Customer Reviews for

Grimm's Fairy Tales (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 1229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(536)

4 Star

(263)

3 Star

(195)

2 Star

(101)

1 Star

(134)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A treasured book of ours

These tales which stand the test of time have become some of mine and my son's favorites. We love to read folklore from all over the world, but Grimm's are some of the best as far as we can see.

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Overly edited.

I have read numerous versions of Grimm's Fairy Tales. You can say, I collect different editions of it. This book however, is edited. It isn't as gruesome or gory as some of the versions are. The stories are still good, and have mainly the same plot, but, details are lef...
I have read numerous versions of Grimm's Fairy Tales. You can say, I collect different editions of it. This book however, is edited. It isn't as gruesome or gory as some of the versions are. The stories are still good, and have mainly the same plot, but, details are left out. For example, in the Juniper Tree (page 198), the story is supposed to have the little boy being eaten by his father, unknowingly. In this version, he is just buried under the Juniper Tree, instead of just his bones after the father ate the broth. Also, the song the bird sings is different. Maybe it was just a difference in translators. I really don't know. But, it wasn't as satisfying as other versions of this classic collection.

posted by 30s_gal on December 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1250 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Overly edited.

    I have read numerous versions of Grimm's Fairy Tales. You can say, I collect different editions of it. This book however, is edited. It isn't as gruesome or gory as some of the versions are. The stories are still good, and have mainly the same plot, but, details are left out. For example, in the Juniper Tree (page 198), the story is supposed to have the little boy being eaten by his father, unknowingly. In this version, he is just buried under the Juniper Tree, instead of just his bones after the father ate the broth. Also, the song the bird sings is different. Maybe it was just a difference in translators. I really don't know. But, it wasn't as satisfying as other versions of this classic collection.

    48 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Gruesome!

    Edited beyond recognition this edition has been dismembered like a Grimm brothers character, although you'll never know because they took out all of the original, gruesome details.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The destruction of a classic

    This book is miserably pathetic and clealy illustrates what well intentioned idiots can to a a memorable book. There is one proviso though...and that is if you purchase this book, also purchase Grimm's Fairy Tales by Maria Tatar who attempts and does salvage the core and meaning of the original verses. One item of concern for Elizabeth Dalton was which end of the donkey, ass, burrow, jenny, or palfrey the animal had the ability to pass gold. It's all in the mind Elizabeth. I promise you that if there did exist a gold passing burro, from whatever end, and I owned it...I would be biting every nugget to test its authenticity. Wouldn't it be nice one day, if we no longer had to put up with prudish censors and mindless editors who decide for me that I cannot handle the material. I resent having to read something ancient through the eys of a super rigid Victorian who sees something sleazy in every situation. Why not leave the original material as it was when it was in its best form? I would recommend buying and reading the book along with Maria Tatar's book Without mario Dalton's book falls flat on its face. It is mindless, dumb, and unfunney until you read the rest of the story.

    8 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A treasured book of ours

    These tales which stand the test of time have become some of mine and my son's favorites. We love to read folklore from all over the world, but Grimm's are some of the best as far as we can see.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    A Forever Classic!

    My father bought this book for me when I was about 7. Since then I've read at least a dozen times. The stories never get tiring and are something to share with the next generation. It's no wonder the Grimm name as become synonomous with children's fantasy and so many have reinterpreted these classic tales. Should be enjoyed by all ages!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Blown Away

    Absolutely blown away. I never knew the reality of most of the fairy tales that have been retold and cleaned up for Disney and whomever else wanted tell them. Many of them range from macabre to gruesome...a must read.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Terrific Read

    These are not the sweet children's fairy tales that most people know, they are the actual Grimm's fairy tales. If you do not know already, the Grimm's made them to scare children and therefore they are not always nice. If you are preparred for that then you will love these and enjoy the creativity of the Grimm brothers!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2011

    Fascinating Historical Text

    The Classic Series does it again - the Grimm's Fairy Tales offers the pure and unadulterated versions of the stories. This book offers 600 pages of stories. Although the stories are a bit simple and extreme to modern sensibilities, from a historical context it is a fascinating experience.

    I wouldn't recommend this to children! But to the academic or historically inclined adult in your life this makes for a fascinating read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Dgfy

    Festyfdrfgttiihgdd

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    wow

    absolutely wonderful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    Not your Disney edition... this is the real thing

    In regards to the other reviews, I think I was more pleased with this because I was more aware of the "traditional" versions. This isn't Disney, people! This is GRIMM. And no, it's not politically correct. And no, it's not happily ever after. But if you are interested in past history and past tales, if you want to see the "real" versions (or close to it), read this. It's entertaining, imaginative and what a lot of today's stories are based on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Classic

    Finally a storybook that contains the true side of the stories and how they were originally told. I was fed up with the Disney version of a couple of the stories, a little too kidish, but these stories can be read by any teen or adult. Varying in pages, each story is long enough to tell the story but short enough that the story doesn't get boring before the end. The Brothers Grimm did a fantastic job with the stories andI recommed this book for anyone who loves tales or short stories. This book is simply a classic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    An Okay Read

    I enjoyed this book most of the time. However, there was only a handful of different storylines in the whole book. Each fairy tale plot would be the same as another with just new character names. I recommend reading it, but if you come to a story that seems oddly familiar, skip it and go on, you will eventually find some really fantastic stories.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Horrible

    Nasty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    This is a great collection of a very well known classic very int

    This is a great collection of a very well known classic very interesring stories to read I have found ones I don't even know

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Max ruby

    Ms

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2012

    This book is NOT for kids. They are the original stories where

    This book is NOT for kids. They are the original stories where all of the disney movies came from. The bright and shiney stories that we know from Disney are not the "real" stories. These are the stories as they were before Disney put them in their inoccent form so don't be surprised if it terrifies you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Grimm

    I haven't read this book yet, but I watch the tv show grimm on nbc. :)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Titanium

    Irresistably shiny.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    This a great book.

    This is supposed to be a scary book but it is not even the least bit scary. Still, the plot of the story was very suspenseful. As well with the supporting details of the series of stories in this purchase. The overall plan of this book was to take the classic fairytales as we know them; and rewrite them but this time with a twist. If the Grimm brothers actually thought that these are scary stories then they must have been out of their adult minds. The reason that they would actually write a series of stories like this would to ENTERTAIN the readers in a little fairytale twist. By the way, if you are looking for a book witha wierd fairytale twist, search for "A Tale Dark & Grimm" by Adam Gidwitz. Now that is a book that you cannot put down. IT IS ABSOLUTLEY SUSPENSEFUL!!!!!! Also,I'm 5 years pld and I know this stuff.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1250 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 63