me intrigued and excited to see what his story is. And of course Will has intrigued me since day one I cannot wait for his whole story to come out.

    Over all I would say this was a great addition to the Grimm Series. Once I started reading it I did not want to put it down. There where parts that had me literally on the edge of my seat, waiting to see what happened next. There where parts that made me want to cry and parts that made me laugh.

    Grimm Tidings is the 6th book in the Grimm Series. However this book can be read as a stand-alone, you do NOT have to read the other books in the series to enjoy this one. Although I am pretty sure once you have read it you will go back and read the other books. This is an addictive series that will make you think twice about the Fairy Tale we all grew up with.

    As a member of Shiloh Walkers “Street Team” I was sent a copy of Grimm Tidings by Shiloh Walker in return for an honest review. Thank you Shiloh, for another amazing book, I cannot wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend this series!

    This is an awesome addition to the Grimm series! Walker presents tangible relationships through characters we have read about in fairy tales and fiction. She does a great job making them guardian angels-with a fairy tale past but all too human problems:) I really enjoy her take on each plot and can't wait to see who she writes on next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read by Shiloh Walker

    I'll be honest, I wasn't sure what I was in for going in to this book. I have read other titles by Shiloh Walker and loved them, but never read any of the others in this series. Mind you, I have them sitting in my TBR pile, I just hadn't gotten that far. I've heard authors say that their series books can be read alone and not in order and, when I tried, it didn't work. I'm normally huge on reading order. With this book, I just didn't have the time to do that so, I took Miss Walker at her word. I'm glad I did. I have now moved all the others to the top of my pile.

    The Grimm are guardian angels here to destroy the demons that have come to take over our world. Aside from being kick-ass fighters, at some point in their lives as Grimm's, they develop another power as well. All seem to be different but, I got a glimpse of some in this book and they were great.

    Celeste is having a hard time getting over her past and moving on to her future. She lives for the fight, to hopefully kill her once and for all. She grieves her mortal life and wants it back. It's going to take a miracle to make her see that's not going to make a difference.

    That miracle's name is Jacob. Making people see their past to be able to move on with their future, it's what he does. But, he's lost in his own past as well. He doesn't want to push Celeste but, he has to make her see.

    In few words... I loved this book! It is short, which may turn some off, but not me. I liked that I was able to pick it up and read it in less than two days. Time isn't always something I have. I loved the strong characters and the secondary characters that I got a look at that I really hope to see more of in the future. Yes, the story jumped scenes a couple times but, it only took a moment to realize it and continue reading and enjoying.


    This book was sent to me by the author, in return for an honest review. I can't get much more honest than, I loved it and it's got me chomping at the bit to read the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1